Paychex Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 28 Jun 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
74%
Recommend to a Friend
88%
Approve of CEO
Paychex President and CEO Martin Mucci
Martin Mucci
1,348 Ratings
Pros
  • "Paychex offers great benefits including a very generous tuition assistance program that you can start using on the second month of employment(in 238 reviews)

  • "Work Life Balance is amazing, flexible(in 181 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Great Place to Work in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great leadership, great training great with work life balance.

    Cons

    Some times we are blacked out from time off, but that comes with this position.

    Paychex Response

    June 29, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback! We're happy you're happy here. :)

  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operational Risk Manager in Rochester, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great benefits. Great culture. A great deal of opportunity. Excellent work life balance.

    Cons

    Amazing growth years are in the past.

    Paychex Response

    June 8, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us!

  3. "Salary plus commission"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Business Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I love Paychex. I have been an employee for nearly 10 years and my work life balance is the best. Commissions for top earners high.

    Cons

    Starting salary is low

    Paychex Response

    April 20, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We're happy you're happy here!

  4. "Good Company, very sales driven"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Sales Consultant in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paychex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay, good benefits, good initially training, depending on the office-great people, overall good services offered. Strong player in the industry.

    Cons

    They are Work life balance challenged. Always want more. The better you do the more they want. Service to customers is challenging, they don’t always get the service you sell. Lots of constant change in services, offering, and policies which is fine but it is so poorly communicated. Most departments are very disconnected. Silo’ed. Unity could be better. Too much internal red tape.

    Continue reading

    Paychex Response

    April 6, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Our employees' experiences are important to us and we thank you for sharing this feedback with us!

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Entry Level, Room to Grow"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - SMB Service Associate in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paychex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great positions if you're just starting out in the workforce, most of it is customer service focused. They're pretty serious about having a career plan once you're out of training, so they encourage growth and establishing goals. Management tries really hard to allow you real work-life balance, everyone is out by 6pm and no later. They also are totally open to feedback, and actually take action based on what they hear. Time off and benefits are average. There is an annual performance-based raise, as well as a bonus.

    Cons

    It's a high-volume, high-stress environment. It's just the nature of the beast, if you can tame it. Starting pay isn't so great if you have a college degree and experience.

    Paychex Response

    March 5, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share this feedback with us!

  6. "A company on the decline"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Consultant 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Culture, training, technology, people, benefits

    Cons

    Veterans leaving in droves, unrealistic sales goals and no work life balance

    Continue reading

    Paychex Response

    March 5, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Your experience is important to us - thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

  7. "401k sales"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work Life Balance is amazing, flexible.

    Cons

    Elongated Training , travel, need better training.

    Paychex Response

    February 21, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your review.

  8. "It was a great environment and work culture"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer-II in Bangalore
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance Great culture

    Cons

    Need to improve the infrastructure for keeping the Paychex value

    Paychex Response

    February 13, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for your feedback.

  9. Helpful (3)

    "My opinion: Company is nice to work for but not the best in the area, despite what the company preaches."

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Risk Analyst in Rochester, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time

    Pros

    Benefits are decent. I have sometimes have some flexibility with my schedule as a salary employee.

    Cons

    Leadership in my area is pretty bad. They talk about work-life balance and sometimes flexibility is awarded, but it always seems like they expect something in return. Underpays employees.

    Paychex Response

    February 13, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. Hearing that we're not meeting your expectations in some areas is disappointing and we'd like an opportunity to learn more so we can improve. Please drop us a line at glassdoor@paychex.com.

  10. "Great Place to Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SMB Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paychex full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work-life balance, managers take time to invest in their teams, outstanding sales training program, resources are abundant to assist you in your efforts, encourage networking and will expense it, great place to work.

    Cons

    none at the current moment

    Paychex Response

    January 30, 2020Employer Brand Manager

    Thank you for sharing your review. We're thrilled to hear you've had such a positive experience so far and wish you the best in your career at Paychex!

Found 245 reviews