Pertemps "head office" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Pertemps Employee Reviews about "head office"

Updated 24 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.3
55%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
Pertemps Lifetime President  Tim Watts (no image)
Tim Watts
58 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good team, work hard, play hard(in 7 reviews)

  • "They go the extra mile to ensure you are looked after and paid on time(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "They don't attempt to progress your career, very focused on leader-boards and figures to look good to head office(in 6 reviews)

  • "Very long hours sometimes needed in recruitment(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "head office"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pertemps full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Offer flexibility when it comes to personal life. Great team spirit and offer excellent bonus / car / pension and holiday scheme.

    Cons

    Sometimes a little more communication from Head Office or contracts teams would be beneficial for branches.

    Pertemps2017-09-25
  2. "Keeping the top 2% rich"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Resourcer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pertemps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fairly Friendly Not KPI based FAIRLY decent incentives Go karting comp once a year

    Cons

    They don't attempt to progress your career, very focused on leader-boards and figures to look good to head office. All about who you know within the business. Keep your commission if you leave. No chance at becoming more senior. If you are a Resourcer, you fundamentally do not exist in the companies eyes and receive terrible commission.

    Continue reading
    Pertemps2020-01-24

    Pertemps Response

    January 28, 2020

    Hello, thank you for giving us your feedback. At Pertemps, we take all feedback from current and former employees very seriously. We are sorry to hear you claim you had a negative experience during your time with us. We are the only recruitment business to be included for 13 consecutive years in the Sunday Times Top 100 Companies to Work For; an achievement that has only been possible thanks to the positive feedback given by our own workforce as part of the survey process. All of our teams across the UK are dedicated to providing environments that promote personal growth and success and this explains why Pertemps has one of the best retention rates of staff within the industry. Management take pride in their leadership practices with our Chairperson being named the West Midlands’ Best Director in 2018 by the Institute of Directors. We have a determination to ensure each and every one of our employees receive the encouragement, support and training to achieve in their career, highlighted by our increased focus and investment in our training and development offering. Pertemps is confident that its rewards and recognition package for employees is one of the most attractive in the industry emphasised by the increasing number of recruitment professionals naming Pertemps as an employer of choice. If you would like to discuss further, please contact HR professionals via the Pertemps website on the 'get in touch' section - here you can leave more details in the strictest confidence in line with our public disclosure policy.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Looking for job security and career prospects in a modern workplace, then look elsewhere."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Specialist in Meriden, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pertemps full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    It's better than being unemployed.

    Cons

    If you value job security and career progression and are looking for a modern, forward thinking company - do not work here. Why I hear you ask? Career progression: Well in 15 years of working for the company, the "old boys" (and girls) club at the top of this company did not change one bit. Nobody moves on. They cling on desperately way past retirement age, leaving no room for anyone to rise through the ranks. Nobody below them moves either, so people don't stick around once they realise there is nowhere to go. Job security: From the moment you join you will always be wondering when it's your team's turn to be made redundant. It happens alot. Often merely on the whim of the chairman. Usually they like to get rid of whole teams just before Christmas but the axe could fall any time, so make sure you take out redundancy cover. When (not if) you get the chop, forget about any help from HR department. They will listen to your grievances, pretend to be interested, then go radio silent hoping you will just go away. They will take a back seat while the financial director takes great pleasure in making your last few weeks absolute hell. Any excuse to take money off you they will do it, they only offer statuatory redundancy cover anyway but will try to wriggle out of paying any overtime, car allowance, or other extra wages in your last few, miserable, weeks of employment. And once you are gone, they'll stitch you up again with the taxman on your p11d for benefits that you supposedly received. Technology: What's that? This company does not invest in technology. Be prepared to be using a PC from 2009 - for the next 10 years. They insist on using out of date Citrix providers and the slowest internet links, and their IT support takes weeks to get anything done. Also, forget about any thoughts of "modern flexible working", this place is in the dark ages. Working from home is frowned upon, the chairman "doesn't like it". It's a strict 9-to-5 working day - but be expected to work alot longer than that. Flexitime, flexbible working, flexible hours, homeworking - forget about it, in this company you are timewarped back to 1990. Offices: Head Office is ok, in a nice setting, but the branches and other offices are decrepit. We worked in an office with broken, cracked windows that wouldn't open properly in summer and had a freezing gale coming through in winter. The walls had not been painted in years, and carpets were filthy (even had a flea infestation once). No air-con in most offices either. Good luck trying to find a car park space too, head office has had a major problem with car parking for years and no plans to resolve it. Dress code: Also something from the dark ages. No visible tattoos allowed, no piercings apart from ears, and no modern casual office attire. Formal office wear apart from Friday when it's dress-down, for a fee. Overall then: Unless you are a relative or family friend of the top brass, and will be promoted based on that, suggest you look elsewhere.

