PayPal Senior Manager Reviews

Updated 4 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
99%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
PayPal President and CEO  Dan Schulman
Dan Schulman
2 Ratings
  1. "PayPal"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PayPal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    - Interesting work - Good people - Decent benefits

    Cons

    - Work life balance can be challenging

    PayPal2017-06-26
  2. "Not a long term career"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at PayPal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life balance, pay is market level, mobile is a growing area, good place if you are in sales or product side . don't take a strategy role

    Cons

    outside of city where all the action is, very average middle and senior level management, no hr

    PayPal2016-05-25
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good company and excellent work and life balance"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Manager in Richmond, London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PayPal

    Pros

    Excellent company and benefits, work life balance is great Good facilities and relaxed culture.

    Cons

    -no promotional opportunities -no career talks that lead to a promotion -very hard to move up

    Continue reading
    PayPal2015-07-11
  4. "Changing how the world pays"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PayPal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Innovation backed up by good funding

    Cons

    Large organisation = politics and slow developments

    Continue reading
    PayPal2012-05-31
  5. "Amazing Experience, Great People"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PayPal full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to learn lots of different technologies. In the time I was there, I worked on an application team, operations team, development team and a security team. It kept me interested as I maxed out my learnings at each assignment. The people are amazing. World class engineers everywhere. I really enjoyed working with some of the best in the industry. The leadership team really cares about the employees, they care about the customers. They truly value their people.

    Cons

    Promotions were difficult. Consistently rated in the top 2 tiers (when there were 5) and in or near the top tier (when it was reduced to 3). Just could never get that promotion. Was pacified with huge raises and bonuses, however.

    Continue reading
    PayPal2020-05-05
  6. "Great benefits, lot of red tape"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Technical Product Manager in Timonium, MD
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PayPal full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Good pay. Opportunities for creativity and challenge, depending on your management structure.

    Cons

    Senior management and directors often underperform but face no consequences. Too much process in place with not enough documentation to navigate.

    Continue reading
    PayPal2020-04-30
  7. "My view on PayPal"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager in Chennai

    I have been working at PayPal full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Extremely employee friendly. Great facilities.

    Cons

    Career progression depends on the group. Firing happens without any logic.

    PayPal2020-03-19
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Gross mismanagement in the India office"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Manager in Chennai
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at PayPal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    1) Strong brand name 2) Decent Salary

    Cons

    Despite claims to the contrary, the India office is seen (within the company) and run like a pure back-office bodyshop with little focus on innovation or differentiation. This reflects in the sub-standard quality of most leaders hired in India as they openly engage in sycophancy, favoritism in comparison to creating real value. One would be better off joining an Infosys, TCS, Cognizant as they are atleast very open with their process/back-office orientation. People interested in working in an innovative product-based company should avoid avoid this one or you are setting yourself up for disappointment and career disruption.

    Continue reading
    PayPal2020-03-10
  9. "Good folks but completely unorganized"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Project Manager in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PayPal full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can be good work if they can focus and not keep chasing shinny objects.

    Cons

    Seems like everything is being done for the first time...

    Continue reading
    PayPal2020-03-04
  10. "FinTech giant with a bright future"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PayPal full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Payments industry is still in a nascent, evolving stage and this company will pay a key role in the future - Management is pursuing the right partnerships and acquisitions thus ensuring a diversified revenue stream for the long-term - Reasonable work-life balance

    Cons

    - Frequent internal, re-orgs - Typical features for big companies - slow decision-making, large teams with some deadwood

    PayPal2020-03-01
Found 122 reviews