Perlego Reviews

Updated 10 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.8
95%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    A fantastic place to work at!

    16 Sep 2020 - QA Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great energetic team! - Great office perks - Good opportunities in terms of career development, learning and other aspirations - Incredible Tech Stack! I work with some very clever people which is quite inspiring!

    Cons

    I have none that i can think of, it's been a great experience so far!

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Full of high energy and passionate people

    7 Jan 2020 - Junior Designer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - A young, highly motivated, fairly open and ambitious team. - Because of the size of the company you have the opportunity to directly see the impact of your work - Growing focus on culture and collaboration - Beautiful office space - Free Monday breakfast & bi-weekly team Lunch - Sponsored gym membership - Team socials & activities Being able to help create something of real value and be surrounded by inspiring, talented, hard-working people. Perlego is my second design-role job and I've grown (and continue to grow) a lot since starting, due to the patience and investment from the management team.

    Cons

    - If you work within a medium-large team/a lot of people depend on your work, 'flexible working hours quickly become less flexible' - I started as an intern finishing my final module, when the team was fairly small. Because there was a scarcity of time and resources, I sometimes struggled to receive the guidance and mentorship I was looking for at the time. There has previously been a lack of communication. (I could have benefited from more frequent and solution-based feedback) *Its work noting that this has/is continuing to change and there are now bi-weekly one-to-ones with your managers focused and improving you and your work. . . Although everyone at Perlego is supportive, It is a very fast-paced, high-intensity environment. Everyone is busy and hardworking, so if you're starting as a junior, expect most of your development and learnings to be self-led, however, you will be surrounded by a talented team always willing to do what they can to help :)

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Finally found a workplace where I love being at work

    22 Jul 2020 - Software Developer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    * Very team-oriented and people-oriented. * Friendly and open-minded management. People WANT to listen to you, and they take feedback onboard and actually do something about it. * Intelligent bunch of people that constantly learn and help each other, especially in the engineering teams. * Extra team get-away days on top of holidays. * Brilliant domain, EdTech is hot!

    Cons

    * Fast-paced environment so you need to be careful to not burn out.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Unprofessional senior management

    8 Jan 2021 - Software Developer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    They are ashamed of nothing.

    Cons

    They only care about their time and money. They really give no importance to others. They have no decision making skills and believe that they are the best. Ha ha....

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Fun-tastic Workplace👌

    25 Nov 2019 - QA Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I have been working since 1999. I have worked in many companies in different fraternities. I personally felt "Perlego" is the best company I have ever worked for. I guarantee, Every new members of team always feel instantly that they are core member of Perlego family. Each and every individual work for same goal which is to deliver best possible from their side to our clients. Not only team members but also Directors and Managers are always very supportive and friendly. We can go and speak to Director on any matters without any hesitation. Here, at Perlego, life and work is balanced beautifully. Company values their team and offers work from home facilities and lots and lots of perks are there too. Such as, River rafting day out with team, Holidays with crew outside Country, Christmas party, Breakfast and lunch together, Birthday off and gifts and many many activities to encourage individuals to feel part of a family and make entire atmosphere so friendly and stress free. I honestly, never felt that I didn't enjoy a day at work. It's always fun filled. Management is structured the way that they personally support each individuals towards their growth and development. I absolutely love the positive vibes and atmosphere here.

    Cons

    Haven't seen any cons since I joined.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great Culture

    22 Jun 2020 - Mobile Software Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Company social events, Culture, Location.

    Cons

    A one size fits all approach to policies for all roles can mean that the policies may not be as flexible as software engineers are accustomed to.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great career growth through hard work

    22 Oct 2019 - Software Engineer in Holborn, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    There is a true startup atmosphere, with all the pros and only some cons that come with it. Since this is what I was looking for, I'm putting it down as pro. To give a bit more details, we get the opportunity to work with the latest tech available, making it amazing for career growth. There is also the opportunity to take full ownership on certain projects and decide how to implement them if our arguments are good enough. A helpful team, which is ready to help when needed. Above all, it's a product that I believe in, making me want to work towards it. Nearly forgot to mention the free coffee, beer, and hot chocolates! That's pretty awesome.

    Cons

    Big pressure to get projects done - within reason, but some weeks the work load is quite high. Everyone works quite hard, so socials do tend to end a bit too soon.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Makes you fall in love with the work. Really great mission and amazing people, salary not as high as you might expect

    30 Jul 2020 - Software Engineer in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flat architecture with a very down-to-earth management Literally a 2nd family with fun social events Very flexible working

    Cons

    Salary is a bit lower compared to similar roles/companies

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Great people, best overall environment I've been in

    19 Nov 2019 - Vice President of Growth in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Doing everything right on company culture and hiring. No false/forced culture, very few hiring mistakes and an honest, candid approach to any issues. An open chamber for all to contribute and a deep-rooted culture of collaboration. An exciting company to work for, led by a young but smart, patient and capable group of dedicated leaders who genuinely care for their teams and each others'. The company is an exemplar of how to run a startup and a really great place to work every day. Office space and resident dog are an additional plus!

    Cons

    Heating didn't work for a bit in the new office. That's about the worst thing I can say.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Ticks all the boxes

    5 Feb 2020 - Marketing Executive in London, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Transparent leadership: no question is off limits, the management team clearly want everyone to know what's going on and feel empowered to have a say. For example we have weekly whole company meetings to share wins and struggles. and the company has a relatively open insight on salaries and team performance. - Having impact: It's not something we actually talk about much, but bringing books to students at a cheaper price is having a huge impact on the great minds of tomorrow. We have doctors, engineers, artists, and countless other students on the platform who're learning their trade and that feels pretty empowering. - Work balance: Despite being a fast growing startup the team doesn't have that 'constantly stressed' vibe you often see. We're well staffed, well structured, and focussed on maintaining a healthy culture. - Central London office + a ton of space: I didn't really appreciate this when applying, but the office location by Chancery Lane tube station is a gem. We work in a super high ceilinged room that feels like Hogwarts, making it actually a pleasure to be here. No way of writing this without sounding cliched, but the people are amazing. We're a young and diverse team (20+ nationalities) who choose to stay behind to play games together, practice radical candor with giving feedback, and genuinely want newcomers to feel like they're part of the team by the end of week one. My favourite part of the culture so far? - we all break for lunch at the same time and eat as one big team

    Cons

    Classic 'fast growing company' challenges around process and having enough time in the day, but we seem to handle the pressure well. The team is full of outgoing characters from all over the world, I see that as an amazing perk but if you're used to a quiet office full of water-cooler chat then be ready to shake it up! Again also a perk if you look at it in the right way, but we're growing fast so the career progression isn't super obvious. If you come in with the mindset that it's partly on you to figure out where to add value to the business I think you'll quickly succeed.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 11 - 20 of 38 Reviews

Popular Careers with Perlego Job Seekers

Software Engineer
Learn About the Job
JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at Perlego? Share Your Experiences

Perlego logo
or