    Continue reading
    Pertemps2019-12-16

    Pertemps Response

    December 24, 2019

    I am sorry to hear about your experience whilst working for Pertemps. Our HR Manager would very much welcome the opportunity to speak with you further about your experience. Please, can you contact Sylvia on 01676 525270. The conversation will be in complete confidence. Further to previous response, see the below Over a period of almost 60 years, Pertemps has earned a reputation as being an employer of choice for the way that its looks after the well-being of its workforce. With circa 40,000 people employed by Pertemps in any given week, our business is proud to have been rated by its own employees as a Sunday Times 100 Best Company to Work For; over an unprecedented 13 consecutive years: no other business in the UK has achieved this honour. Pertemps received special recognition from Best Companies for this achievement. The Chairman and Founder would like to draw attention to the fact that not a single member of his family works for the business. Furthermore; the company is in fact owned by the workforce after the Founder handed ownership of the business to the workforce via an Employee Benefit Trust. Last year alone, the business paid out over £7m in dividends to the workforce making Pertemps one of the best companies in the UK for sharing its success with employees. The comments correctly make reference to the longevity of service achieved by a large majority of the workforce and this is something the business is exceptionally proud about. Competitors in the recruitment industry report a very high turnover of staff but the same cannot be said for Pertemps where workers feel proud to remain within our business and this is celebrated and rewarded. In all levels of our organisation, from junior staff to the board of directors, the business does not recognise any of the negative comments made by this anonymous author.

    Continue reading
  4. "Honest"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pertemps part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Wonderful people working in the branch

    Cons

    Appalling pay rates and lack of interest from head office

    Continue reading
    Pertemps2019-12-16

    Pertemps Response

    December 24, 2019

    Hello, thank you for giving us your feedback. At Pertemps, we take all feedback from current and former employees very seriously. We are disappointed to hear you claim to have had a negative experience which does not match with our usual high standards. Regarding salary and pay rates, please get in touch with specific details so we can look into your comments further. Reach us via the Pertemps website on the 'get in touch' section - here you can leave more details in the strictest confidence in line with our public disclosure policy. Or, contact one of our HR professionals. Thank you.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Under valued and under paid- Little budget for anything and run by pre-historic managers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Recruitment Consultant in Slough, Berkshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pertemps

    Pros

    Really cannot think of anything unless you have been with the company for a minimum of 5 years.... You then can sort of match the external benefits to some start up recruitment agencies

    Cons

    Very low basic pay, sick pay, maternity leave, bonus/ comission and holiday allowance Expected to work outside of office hours daily, this is the culture of the company- 1 person doing 3 peoples jobs. Little budget and perks for staff - outside of managment No development unless you are based in the midlands where the Head office is Managed by people who have bene with the company for over 15 years, little innovation or knowledge of the external recruitment market Little or no training for new starters Low emploee retention Like going back 30 years in recruitment and the systems they use

    Continue reading
    Pertemps2015-03-04
  6. "Excellent people, long hours, little to no reward and terrible pay and benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Pertemps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people are fantastic. It is a place that catches lots of people when they are on the up. You gain a varied skillset and are given the chance to try lots of things.

    Cons

    Low salaries and bonuses. The salary is on average £5,000-£8,000 lower than market rate. Non existent training. Terrible work life balance because instead of hiring enough people to do the work well they hire bare bones with no experience give minimal training so that they are cheap. Senior managers are told to not tell other employees about schemes such as shares etc. Every year you work you gain a full day of holiday up to a certain point however in your last year your holiday is calculated the same as your very first year regardless the blood,sweat, and tears have gone into the company. Company wide survey published in the newsletter mentioned all of the above and more yet the response from head office is looks at the results we have such nice people here, rather than address the negative points.

    Continue reading
    Pertemps2014-03-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 6 reviews