Peninsula Human Resources Advisor Reviews

Updated Apr 11, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 32 of over 1,209 reviews

3.7
70%
Recommend to a Friend
68%
Approve of CEO
Peninsula Managing Director Peter Done
Peter Done
15 Ratings

The latest conversations about Consulting

Join the conversation on

Consulting

1y

works at 

McKinsey & Company

Consultants of Fishbowl, I'm 31 and have ~$2m. No kids, student loans, etc... I'm also getting CTL'd. If you were in my position, would you scramble to get a new position or retire early?

357

130 Comments

Consulting

340.6K Members 

Ask candid career questions

-1 - https://www.fishbowlapp.com/bowl/consulting/posts?cf=gd&utm_medium=Glassdoor&utm_source=glassdoor.co.uk&utm_campaign=Reviews&utm_content=Industry-content-prominent-Reviews&utm_term=Peninsula~746949
Join the conversation on
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Supported

    Apr 6, 2022 - Human Resources Advisor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have struggled personally with adjusting to a change in career but have been utterly supported by Gavin Daniel and Gareth Calleja so much. I look forward to my future there

    Cons

    It's difficult to listen to certain issues from clients and not get personally attached. But with support it makes it ok

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great review and 5-star rating! It really means a lot. We're glad to have you as a member of the team here at Peninsula as a HR Advisor and, thank you for your 1+ years’ service so far! It is wonderful to hear that you really enjoy working at Peninsula, and despite your change in career, it is really great to hear you have been so well support by Gavin Daniel and Gareth Calleja. Amazing! We'll be sure to pass on your thanks and special mention to them! We are excited to see where your future leads too here at Peninsula. We understand that in your role, you may hear some challenging stories from time to time and, though it may be difficult to not get too personally attached, your care and compassion towards the client will make them feel more content. In addition to this, it's great to hear you are well supported whenever something like this may arise. If any Peninsula employee feels they may need some additional support we do encourage staff to discuss this with their line manager as we offer an open-door policy where any issues can be discussed in confidence. As we understand the changes in adapting when starting a new role. We welcome all feedback or ideas for improvements, so if you ever feel you would like to discuss anything in confidence, please reach us on reviews@peninsula-uk.com Keep up the fantastic work. We hope you have a great day!

  2. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great progression and lots of support to get you there

    Mar 23, 2022 - Human Resources Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Really good support, never make you feel embarrassed to ask, teach you a lot and help you learn a lot in a short amount of time. Great career prospects. Good incentives to help you earn more.

    Cons

    It can be slightly overwhelming when it's busy but when that happens the day goes a lot faster so there's a silver lining.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great review and 5-star rating! It really means a lot. We're glad to have you as a member of the team here at Peninsula as a Human Resources Advisor and, thank you for your 1 years’ service so far! It is really wonderful to hear that you really enjoy working at Peninsula and, that you feel really well supported within your role. We're pleased that you really enjoy the training we provide giving every individual the opportunity to grow and develop within the business. We also really do value our team members and this is why we run several incentives across the group and within teams to reward good work. So it's great to know you love the one's we currently offer! The pace at Peninsula is fast paced so we glad to hear that you embrace this. However, if you ever feel you would require any additional support, we do encourage staff to discuss this with their line manager as we offer an open-door policy where any issues can be discussed in confidence. We welcome all feedback or ideas for improvements, so if you ever feel you would like to discuss anything in confidence, please reach us on reviews@peninsula-uk.com Keep up the fantastic work in your role. We hope you have a great day!

  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Employment Law Advisor

    Mar 23, 2022 - Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Amazing perks -Good work/life balance -Fab colleagues -Lots of opportunities for progression - Really good management who are very supportive

    Cons

    -Statutory sick pay only so if off sick one day = no pay

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave us your great review and 5-star rating! It really means a lot. We're glad to have you as a member of the team here at Peninsula as a Development Specialist and, thank you for your 1 years’ service so far! It is really wonderful to hear that you really enjoy working at Peninsula with your team members and feel well supported by your manager. Amazing! It's great to hear that you feel you have a good work-life balance We're pleased that you really enjoy the training we provide giving every individual the opportunity to grow and develop within the business. But we really do value our team members and this is why we run several incentives across the group and within teams to reward good work. So, it's great to know you love the one's we currently offer! In regards to your comment about sick pay, we offer a contractual sick pay scheme which offers full pay for three normal working weeks in any 12 month period once 12 month’s service has been completed. So the statement made in your review below would only be applicable during the first 12 months of service. We also always work with staff to allow them to work back time where they would like to do so or, work overtime to ensure there is no detrimental impact on income. However we welcome all feedback or ideas for improvements, so if you ever feel you would like to discuss anything in confidence, please reach us on reviews@peninsula-uk.com Keep up the fantastic work. We hope you have a great day!

