PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PetSmart Reviews

Updated 27 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
51%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
328 Ratings
Pros
  • "Working with animals & learning about safety(in 397 reviews)

  • "You learn so much about dogs as well as customer service and animal behavior(in 169 reviews)

Cons
  • "Most animals like the peanut butter(in 412 reviews)

  • "takes a while to get used to dogs for service(in 254 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BD EXECUTIVE 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, good culture

    Cons

    None really to speak off.

    PetSmart2019-05-28

    PetSmart Response

    May 29, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks so much for the review! We're so glad to hear you have been enjoying life at PetSmart. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
  2. "Terrible management at my store which made job unenjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the PetsHotel as a Pet Care Specialist. I loved the variability of tasks, as I would spend my day supervising doggie day camp, walking dogs, playing with cats, preparing meals, grooming (cheaper baths + nails than grooming salon), and working the front desk. Interacting with the pet parents was great for the most part, and forming relationships with all the dogs and cats was great. I never had trouble getting days off when I really needed them.

    Cons

    Initial training was like 10 hours of reading boring information about working in the store, which I never had to do. Corporate makes lots of stupid rules which suggests these people have spent little time actually working with live animals or asking PetsHotel employees to weigh in. The main reason I hated my job, however, was that management at my store was TERRIBLE. The PetsHotel manager was vengeful and made it an extremely toxic work environment. Me and several of my co-workers developed severe anxiety issues over working at PetSmart (insomnia, chest pain, constantly on the verge of an anxiety attack, etc.) because of this individual. Her only superior at the store was the store manager, who agreed with her methods of management (pretending to be nice to get dirt on co-workers so they had reasons to write them up, not allowing employees to interact with other employees that were not on the same level as them in the store...I almost got my friend fired who had recently been promoted by mentioning an interaction we had on social media). I was so happy to leave and it's a shame that these two individuals put such a damper on what should have been a fun job taking care of people's pets. I am giving 3 stars because without my manager I would have loved my job.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-08-06

    PetSmart Response

    August 7, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for taking the time. We are committed to creating a positive and welcoming environment. That clearly was not your experience, and I'm sorry to hear that. We'd like to gain a better understanding of some of the concerning patterns your shared, as they're not in line with our values. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 with more about your experience. Thank you, again.

    Continue reading
  3. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Seeing the animals everyday, flexibility

    Cons

    Management were not very helpful or professional at times

    PetSmart2018-04-16
  4. "PetSmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart

    Pros

    You get to work with animals

    Cons

    Hours suck and there's a lot of standing

    PetSmart2017-02-28
  5. "Amazing skills learned and new friends created"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Cathays Park, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great skills to learn. Will create an amazing range of new friends. It is an Amazing opportunity for later on in life.

    Cons

    Hard work and concentration required when working here. Will need to be punctual and reliable. You will need good concentration aswell.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2016-02-19
  6. "Friendly startup."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart

    Pros

    Friendly members of staff,very helpful,nice atmosphere,taining provided.Delayered hierarchial structure.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for promotions,insufficient pay.

    PetSmart2015-10-08
  7. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Bather in Glendora, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get to spend all your time with dogs!

    Cons

    It is hard physical labor. You have to lift big dogs every day and hunch over a lot when you're washing.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-03-24

    PetSmart Response

    March 25, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review and for your commitment to helping pets enjoy happy and healthy lives while you were with PetSmart. We always value hearing feedback from our associates and appreciate you taking the time.

    Continue reading
  8. "cashier"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Sault Ste. Marie, ON
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    there my experience was very good

    Cons

    no any disadvantage because according to me we should not say anything bad where we learnt alot.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2020-03-23
  9. "Hard to get hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PetCare 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Animals! They make the job worth it.

    Cons

    Good luck getting a schedule more than a week out

    PetSmart2020-03-24

    PetSmart Response

    March 25, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review! We're thrilled to hear you enjoy your life at PetSmart! Working with animals and awesome coworkers make PetSmart a special place - we appreciate your sharing your experience and your commitment to helping to keep pets healthy and happy!

    Continue reading
  10. "I enjoy working at Petsmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Petcare Associate in Countryside, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    working with animals , interacting with pet parents

    Cons

    We are currently short staffed and very busy.

    PetSmart2020-03-22

    PetSmart Response

    March 23, 2020Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for the review! We think our culture is incredibly unique at PetSmart, and I'm so happy that it's been your experience, as well. Thank you for all you do to help make pets happy and healthy!

    Continue reading
Found 4710 reviews