Paylocity Employee Reviews about "work from home"

Updated 8 Dec 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.4
87%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
Paylocity President & CEO Steve Beauchamp
Steve Beauchamp
1,129 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Reviews about "work from home"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Great Career Choice!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Partner Integration 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Room for upward growth Cares about their employees Good Vacation/ Time Off Benefits Affordable Healthcare Work from home opportunities

    Cons

    This an extremely fast paced environment

    Paylocity Response

    December 17, 2020Paylocity

    Paylocity IS excellent and does offer amazing opportunities for learning and advancement! Thank you for commenting on our culture and your great career choice.

  2. "Paylocity Review"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Implementation Consultant III in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I get to work from home, really fun yearly department conventions, best team environment, flexible work schedule.

    Cons

    I cannot think of a con.

    Continue reading

  3. "I love this place!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Diversity & Inclusion
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - HCM Account Executive 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working from home, and the freedom to do so. Being able to work from home has been fantastic. The IT support team is amazing and helps with getting things setup and fixed. Leadership is wonderful and not afraid to revisit something they may have made a mistake on.

    Cons

    Just because you have the best product in the market doesn't mean the prospects are looking.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    November 20, 2020Paylocity

    Agree that Paylocity’s remote opportunities ARE fantastic! Our IT’s support is what allows our remote culture to able to be strong and collaboration possible across teams. Thank you for your advice to our management.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "An awesome place to work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Test Engineer in Portland, OR
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's a lot to love about working at Paylocity. Besides the great people and great work culture there's a real positive energy that's pervasive in my day to day. Our CEO seems to have a level of understanding of the products that's in line with what you might expect from a Product Manager. For a company this size, that's a rare thing. As a remote employee I have never felt marginalized in anything that the company does. In fact I feel like they take great care to include and inform us work from home folks in the decision making that goes on in Schaumburg.

    Cons

    If you're not located anywhere Paylocity has offices (Chicagoland, Lake Mary, FL, Boise ID etc. etc.) you'll still have the work from home option. Personally I love being remote and making occasional trips to the office. But it may not be everyone's cup of tea.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    October 5, 2020Paylocity

    Congratulations on 3 years with us! Being here at Paylocity truly does make you feel like you are part of something bigger as there is real, positive energy in our culture. Keep growing with us, and here’s to another great year here.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Unfair environment for salespeople"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales in Columbus, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at Paylocity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good Benefits. Work from home. Nice conference by the beach

    Cons

    You only get a decent territory if you are friends with the right people. They say all territories are created equal but that is not true. It's the only sales organization I have even been a part of that creates such unfairness in their territories. If you're in the "club", you are taken care of and you get a giant territory. Even if you're a good producer, unless you have an in with management, you're going to be a smaller patch.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    October 5, 2020Paylocity

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. Paylocity puts a lot of effort into ensuring all employees feel appreciated and your review will be shared with leadership.

  6. "Life in the fast lane"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Director in Hartford, CT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great leadership/Great software/ work from home /service and implementation work with you to make sure clients are happy. Paylocity is always trying to improve

    Cons

    No one is perfect, but I don't have any major cons. If your looking to show up go through the motions this is not the company for you.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    August 28, 2020Paylocity

    True, life does come at you fast here at Paylocity. We do have great leadership and great software to guide us through these times. Working from home is also a plus!

  7. Helpful (33)

    "Thanks, I Hated It"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous in Schaumburg, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Paylocity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    --Pay is pretty competitive --Depending on your department, work from home is an option --Nice office space --Cool swag items