  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Backwards and inept

    Mar 17, 2022 - Human Resources Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some nice colleagues, they should get out as soon as possible.

    Cons

    Bullying senior management who have no care or regard for the mental health of staff. Poor pay rise scheme. A working culture stuck in the 1950's.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback for us and, for your 2 years service with Peninsula. However, we are concerned about several of the comments made in your review. We’re really pleased to hear that you enjoyed working in your team with your friendly work colleagues but we are disheartened to hear that you feel they 'should get out as soon as possible'. The issues raised in your review reflect a culture we simply do not recognise here at Peninsula. The wellbeing of our ever-growing team is our utmost priority, and we are committed to making improvements to ensure employee satisfaction and happiness. That’s why we value communication so that we can understand any concerns and put effective arrangements in place to solve them. Also as a company we provide access to an Employee Assistance Programme where counselling and support are available 24/7. In relation to your comment on bullying, this is something that we do not condone at Peninsula and we are sorry if you felt you were. We would like to know more information on this so that we can investigate it. Referencing your comment to a 'poor pay rise scheme', we offer our 6 monthly reviews where all employees have the opportunity to progress, through our transparent pay banding scales based on performance. Employees who meet the standards required are rewarded and also have opportunities to benefit from our bonus scheme, profit share and commission schemes. We hope that you feel comfortable to reach out to us to discuss your experience with Peninsula further. If this is something you’re happy to do, please let us know by emailing reviews@peninsula-uk.com. You can opt to remain anonymous upon contacting us too. We hope to hear from you soon.

  5. 2.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good for experience, but not for the long term

    Feb 12, 2022 - Legal Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Good training to begin with - Enjoyable and varied work - Friendly line manager and colleagues - Good support from line manager and senior colleagues within the team - reasonable pay

    Cons

    - Too fast paced, led to rushed advice and unreasonable work loads (issues were relayed to line manager) - Micromanagement - Lack of time to complete training - Little flexibility, especially in terms of working from home. - My time here led me to be depressed and suffer physical and mental health problems. This started relatively early into the role.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. We're pleased to hear that you've enjoyed your work and have been compensated reasonably and have felt supported by your line manager and senior colleagues though we are very sorry to read some of other comments about your experiences here; this is not a culture that we recognise. Our environment is dynamic and can be fast-paced as we are committed to providing our clients with excellent service 24/7, 365 days of the year. Our Quality and Performance Framework is in place to ensure the delivery of such service, but also to reward excellent performance and develop the careers of our team members. However, the health and wellbeing of our staff is also an utmost priority of ours, and so we are saddened to see that you have dealt with mental health issues whilst working with us. We welcome all feedback and our management teams all have an open door policy where any issues can be discussed in confidence, and we would hope those issues are addressed such that the happiness and satisfaction of our employees remains high. We feel communication is important to allow us to constantly improve our employee experience. We are sorry to see that this has not been the case here and we endeavor to ensure this will not be a recurring issue going forward. We do advise staff to also make use of our Employee Assistance programme which provides access to round-the-clock support to address concerns in every aspect of life, and we also have recently implemented regular Q and A sessions with board members which seek to gain actionable feedback to improve working practices and culture for everyone within the business. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive as it gives us the scope to improve and make the sure that the culture that we have created continues to be a supportive one where people enjoy their roles and can progress. We would like to invite you to further discuss your experiences with us so that we can make any improvements where necessary and ensure a positive experience for everyone here at Peninsula. The best way to get in touch would be to contact reviews@peninsula-uk.com.

  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    .

    Oct 4, 2021 - Graduate Human Resources Advisor in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Handful of decent colleagues. Next to town centre.

