Find jobs for BDM

Paymentsense BDM Reviews

Updated 21 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.1
43%
Recommend to a Friend
84%
Approve of CEO
Paymentsense CEO and Co-founder George Karibian and Jan Farrarons (no image)
George Karibian and Jan Farrarons
6 Ratings
  1. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM 

    I have been working at Paymentsense part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good money if put yourself out there and keep busy

    Cons

    Can be a lonely place on the road

    Paymentsense2019-11-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good training, but unscrupulous BDMs set the bar and are rewarded"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - BDM in Leeds, England

    I worked at Paymentsense for less than a year

    Pros

    Good initial training and support. Can get most of the support team on the phone if there's an issue.

    Cons

    Customer Support was lacking and so complaints often come back to you as a BDM. Customer is signed up for monthly subsciptions they don't want and hard to get realeased from. Worse, unscrupulous BDMs who do the hard sell get rewarded as their RM gets a bonus based on bigger sales (Life time revenue of a deal.) The system rewards hard sell and so honest sellers are not rewarded and eventually leave, which means large "churn" of self-employed BDMs who don't get even get mileage for knocking doors.

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-10-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "How It Really is- A Balanced Reflection"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - BDM in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paymentsense for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - My RSM was very supportive and helpful - Connect is a top drawer product, probably the best in the industry - Contract Buyout does exactly what it says on the tin - Good training, they invest in people more than other businesses in this area - Good in-house support staff

    Cons

    - Commissions are possibly the poorest in the industry, you really have to sell quite a lot to make a reasonable income. The goalposts move quite a bit without any prior warning and to gain residual payments which are totally standard in any other business in this industry you need to be part of the exclusive club - Try to restrict your other business activities despite the fact that you are self-employed. Strict enforcement of rules regarding working for other businesses in the industry or connected industries such as EPOS. - Indirect pressure to make sales or engage despite self-employment, I'm not a fan of people making demands on my time that they're not paying for - Promises made regarding new products/initiatives that never came to fruition

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-09-24

    Paymentsense Response

    October 4, 2019Chief Talent Officer

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to write a fair and honest review (Glassdoor reviews tend to be either excellent or terrible which can be a little unhelpful to the reader). We're a long way from perfect but we're always keen to hear feedback so that we can improve. We're ambitious to build a business that works for everyone but it's not easy and I can see that in your case we've made some mistakes. I'm sorry about that. We do have a couple of rules about selling products that compete with ours to avoid conflict of interest, but beyond that you should feel free to sell whatever you want to. Our Sales Agents are all self-employed so have freedom to sell what, where and when they like and if you've felt like that's not the case then it should have been. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel you could earn residual income, our model means you would need to be producing a certain amount of business consistently to qualify. It's not an exclusive club though, anyone can qualify through performance. My biggest concern was that you felt that nobody listened to you. We try to encourage feedback via Officevibe (anonymous weekly survey tool) and through our Intranet. Or if you prefer person to person there are monthly team meetings, sales coaching, sales support or your direct line management. Or me! Give me a call if you'd be prepared to give me some more detail, perhaps we can address the issues and you'd consider giving it another go.

  4. "Amazing Company to work with"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM in Wakefield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Industry leading training and ongoing support, unbelievable earning potential with if you have the right attitude and desire.

    Cons

    After 3 years with paymentsense I still cant find any.

    Paymentsense2019-08-06
  5. "Joining PaymentSense is the best decision l have ever made."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior BDM in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    These are the reasons why l love working for Paymentsense. 1. We have a fantastic product with the best selling-in tools unrivalled in our industry. 2. Strong in- house support team. 3. Decisive management style which adapts to changing environment. 4. Generous reward scheme which encourages your personal goals and targets. 5. Unlimited earning potential.

    Cons

    Because of unlimited earning potential, this has impacted my work/life balance.

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-08-06
  6. "Best move I made"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get paid how much you put into your work . Earnings can be up to £10k a month depending on your work ethic. If you prepared to work and learn then you will do well.

    Cons

    Like every company you will ever work for you have to adapt to changes as any good business doesn’t stand still!

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-08-05
  7. "Great company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - BDM in Belfast, Northern Ireland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Money, perks, working environment

    Cons

    none, you only make your own obstacles

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-08-05
  8. "Liars"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Paymentsense full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None that I can think of

    Cons

    Blatantly get you to sell lies. Like half price terminals but fail to say that it's capped at £100

    Paymentsense2019-08-19
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Sinking Ship?"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - BDM 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense full-time

    Pros

    Some of the team are good people but that’s not a reflection on the company

    Cons

    This year they have slashed commission, cut expenses, halved the payments to trainers and concession managers and only giving bonus to people selling old stockpiled tech

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-08-06

    Paymentsense Response

    August 6, 2019Chief Talent Officer

    Hello, thank you for your review. I'm sorry you're not enjoying it but I would like to comment on a couple of your points. We have changed the way we pay expenses but this is because under IR35 legislation it's not permitted to pay expenses to self-employed people. Instead we pay a percentage uplift on commissions to cover costs incurred. It actually means we're paying out more than previously but I understand that it takes a bit of time for some to adjust to. We currently pay more commission per deal than we have at any time previously with more incentives and a tiered system to allow greater earning potential. It's true that we run different incentives depending on which technology we're trying to sell, but that makes sense to most people and doesn't negatively impact normal commission. Some of our sellers generate a lot of extra commission by engaging with these incentives so we usually get pretty good feedback about it. As a seller you have the choice to sell whichever product you think is best for the customer. Our trainers are all employed so it's not possible for us to vary how much they earn. I'm sorry to hear you haven't enjoyed your time with us but I'd be very happy to have a conversation with you and see what we can do to help. We're really not trying to pretend anything, we're all working hard to continue our amazing growth, so if you can help guide us then we welcome all input.

  10. Helpful (3)

    "Appalling!!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BDM in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paymentsense full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Like anywhere there are some terrific, nice and helpful people but theres nothing any more than that since they cut commission and expenses. Notice all the glowing reviews suddenly appearing on 5th & 6th August 2019 ... thats not suspicious at all is it? Pretty sure these fake reviews will do more harm than good - most people aren't stupid enough to fall for that.

    Cons

    always chopping and changing and getting worse. Massive delays in getting paid on top of cutting commission. Working here you're just making money for someone else. Culture of don't ever complain even if actually you just had a good idea. People get picked and chosen for special treatment then most get dumped with the bath water. Seriously just avoid avoid avoid. Many other reputable companies we can work with.

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-08-06

    Paymentsense Response

    August 8, 2019Chief Talent Officer

    Or maybe this is the fake review and all the others are real! Honestly, I can promise you that there's nothing fake about any of our reviews, I personally wouldn't work for a business that did something like that. I understand that you've not had a good experience and I'd like to apologise for that. We have a lot of self-employed sales agents, all over the country and it sounds like we didn't deliver on what you expected, which we have to take on board. It's not the same for everyone though, some of our sales agents have been with us for 10 years and earn incredible commission and residual income. You don't have to wait 10 years though, we have one seller who earns £15k a month in commission and he only joined this year. We have had a few issues with making payments recently, our new ERP system came with a few gremlins but we're all sorted now and our sellers are paid commissions same day. Apologies if you were affected by that but it was out of our control and we take paying commissions on time very seriously. Get in touch if you'd like to chat further or if you'd be prepared to go in to more detail of what we got wrong.

Found 26 reviews