Peninsula Business Development Manager Reviews

Updated Apr 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 45 of over 1,219 reviews

4.6
89%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
29 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

359

130 Comments

Consulting

343.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Peninsula~746949
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Hand on Heart - Once in a Lifetime Opportunity

    Apr 23, 2022 - Business Development Manager in Torquay, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast Paced A Clear Direction Well Led Incredible Commission Brilliant Bonus Structure If you are reading this, like me 5 months ago, you will have read a few negative reviews from ex-employees and raised an eyebrow. As a good salesperson we all look for that opportunity where we have a product/service we can get behind in a company where the commission/bonus structure is GENUINELY designed to reward you for your level of achievement. You achieve above and beyond, and you will not find another company that is not only willing, but takes absolute pleasure in praising and rewarding those who work their arses off to hit the top. On the flip side, my experience is that I have seen a management structure that have immediately recognised people who need support, and action it within days. The truth is, although we live in a world of entitlement it’s fair to have high expectations when you provide an opportunity for staff to change their lives in a way that would only normally be possible by owning your own successful business. If you are a top performer and you are confident that you’ll be good anywhere, trust me, this is the place to be. I turned down my dream job after waiting for it to come up for two years and it’s the best decision I have ever made. If you see this as a one sided opportunity to make money, this isn’t for you, if you are self-entitled, this isn’t for you. If however, you are confident that you can come and contribute to a great team and make it better and you will put your money where your mouth is and back it up, don’t look anywhere else. You will enjoy finding your feet at doing your thing at Peninsula so enjoyable and rewarding that you’ll never look back.

    Cons

    This feels like the box in a review where a manager has to put an area to improve for the sake of it, but here goes. With the introduction of a new team structure, as with any change, it takes time to really sink in. However, the drive to bring in top talent from other industries to run alongside team members who have decades of industry experience and success is a recipe that guarantees the whole will quickly become greater than the sum of its parts.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great review and 5-star rating! It really means a lot. We're glad to have you as a member of the team here at Peninsula as a Business Development Manager and, thank you for your 1+ years’ service so far! It is wonderful to hear that you really enjoy working at Peninsula, and that you can say lots of lovely positive things about working for us. Amazing! We are happy to read that you feel your role has a clear direction for the opportunity to progress further as well as, embracing the pace of Peninsula. We work at a fast pace so that, we can ensure we can deliver exceptional round-the-clock service for which we are renowned to our clients. It’s great you enjoy the bonus commission and the structure in place for this too. The wellbeing of our ever-growing team is our utmost priority, and we are committed to making improvements to ensure employee satisfaction and happiness. That’s why we value communication so that we can understand any concerns and put effective arrangements in place to solve them. Alike you noted, you have noticed strong beneficial changes to the company in the recent months. We’re please to read that you feel recognized for your hard work but, know you have the support if ever do need it. Thank you for saying that Peninsula is now your dream job – how fantastic! We look for many different characteristics when expanding our teams and we love how you described working as a BDM as ‘enjoyable and rewarding’. When things need to change within the business, we understand when it is new it can be sometimes uneasy but, we are doing what we think is best for our employees so that we can support our clients. We welcome all feedback or ideas for improvements, so if you ever feel you would like to discuss anything in confidence, please reach us on reviews@peninsula-uk.com Keep up the fantastic work. We hope you have a great day!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Peninsula role for life

    Apr 19, 2022 - Business Development Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    OTE is amazing gives you the opportunity live life to the full

    Cons

    Not just a 9-5 job it’s. Much more

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great review and 5-star rating! It really means a lot. We're glad to have you as a member of the team here at Peninsula as a Business Development Manager and, thank you for your 6+ years’ service so far! It is wonderful to hear that you really enjoy working at Peninsula, and that you love the perks related to your role. In particular the OTE, which we must agree is amazing! Along with the OTE, we offer a wide range of different benefits hopefully you are aware of such as Perkbox, Profit Share, TGI Fridays and much more! As with most businesses, all of our colleagues have KPIs in order to ensure we can deliver exceptional round-the-clock service for which we are renowned to our clients. If there is any concern around these targets or otherwise, we do encourage staff to discuss this with their line manager as we have an open-door policy where any issues can be discussed in confidence and additional support can be arranged. The wellbeing of our ever-growing team is our utmost priority, and we are committed to making improvements to ensure employee satisfaction and happiness. That’s why we value communication so that we can understand any concerns and put effective arrangements in place to solve them. However, we welcome all feedback or ideas for improvements, so if you ever feel you would like to discuss anything further in confidence, please reach us on reviews@peninsula-uk.com Keep up the fantastic work. We hope you have a great day

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Six Figure Role

    Apr 9, 2022 - Business Development Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    First and foremost is the earning potential. The job can be demanding and stressful but you’re well rewarded. TESLA company cars coming soon (awaiting delivery). Great support, tools and training to do the job.

