Paymentsense Employee Reviews about "self employed"

Updated 4 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Paymentsense CEO and Co-founder George Karibian and Jan Farrarons (no image)
George Karibian and Jan Farrarons
80 Ratings
Pros
  • "Everyone is very friendly, approachable, helpful and fun, with a work hard play hard mentality(in 18 reviews)

  • "Self employed with the support like your family,(in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • "No cons just hard work equal great benefits(in 10 reviews)

  • "for Paymentsene, hard work has its rewards(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "self employed"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Work For the Best"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Concession Manager in Kingston upon Hull, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Self Employed, fabulous earning potential, Skys the limit

    Cons

    There are None after 3 years working for Paymentsene, hard work has its rewards.

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-08-06
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Good training, but unscrupulous BDMs set the bar and are rewarded"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - BDM in Leeds, England

    I worked at Paymentsense for less than a year

    Pros

    Good initial training and support. Can get most of the support team on the phone if there's an issue.

    Cons

    Customer Support was lacking and so complaints often come back to you as a BDM. Customer is signed up for monthly subsciptions they don't want and hard to get realeased from. Worse, unscrupulous BDMs who do the hard sell get rewarded as their RM gets a bonus based on bigger sales (Life time revenue of a deal.) The system rewards hard sell and so honest sellers are not rewarded and eventually leave, which means large "churn" of self-employed BDMs who don't get even get mileage for knocking doors.

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-10-04
  3. Helpful (1)

    "How It Really is- A Balanced Reflection"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - BDM in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Paymentsense for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - My RSM was very supportive and helpful - Connect is a top drawer product, probably the best in the industry - Contract Buyout does exactly what it says on the tin - Good training, they invest in people more than other businesses in this area - Good in-house support staff

    Cons

    - Commissions are possibly the poorest in the industry, you really have to sell quite a lot to make a reasonable income. The goalposts move quite a bit without any prior warning and to gain residual payments which are totally standard in any other business in this industry you need to be part of the exclusive club - Try to restrict your other business activities despite the fact that you are self-employed. Strict enforcement of rules regarding working for other businesses in the industry or connected industries such as EPOS. - Indirect pressure to make sales or engage despite self-employment, I'm not a fan of people making demands on my time that they're not paying for - Promises made regarding new products/initiatives that never came to fruition

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-09-24

    Paymentsense Response

    October 4, 2019Chief Talent Officer

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to write a fair and honest review (Glassdoor reviews tend to be either excellent or terrible which can be a little unhelpful to the reader). We're a long way from perfect but we're always keen to hear feedback so that we can improve. We're ambitious to build a business that works for everyone but it's not easy and I can see that in your case we've made some mistakes. I'm sorry about that. We do have a couple of rules about selling products that compete with ours to avoid conflict of interest, but beyond that you should feel free to sell whatever you want to. Our Sales Agents are all self-employed so have freedom to sell what, where and when they like and if you've felt like that's not the case then it should have been. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't feel you could earn residual income, our model means you would need to be producing a certain amount of business consistently to qualify. It's not an exclusive club though, anyone can qualify through performance. My biggest concern was that you felt that nobody listened to you. We try to encourage feedback via Officevibe (anonymous weekly survey tool) and through our Intranet. Or if you prefer person to person there are monthly team meetings, sales coaching, sales support or your direct line management. Or me! Give me a call if you'd be prepared to give me some more detail, perhaps we can address the issues and you'd consider giving it another go.

  4. "A life changing job, truly one of the best decisions I ever made"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Concessions Manager in Bexhill, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense for more than a year

    Pros

    Self employed with the support like your family, It's very easy to progress quickly and make a ton of money! Ongoing training and support Very very sociable company, well looked after! No one hassles you, nothing worse than being micromanaged. You have targets, you hit them you earn more, simple and very achievable... Did I mention the money? This month I took home 10k+, when I started my goal was 4. Paymentsense continuously push to help us earn more Work life is truly incredible,I could never imagine having another job now. Life is so good!

