Paycom Sales Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Paycom Sales Reviews

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Paycom President Chad Richison
Chad Richison
215 Ratings
  1. "Good Starting Role"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great if you're beginning your career - opportunity to be successful at a young age. Hire younger reps and have great training. Get to be in outside sales & have a generous comp plan.

    Cons

    Micromanagement at times. Very metrics driven organization, which can work against the company

    Advice to Management

    Focus on developing newer reps for longer periods of time & be more focused on things aside from short term revenue goals

    Paycom2020-01-03
  2. "Worth it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Paycom full-time

    Pros

    Fast paced, and constant growing opportunities Culture is exciting and fun

    Cons

    Not your typical 9-5 Must be willing to put in the work

    Paycom2019-12-23
  3. "Poor Management + No work/life balance: Burn & Churn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paycom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The compensation is competitive for top performers. The money is very enticing, however it comes at a huge cost to sales reps (e.g. their sanity). The top 30-40 reps at the company will be high earners (and they'll pitch that all day, every day), everyone else can find a job that pays them as good or better, for a lot less stress.

    Cons

    - (micro) management/leadership: this company is quite literally the worst I've worked for from a culture standpoint. Required to dress in full business professional everyday and show up at 7:30am. Our daily stand-ups consisted of grill sessions and "sparring", which was basically putting reps on the spot to run through sales scenarios. The problem is that the feedback was always hyper critical and public. Your manager is all over you about appointment setting when territories are far too small and have already be exhausted by Paycom reps and the MANY other payroll companies. My manager had zero peoples skilled and has terminated several reps in her short tenure as a manager. -Time commitment: Without exaggeration this is a 50-60hr/week job. You are required to text and email outside of business hours (including weekends) for updates on deals and "game plans" for the day/week. This job was basically three roles, rolled into one. -Industry: Although Paycom is one of the fastest growing U.S. companies they are faced with the challenge of an extremely competitive industry. No one really buys payroll and HR software unless there is an issue. Other companies are catching up and Paycom most adapt. The PTO is unacceptable for a company like this. Days off are limited and subject to managers' approval (and do get declined).

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your managers on how to actually develop employees. I've never seen so many talented people become disgruntled by a single organization and leave. In a class of 30-40 reps the expectation is that less than 5 will be around 1-2 years from start. The don't allow new reps to start group chats before the 6 weeks training is over because so many people quit early on and they don't want that known. Also, invest in sales enable tools and basic technology. The internal CRM system is terrible and emails are discouraged. It's purely smile and dial at this company.

    Show More
    Paycom2020-01-24
  4. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Outside Sales Representative in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paycom full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pay is great at Paycom

    Cons

    None I can think of

    Advice to Management

    Keep killing it

    Paycom2019-12-16
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Sales Rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, leadership on the executive level, best product on the market

    Cons

    Hard work! Lots of hours, long sales cycle

    Paycom2019-12-09
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Amazing Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    -GREAT people that you work with -Departments always support each other -Only promote from within (good for anyone wanting to go into leadership) -Huge investment by the company in ongoing training -Easy to believe in what you sell with the best product on the market -Financial Compensation is better than any sales job in the US -Year End Bonus is in Paycom stock and there is a stock purchasing plan as well. Stock is the highest performer in the industry and up 1,200% since we IPO'd started 5 years ago

    Show More

    Cons

    -Time Off/Leave (just rolled out maternity leave this year but no paternity yet) -More bureaucratic red tape than there used to be but I guess that's what accompanies growth -Less PTO flexibility than most sales jobs Overall the cons are few and far between and are heavily outweighed by the pros but I am listing these three so that Paycom has the opportunity to continue to improve which is something the company is very good at doing

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have the hardest working workforce I have come across that deeply cares about the success of our clients which drives the success of Paycom as a whole. Don't ever take this huge asset (your people) for granted as this is just as important as the strategy of the company.

    Paycom2019-11-10
  7. Helpful (16)

    "Do Your Research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Paycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You have the opportunity to make a lot of money (don't worry, you'll be reminded of that everyday, 10x a day). Training is extensive, but very well done and informative. You can meet some really great people, and the opportunity to be promoted quickly is at your disposal. The health benefits are great and extremely cheap. In terms of income, you will crush it, IF you survive.

    Cons

    Be prepared to be treated like nothing more than a body who generates revenue. Even when you are doing exceptionally well, you will fear for your job security every single day. Managers will stroke your ego one day, and the next you're on the chopping block for something insignificant. There is absolutely no flexibility. Ever. Work-life balance will be thrust down your throat as a mission of the company, but they won't do anything about it. The PTO policy is next to nothing, but don't worry, you'll be too afraid to use it. Be willing to receive texts from your office group chat from 6 a.m. until 11 p.m. I saw amazing, hard-working, intelligent people cry daily. This job took my soul out of me and by the time I left, I didn't even recognize myself. Just know what you're getting yourself into. If making a ton of money at the cost of your sanity and soul is worth it to you, by all means go for it - you have the opportunity. Just do your homework first, the negative reviews are here for a reason.

    Show More
    Paycom2019-10-08
  8. "Most valuable internship I have had"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Sales Intern in Jersey City, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom

    Pros

    This program was great because I got a real look at what the full-time role is. As a Paycom Jr. Executive Sales Intern, you get to use prospecting methods to book meetings and add sales to the pipeline. Going on your own meetings with mentors/other reps, getting C-Level exposure, full autonomy in your work and the satisfaction of knowing you can do the job post-graduation is invaluable. You will not regret applying for this job.

    Show More

    Cons

    Occasional long hours to meet your numbers.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing!

    Paycom2019-10-10
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Amazing money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    $$$$ is insane, awesome commission structure

    Cons

    Work-life balance, micromanagement, turnover, lack of development, did I mention turnover? Terrible culture

    Paycom2019-10-16
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Unlimited earning potential and best in class technology"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paycom full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The commission structure is truly best in class. Uncapped commission and you are the master of your own destiny. Amazing training, great internal communication and brilliant colleagues. Also, the benefits provided are amazing

    Cons

    You definitely take your work home with you, PTO is limited, no flexibility to work from home and steep learning curve. Overall, if you are hungry and have the WHY behind what you are wanting to achieve in your life, Paycom is a company that will set you up for success in anything you want to achieve!

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture of how close the executive team communicates with the sales team. It makes a big difference to feel that connected.

    Paycom2019-09-18
Found 271 reviews