    Cons

    Horrendus culture. Shadow practice- give HR advice to other companies, yet treat their own employees with no respect or care. Timed on how many minutes you were at the bathroom. Created negative competition between employees. Pressure staff to post forced reviews on linked in. Graduate Scheme Manager played employees against each other. Given a "Buddy" however you were not allowed to email, call or speak to Buddy for advice in workin hours. Dismiss staff with no warning Do not fairly assess exams/ tests. Clear favourites throughout company Company make you pay back for in house training.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    We're sorry to hear you feel this way about the company, it's not an experience that we recognise or stand for, we're disappointed to read about your opinion of our colleague support. Colleague support and care is an important part of our ethos - we celebrate success and, when required, provide feedback on how you are performing. We have an open forum established wherein staff can highlight concerns with work practices and have them addressed. We also invest heavily in training and development and we’ll soon be implementing a Consultant Career Pathway - offering opportunities for colleagues to progress. So we’re saddened to hear your comments about our graduate schemes, as it isn’t an experience we recognise for our colleagues. Nonetheless, we wish you all the best in the future in all of your endeavours.

  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Supportive employer

    Jun 18, 2021 - Senior Health and Safety Advisor in Manchester City Centre, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Supportive, lots of training opportunities, plenty of resources, information and experience to draw upon. Very proactive concerning safety at work, job security, and pay. Great bonus opportunities for referring new business opportunities. Highly diverse workforce, colleagues from all backgrounds, cultures, ethnicities and experiences.

    Cons

    Very very focused on numbers and targets. Everything single aspect of job performance is measured.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Client Engagement Specialist

    Good afternoon, thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback. We always strive to support our teams in the best way possible and we operate an open door policy to ensure our teams have the outlet they need and can approach issues head on. If you would like to discuss any of your comments further, please email us at feedback@peninsula-uk.com and we'll be happy to help. We wish you all the best, Penny

  8. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Undervalued, underpaid, overworked

    Jul 1, 2021 - Human Resources Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You meet some great people, good training and if you need to build up your emotional resilience it’s great. You get a decent amount of holidays but you use most of them dreading going back to work.

    Cons

    -micro management - toxic management - unsupportive management - cliquey management - hierarchical place of work where you very much know your place. - longest I went without a pay review was a year and when there was a pay review there was a ‘pay freeze’. - was forced within my first 2 weeks to write a positive glass door review. I felt if I didn’t there would have been a consequence. - treated their staff awfully during the pandemic - no flexibility - if off sick you are made to feel guilty. - whilst EAP is a great tool for employers, peninsula rely on it solely as a tool to say they are a good employer who provides great support to their employees. This is incorrect. - departments work against each other and not with each other because of the pressure everyone is under which in my experience has only been a disservice to clients. - timing toilet breaks is not a healthy practice regardless of how you try and cover this as a tool to ensure your employees are ok, maybe if management was at all approachable employees could discuss any issues they may have. - I could go on, but I just wouldn’t say it’s a good place to work.. for anyone.

    Continue reading
    8 people found this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Client Engagement Specialist

    Good morning, thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We're very sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time with us. We always strive to support our teams in the best way possible and are sorry to hear you didn't feel you could benefit from this. We also operate an open door policy to ensure our teams have the outlet they need and can approach issues head on. If you would like to discuss any of your comments further, please email us at feedback@peninsula-uk.com and we'll be happy to help. We wish you all the best, Penny

  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Fast paced / busy environment

    May 24, 2021 - H&S Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fast paced, busy client focused environment for those who enjoy something different each day, challenging but rewarding. Always looking to continually improve those employees who work within the business and its client services. Invested a lot of time and money into making the workplace safe to return to for its employees during the COVID 19 pandemic.

    Cons

    Keep pace with the job market

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Good afternoon, thank you for your review, we're so pleased to hear you're enjoying your time with the Health and Safety department, we take on board all your comments and wish you all the best in your career. Kind regards, Sarah

  10. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Perfect Company

    May 5, 2021 - Human Resources Advisor in Manchester, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Promotions, benefits, training, social life, good management.

    Cons

    None that come to mind.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    Peninsula Response

    Client Engagement Specialist

    Good afternoon, thanks so much for taking the time to leave your feedback about your time with us, we're really pleased to hear you enjoyed it and we wish you all the best! Kind regards, Sarah

Viewing 1 - 10 of 32 Reviews

Popular Careers with Peninsula Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Peninsula? Share Your Experiences

or