    Cons

    Paylocity was quite possibly one of the worst experiences of my life. I cried tears of relief and joy when I got a new job (much different from the tears of depression I cried in the office, though beautifully designed, or on my way home with commuters wondering what tragedy I must have just witnessed). Aside from the problems listed below, I was made to feel incompetent at my job (to the point where I questioned my self-worth….thank goodness for therapists), didn’t have a solid leader to turn to or that advocated for what we needed, and saw people be mistreated (myself included) in ways I never thought I’d see at a large corporation. --Paylocity is a lot like college. Some people really knew what they wanted their career path to be and were dead set on it while others didn’t mind hopping from major to major, up for whatever. If you’re in the latter category, this will feel right at home for you. If you have specific career aspirations, they will be derailed pretty quickly. Sure, you can attribute some change to growth and that’s fine. But the truth is that Paylocity doesn’t know what it wants. They think they do, and move quickly to make things happen, but then can turn on a dime and say nevermind. Scrap it. And that happens pretty often. And those decisions can have a big impact on you. They move way too fast. It’s one thing to be speedy in go-to-market, but you have to have a strategy behind it. They say jump and you better guess how high. And you have to work insane hours to help them achieve half-baked ideas. But don’t worry – you’ll get a cute little recognition badge to make it all okay. --Differing opinions are not welcome, as much as they claim they are. Or maybe it depends on who you are. If I spoke up during a cross-functional meeting and offered an alternative approach or played devil's advocate just to give a different perspective, I was either dismissed or I was made to feel like I was being a Negative Nelly. Just be a “yes” man, and you’ll do just fine here. --The culture you experience strongly depends on which department you’re in and who your leader is. I saw fun happening from afar, but rarely got to experience it myself. --Be Unbeatable Together is one of the values they have plastered on the wall (one Google search will tell you that’s not how you drive home core values, but whatever, the CHRnO is the queen of the castle). However, it’s the least followed value, right behind Growth Fuels Opportunity. Departments work against each other, not with each other, to get things done. There’s duplicate efforts across the board on projects, a race to the finish line to see who can do it first and better, which causes mass confusion and frustration by the people that actually have to do the work. People here will not be afraid to step on you to get on top. --The brainwashing is nuts. I have never seen people blindly follow without questioning it for a second. Just throw some swag at the employees, make some good videos (the videos are quite good), bring in some donuts and pizza, allow rampant drinking, and they think it’s the best company they’ve ever been at, no questions asked. (But seriously, did they ever think about how exclusionary “Drink Our Own Wine” is?) --If you're a job seeker, don't look at the overall ratings or the short 5 star reviews that say "great so far!" I thought it was great too in the beginning, but they showed me their true colors pretty quickly. I've had people ask me for a recommendation to work here and did them a favor by telling them to look elsewhere. I hope you'll take the time to really dig in the reviews. I wish I had. Paylocity, stop saying “we’re a growing organization.” It’s been 20+ years. At some point, you have to enact structure. It’s been such a free-for-all for so long that the minute structure is put in place, it’s immediately discarded because someone doesn’t like it or “that’s just not how we vibe.” It’s the definition of a hot mess and one I’m glad to be away from. I don’t even want to see the responder of this try to be cute (seriously, stop. It’s embarrassing) with a response for this. Just own up to the fact that maybe not everyone has the best experience and learn from it instead of sugar coating it. It’s demeaning to the people that take the time to express how they felt. But then again, that’s Paylocity.

    Continue reading
  8. COVID-19
    Helpful (2)

    "Great Place To Learn and Work"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Implementation Consultant in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paylocity full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great office space. Great working from home opportunities. Some of the best people I have ever worked with. Great product and always evolving!

    Cons

    Not enough snacks in my work from home office.

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    April 13, 2020Employment Branding Coordinator

    You know… I have the same issue with snacks in my home office too. What’s up with that?! Back on track… absolutely, Paylocity is a great place for all, and leadership truly cares about us! We are lucky to be at a great company working for awesome leaders that will not even contemplate the idea of layoffs. To know that they’re fully committing to supporting not just everyone at Paylocity, but all our clients as well, is super refreshing and I am thankful for that!

  9. Helpful (1)

    "The most work life balance I have ever experienced"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst I Benefits Integration 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time

    Pros

    -Benefits are great -Work from home is standard -You don't have an actual schedule -PTO policy is great -Annual meetings to spend time with your team

    Cons

    -Quota, you have to meet a certain number every month -Pay is a little lower than I would like -I personally would like some type of work space option away from home with reimbursement, for the days when it's harder to focus at home

    Continue reading

    Paylocity Response

    March 25, 2020Employment Branding Coordinator

    Paylocity is a great company to work for. There are great perks here, remote opportunities, and a competitive benefits and PTO package. And you’re right, it’s super important to get together with your teammates across the country at least once a year to catch up! A highlight of my whole year for sure. However, there are some things we can do better such as making sure policies are both flexible and consistent, or more likely, making sure that we’re communicating and explaining our policies in a clear and easy to understand manner. This will ensure that we are all on the same page. Thanks for sharing your experience!

  10. Helpful (1)

    "Remote work - rewarding and challenging"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Major Account Executive in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paylocity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Remote work from home and flexible schedule

    Cons

    Can feel isolated with limited contact with others in the company.

    Paylocity Response

    March 16, 2020Employment Branding Coordinator

    Yes! Our remote work life is amazing and does come with great benefits like a flexible schedule. I know it can feel isolating sometimes and thank goodness for Zoom calls, right?! We all could use more time together with our teammates. We are growing and are glad that you are on this journey with us as we explore the opportunities. We believe in our amazing culture, great flexibility and of course, our product suite.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 95 English Reviews