Papyrus Reviews

Updated 26 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.5
15%
Recommend to a Friend
28%
Approve of CEO
Papyrus President Dominique Schurman (no image)
Dominique Schurman
121 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Slightly above average job"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Papyrus full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Working with cards, picture frames, and nick-nacks is easy on the body compared to a huge retail clothing store. 2) 45 percent off non sale items 3) Customers are usually well off/ wealthy & pay sometimes $100+ on cards & stationary = unique customers 4) Gift wrapping is fun but customers expect their gifts to be wrapped in 5 minutes. Reality = 15 to 30 if you're all alone in the store.

    Cons

    - Customers can be pushy and mean to get free items and discounts. - Little to no training - Turnover - Continually having to be extremely excited to sell cards every day - 30 minute lunch - Dress code = Solid colors, no prints - Promotions unclear and ever changing - Management won't accept the truth of matters or take ownership of their mistakes

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2019-04-11
  2. Helpful (1)

    "No worth your time"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Papyrus part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    You will learn to gift wrap

    Cons

    Poor communication with every branch of management. Shipments always arrived late. If you get hired as part-time, then you'll be working more hours than you expected. The company is on the customer side never on the employees.

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2019-02-18
  3. Helpful (2)

    "A huge mess. (About Paper Destiny retail store)"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Key Holder 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at Papyrus part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - A decent discount. (45% on non-sale items.)

    Cons

    - Alone most of the time - Asked to work at other stores (Carleton Cards) EXTREMELY often. - Management is a mess, and completely uncaring towards staff, borderline abusive. - Extremely high turnover rate. - Few employees, almost impossible to take sick days and called in very often.

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2019-02-28
  4. "Seasonal sales associate"

    3.0
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Papyrus part-time

    Pros

    Discount..working. with beautiful cards and items. Free Christmas cards.

    Cons

    I wasn't told in advance when they would no longer need me. I came in to work on a scheduled shift Anand the store manager just acted aggravated with me the whole shift ...until I said to her...It's kind of slow did you want me to leave or something? That was my last shift. I was told to pick out. a box of Christmas cards as a Christmas gift and then they were never given to me.

    Papyrus2019-01-14
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Assistant Manager, but only so they didn’t have to pay me Manager salary."

    3.0
     

    I worked at Papyrus

    Pros

    Clean work place, and very quiet.

    Cons

    Where do I begin? Micro managed, enough was never enough, they have favorites in the company if you aren’t one forget it.

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2019-01-07
  6. "Expectedly unfulfilling"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Manager in Wellesley, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Papyrus full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - As many others mentioned, there is a 45% discount, but if you don't care about cards and other far overpriced trinkets, it doesn't even matter.

    Cons

    - Very short staffed. There are a total of 4 people working in our store; the GM, myself (Associate Manager), and two part timer's. - Will give you full time hours, but no benefits of working full time. - 'At will' employment, AKA fireable at any time for any reason, unless protected in your state - No training.

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2019-01-04
  7. "Associate Manager"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Papyrus part-time

    Pros

    Very flexible hours and diverse environment

    Cons

    Small store and gets chaotic at times

    Papyrus2018-12-13
  8. "Great first Job"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Papyrus

    Pros

    -great first job, learned a lot as keyholder. -loved my team

    Cons

    -No benefits -no overtime pay -working in retail is the worst, especially during the holidays - the manager was extremely rude at times -closed at night by myself, felt very unsafe. -when I had to work alone because we were down on staff, was not allowed to take a lunch break.

    Papyrus2018-12-10
  9. "Good but Always Being Watched"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate Manager in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Papyrus part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing co-workers, great employee discounts.

    Cons

    Poor communication between upper management & employees on the sales floor, aggressive monitoring via in-store cameras to micromanage employees.

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2018-11-30
  10. Helpful (1)

    "They expect 200% commitment, while they screw you out of benefits."

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Papyrus part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    You aren't flipping greasy burgers

    Cons

    They hire you as part-time, but you'll work full time hours with part-time classification, presumably to avoid the benefits stated in their handbook. They use a skeleton crew, so don't you dare get sick, because of course, sick pay is for full-time status.

    Continue reading
    Papyrus2019-01-03
Found 260 reviews