    Cons

    Some people struggle from being employed to self employed but most of the time it seems to come down to the individuals personal motovation,.... I seriously don't think there is a bad thing about this job, in a sales job a lot complain about "other companies and too much competition" it's really not an issue were killing it in the market you may loose 1 deal out of 10 but hey, that's sales

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-08-06
  5. "Life Changing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Seller in Sheffield, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have never been in a position that has allowed me to be self employed but have the full support of an organisation behind me. This has allowed me to concentrate on new sales and making a good living, secure in the knowledge that the customers will be well supported by the office.

    Cons

    I am happy with most things here

    Paymentsense2019-08-06
  6. "Amazing opportunity!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Business Development Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense for less than a year

    Pros

    Working for a company with honest ethics and morals is so important for me and Paymentsense has never failed to prove that constantly. Being self employed can be worrying but I have earned more money working at Paymentsense than I have ever had the opportunity anywhere else, and the great thing is I feel like I work less than I did in my previous role. You are genuinely rewarded for your efforts. The networking and support is endless so you’re never alone. It’s not just a sales job it’s an opportunity to build a career!

    Cons

    I have no cons about the role.

    Paymentsense2019-08-05
  7. "Avoid...greedy wideboys"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Sales Representative in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Paymentsense for more than a year

    Pros

    None. Great career if you have no morals and you suck up to the management

    Cons

    Managers only concerned about themselves and their own commission. They would upsell to their own grandparents just to get extra commission and pucker up to whoevers over them. You are only liked if you make money for someone above you. Too congested they are taking on people all the time for the same areas. Always advertisong for staff so shows they have a high staff turnover and no wonder. Be careful to not get dragged in by these people and they get you to take out ipad contracts or purchase your own tablet rather than provide you with one so you end up stuck with the contract. Says self employed but thats far from the truth. Idiot managers constantly harrassing you just for their own targets and nothing else...want you to put on loads of hidden costs on peoples plans so they end up with bigger bills and stuck for 5 years....AVOID if you can.

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-07-18
  8. "Business Development Manager"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Business Development Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexibility of being self employed

    Cons

    Poor customer service over sell and undelivers on products,

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2019-05-01
  9. "Favorite company to work for"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Operations Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense for more than a year

    Pros

    - Regular social events including movie club, team nights out, cheese night, parties and post-work drinks - Huge emphasis on wellbeing with regular Sanctus sessions and HR drop-in sessions. Managers are approachable and offer a listening ear - Language courses and brown bag lunches - Free beers/premium soft drinks (san pellegrino!!!) and fruit on every floor - Brilliant HR team who work really hard to make Paymentsense the best place to work. Jack Cooper, Chloe Lyddon, Sonia Reini and Kate Byrne work tirelessly behind the scenes to organise E V E R Y T H I N G and make sure all members of staff feel valued. Props to them! - Generally an incredible culture, unlike anything I've ever seen before - Regular surveys/opportunities to discuss things you'd like changing within the business that are listened to and actioned - The working day is longer than average (9-6) but passes by really quickly because of the friendly and busy environment - The work is methodical and working in Ops you are a cog in a machine that doesn't function without you so generally the work is rewarding and the team is tight knit - Exciting updates that keep the company feeling fresh including a beautiful new rebrand that came with merchandise for all employees - Extensive training for self-employed BDMs, as well as support for them throughout the entire process and throughout their time working for the company - Room for progression into different parts of the company, even without a degree

    Cons

    - Some small communication issues between management and staff, but nothing that isn't being rectified at the moment

    Continue reading
    Paymentsense2018-11-26
  10. "Business Development Manager"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Development Manager in Nottingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Paymentsense full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Everything! Great Company to be associated with on a self employed basis. Been with PS since February and made it into their Champions League so lots of benefits, and a great social atmosphere including the Champions league conference which is worth the effort getting into. Commissions paid within a few days

    Cons

    No cons just hard work equal great benefits

    Paymentsense2017-11-02
Found 21 reviews