PetSmart Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

PetSmart Reviews

Updated 10 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
47%
Recommend to a Friend
46%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
283 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "I do wish we didn't sell enclosures that weren't good for the animals (i(in 401 reviews)

  • "You do have to clean up after dogs if owner’s refuse to pick it up or just leaves it(in 242 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - BD EXECUTIVE 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, good culture

    Cons

    None really to speak off.

    PetSmart2019-05-28

    PetSmart Response

    May 29, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks so much for the review! We're so glad to hear you have been enjoying life at PetSmart. Thanks, again!

    Continue reading
  2. "Terrible management at my store which made job unenjoyable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Pet Care Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I worked in the PetsHotel as a Pet Care Specialist. I loved the variability of tasks, as I would spend my day supervising doggie day camp, walking dogs, playing with cats, preparing meals, grooming (cheaper baths + nails than grooming salon), and working the front desk. Interacting with the pet parents was great for the most part, and forming relationships with all the dogs and cats was great. I never had trouble getting days off when I really needed them.

    Cons

    Initial training was like 10 hours of reading boring information about working in the store, which I never had to do. Corporate makes lots of stupid rules which suggests these people have spent little time actually working with live animals or asking PetsHotel employees to weigh in. The main reason I hated my job, however, was that management at my store was TERRIBLE. The PetsHotel manager was vengeful and made it an extremely toxic work environment. Me and several of my co-workers developed severe anxiety issues over working at PetSmart (insomnia, chest pain, constantly on the verge of an anxiety attack, etc.) because of this individual. Her only superior at the store was the store manager, who agreed with her methods of management (pretending to be nice to get dirt on co-workers so they had reasons to write them up, not allowing employees to interact with other employees that were not on the same level as them in the store...I almost got my friend fired who had recently been promoted by mentioning an interaction we had on social media). I was so happy to leave and it's a shame that these two individuals put such a damper on what should have been a fun job taking care of people's pets. I am giving 3 stars because without my manager I would have loved my job.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2018-08-06

    PetSmart Response

    August 7, 2018Employer Branding

    Thank you for taking the time. We are committed to creating a positive and welcoming environment. That clearly was not your experience, and I'm sorry to hear that. We'd like to gain a better understanding of some of the concerning patterns your shared, as they're not in line with our values. Please feel free to contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 with more about your experience. Thank you, again.

    Continue reading
  3. "Nice company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at PetSmart part-time

    Pros

    Seeing the animals everyday, flexibility

    Cons

    Management were not very helpful or professional at times

    PetSmart2018-04-16
  4. "PetSmart"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart

    Pros

    You get to work with animals

    Cons

    Hours suck and there's a lot of standing

    PetSmart2017-02-28
  5. "Amazing skills learned and new friends created"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Cathays Park, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great skills to learn. Will create an amazing range of new friends. It is an Amazing opportunity for later on in life.

    Cons

    Hard work and concentration required when working here. Will need to be punctual and reliable. You will need good concentration aswell.

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2016-02-19
  6. "Friendly startup."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at PetSmart

    Pros

    Friendly members of staff,very helpful,nice atmosphere,taining provided.Delayered hierarchial structure.

    Cons

    Limited opportunities for promotions,insufficient pay.

    PetSmart2015-10-08
  7. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier in Toronto, ON
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, friendly learning environment

    Cons

    Hard to get good hours

    Continue reading
    PetSmart2019-12-10
  8. Helpful (32)

    "Love everything about it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier in Hattiesburg, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My managers, coworkers, and even customers are great and make the job well worth it! I also get paid well and get to learn A LOT of things about products and animals that I didn’t know before. Everyone is very nice and cares about you and helping you succeed if you put in the effort. You also get basic vacation time even as a part time employee and the company offers a lot of other benefits even at the part time level.

    Cons

    Usually part time workers only get around 20 hours but sometimes more. I would say the main con is how much the hours fluctuate.

    PetSmart2019-08-22

    PetSmart Response

    August 26, 2019Employer Branding

    Thank you so much for the review! That's great to hear how much you enjoy some of the PetSmart perks and benefits. We agree with you - our fellow associates and customers are wonderful. That shared love and passion for pets is a powerful bond that connects us all. Thank you, again, for sharing your experience.

    Continue reading
  9. "Bather"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Dog Bather in Culver City, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at PetSmart part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours Good training Available to be promoted

    Cons

    Salary cuts Short hours Parking Management

    PetSmart2019-12-03

    PetSmart Response

    December 3, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for the review! We're glad to hear you enjoyed working at PetSmart. Please know, you can always share feedback via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693, as well. Thank you, again!

    Continue reading
  10. "Fun place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Seasonal Cashier 
    Recommends

    I have been working at PetSmart part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, very friendly coworkers who are always willing to help you. Plus you get to be around animals all day! Training was very thorough on the computer and with hands-on training. Overall a very great place to work :)

    Cons

    Since I am in college I only wanted to work a minimum of 20 hours per week but they keep putting me down for 25+ per week.

    PetSmart2019-12-01

    PetSmart Response

    December 2, 2019Social Media Community Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to review! We're so glad you enjoy working with us and all that life at PetSmart has to offer, we hope that's always the case! Thank you for all that you do for the love of pets! We appreciate you sharing your experience.

    Continue reading
Found 4570 reviews