    Cons

    Like any business, don’t always agree with every decision.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great review and 5-star rating! It really means a lot. We're glad to have you as a member of the team here at Peninsula as a BDM and, thank you for your 7+ years’ service so far! It is wonderful to hear that you really enjoy working at Peninsula, and that you find the earning potential something that drives you to doing the best you can as a BDM. Fantastic! We're pleased that you really enjoy the training we provide giving every individual the opportunity to grow and develop within the business. The wellbeing of our ever-growing team is our utmost priority. We hope that if there is any concern around targets or otherwise, we do encourage staff to discuss this with their line manager as we have an open-door policy where any issues can be discussed in confidence and additional support can be arranged. We do like to reward Peninsula staff with great benefits, and TESLA cars is going to be one of them going forward. We are supportive in looking after our planet and, this is one of the many active steps we will be taking to do this. We welcome all feedback or ideas for improvements, so if you ever feel you would like to discuss anything in confidence, please reach us on reviews@peninsula-uk.com Keep up the fantastic work. We hope you have a great day!

  4. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Great place to work

    Apr 8, 2022 - Business Development Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Multi national which retains the feeling of a family business

    Cons

    None in my experience over the last 26 years

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great review and 5-star rating! It really means a lot. We're glad to have you as a member of the team here at Peninsula as a Business Development Manager and, thank you for your 26+ years service so far! It's really wonderful to hear that you enjoy working at Peninsula and, that you love the family feeling of the business. We have worked hard to create the type of office working environment here at Peninsula, and we look forward to working with you for many more years. It's great to read that in your 26 years of working at Peninsula, that you cannot comment on any negatives about working here. We welcome all feedback or ideas for improvements, so if you ever feel you would like to discuss anything in confidence, please reach us on reviews@peninsula-uk.com Keep up the fantastic work. We hope you have a great day!

  5. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Awful, unfair environment

    May 7, 2021 - Business Development Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You can make money if you are part of the clique

    Cons

    Unfair distribution of leads. Awful management and encourage pressure selling,

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Good morning, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We're sorry to hear you're not enjoying your time with us and concerned to note some of your comments. We pride ourselves on operating an open and fair environment. We do have an open door policy and would be happy to discuss any of your concerns in more details, if you would like to contact us at feedback@peninsula-uk.com we will be able to support you. Kind regards, Sarah

  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great team, great leadership & great company to work for

    Sep 11, 2019 - Business Development Manager in Telford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Incentives, recognition, money, support, development, progression

    Cons

    No cons in my opinion

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Place

    Jun 20, 2019 - Business Development Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Good atmosphere Good CEO Good middle management

    Cons

    There are none so far

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Employee Engagement Manager

    We're pleased to receive a genuine review of what life is like working in sales at Peninsula. Thanks for taking the time to give us your thoughts.

  8. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Revolving door your just a number, Terrible Management, broken promises

    Jul 16, 2019 - Business Development Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Commission when you eventually get it. Holiday incentives Good brand name

    Cons

    Management is shocking, sell you the dream and don't deliver. The company need to invest more time into there employees instead of treating them like a number as its like a revolving door people coming and going constantly. BDMS are treated terribly they track your calls locations and micro manage you into making you poorly offer an EAP service to protect there own backsides. They also took on a pool of graduates and sacked them all after about a year and didn't pay any commission that was owed to them.

    Continue reading
    14 people found this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Employee Engagement Manager

    We're always disappointed whenever we receive a negative review on Glassdoor especially when the employee is currently employed. The sales team from Director's down to field managers always have the interested of their employees at the forefront of their minds. The sales benefits we provide are second to none and the most handsome in the company we're sorry if you do not agree with this. Our Sales Academy has seen some people leave that's the nature of the graduate programme as it progresses but we're delighted to confirm that it's still going strong with several BDMs now top performers in their areas. The sales team within Peninsula is target driven like all sales roles. We require everyone to possess the same levels of drive, focus and desire to achieve the high targets and expectations we set each year. These are put there to push everyone to achieve their maximum potential. We're sorry if you're unhappy in your role, we'd be more then happy to discuss your devlopment and progression with Peninsula to support you reach the next level.

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Best employer I have ever worked for

    Apr 4, 2019 - Business Development Manager in Bradford, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    From the minute you start working for Peninsula you are treated like an individual and not a number, even senior management want you to do well. Everybody wants to help you and the support is outstanding.

    Cons

    I have to say that there are no cons.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fantastic company

    May 20, 2018 - Business Development Manager 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    A really great place to work. Everyone is focused on success and numbers, but that’s a great thing! I work in Sales where numbers will always count, but in every department numbers means making sure the client is responded to ASAP via slas as well as internal queries too. I’ve worked for some market leaders and it is no secret why Peninsula is the best in its field. Gary Neville recently attended our conference and he said in his dealings with us, he’d never seen such a great company with a very clear structure. Love it here and hope to be for many years to come.

    Cons

    Nothing as of yet, a usual con is inter department disagreements but you genuinely don’t get them here!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Employee Engagement Specialist

    We're pleased you're enjoying the role and Gary's recent appearance at our conference. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 45 Reviews

Popular Careers with Peninsula Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Peninsula? Share Your Experiences

or