PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PetSmart Reviews

Updated 18 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 4462 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
50%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
245 Ratings
Pros
  • "Stalker or cleaning pets living spaces(in 757 reviews)

  • "Working with animals & learning about safety(in 362 reviews)

Cons
  • "I do wish we didn't sell enclosures that weren't good for the animals (i(in 385 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 223 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BD EXECUTIVE 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, good culture

    Cons

    None really to speak off.

    PetSmart2019-05-28

    PetSmart Response

    May 29, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks so much for the review! We're so glad to hear you have been enjoying life at PetSmart. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
  2. "Terrible management at my store which made job unenjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the PetsHotel as a Pet Care Specialist. I loved the variability of tasks, as I would spend my day supervising doggie day camp, walking dogs, playing with cats, preparing meals, grooming (cheaper baths + nails than grooming salon), and working the front desk. Interacting with the pet parents was great for the most part, and forming relationships with all the dogs and cats was great. I never had trouble getting days off when I really needed them.

    Cons

    Initial training was like 10 hours of reading boring information about working in the store, which I never had to do. Corporate makes lots of stupid rules which suggests these people have spent little time actually working with live animals or asking PetsHotel employees to weigh in. The main reason I hated my job, however, was that management at my store was TERRIBLE. The PetsHotel manager was vengeful and made it an extremely toxic work environment. Me and several of my co-workers developed severe anxiety issues over working at PetSmart (insomnia, chest pain, constantly on the verge of an anxiety attack, etc.) because of this individual. Her only superior at the store was the store manager, who agreed with her methods of management (pretending to be nice to get dirt on co-workers so they had reasons to write them up, not allowing employees to interact with other employees that were not on the same level as them in the store...I almost got my friend fired who had recently been promoted by mentioning an interaction we had on social media). I was so happy to leave and it's a shame that these two individuals put such a damper on what should have been a fun job taking care of people's pets. I am giving 3 stars because without my manager I would have loved my job.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-08-06

    PetSmart Response

    August 7, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for taking the time. We are committed to creating a positive and welcoming environment. That clearly was not your experience, and I'm sorry to hear that. We'd like to gain a better understanding of some of the concerning patterns your shared, as they're not in line with our values. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 with more about your experience. Thank you, again.

    Continue reading
  3. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Seeing the animals everyday, flexibility

    Cons

    Management were not very helpful or professional at times

    PetSmart2018-04-16
  4. "PetSmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart

    Pros

    You get to work with animals

    Cons

    Hours suck and there's a lot of standing

    PetSmart2017-02-28
  5. "Amazing skills learned and new friends created"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Cathays Park, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great skills to learn. Will create an amazing range of new friends. It is an Amazing opportunity for later on in life.

    Cons

    Hard work and concentration required when working here. Will need to be punctual and reliable. You will need good concentration aswell.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2016-02-19
  6. "Friendly startup."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart

    Pros

    Friendly members of staff,very helpful,nice atmosphere,taining provided.Delayered hierarchial structure.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for promotions,insufficient pay.

    PetSmart2015-10-08
  7. "loved it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Pet Care Associate 

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    worked with animals made lots of friends

    Cons

    none really, unless unworthy customers come in

    PetSmart2019-09-17
  8. "Great office environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Operations Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Passionate employees across the business in all departments. It is great that we can have such an impact on pets and pet parents. Company initiatives are made with values in mind. Senior Leadership is aligned to company goals, which are cascaded down to teams.

    Cons

    At times, we seem a little hesitant to change. I wish we took a few more risks.

    PetSmart2019-09-17

    PetSmart Response

    September 18, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! Your feedback is both appreciated and noted. We think our culture is incredibly unique at PetSmart, and I'm so happy that your experience has been so positive. Thank you for all you do to help make pets happy and healthy!

    Continue reading
  9. "Treated me well, but lots of physical labor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pet Care Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    dogs friendly environment discounts on pet food and toys

    Cons

    bad dogs bites loud noises Late work hours

    PetSmart2019-09-18

    PetSmart Response

    September 18, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We always appreciate hearing feedback from our associates and appreciate you taking the time. Please know, you can also share your thoughts via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
  10. "Great if you love animals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Animals! Base pay wasn't bad On the job training, no experience required Discounts

    Cons

    Cleaning up pee/poop, Animals dying, Sometimes early hours, potential illness from animals if you're not careful

    PetSmart2019-09-16

    PetSmart Response

    September 16, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review! We agree - working with animals makes working at PetSmart pretty special. Please know, you can always share feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you again!

    Continue reading
Found 4462 reviews