PetSmart Training Reviews

Updated May 25, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 33 of over 6,535 reviews

3.4
52%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
PetSmart CEO J.K. Symancyk
J.K. Symancyk
2 Ratings
  1. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Very Nice Staff

    May 25, 2021 - Pet Training Instructor in Costa Mesa, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Lots of animals and friendly people

    Cons

    Somewhat difficult to keep running

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    I love training dogs, but...

    Apr 13, 2021 - Pet Training Instructor in Dallas, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I chose Petsmart because I wanted the reliability and relative stability of regular hourly pay with commission. I love that they use science based positive reinforcement training and train you on the classes. I love the program itself and troubleshooting dog behavior issues, and the opportunity to train so mamy dogs is such a good learning experience if you have none as a trainer.

    Cons

    I am a glorified cashier. I spend more time on register than in classes. Making plan can be stressful, especially if you fall behind. Starting out and building your business is rocky at first, especially since you inherit the last guy's plan. Your experience depends on how well you get along with your team.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    PetSmart Response

    Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hello, thanks for taking the time to review and share with us! Please know, we take your concerns seriously and would love to connect with you so that we can help. Please reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to talk more with us.

  3. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Good Job, probably not career

    Mar 19, 2021 - Pet Training Instructor in Woodbridge, VA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Cares about animals, Positive training methods

    Cons

    Low Pay, pressure for sales

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    PetSmart Response

    Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention and would love to connect via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to see if we can help.

  4. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Terrible Company

    Feb 18, 2021 - Pet Training Instructor 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Working with animals, coworkers with similar ideals

    Cons

    Company policies, management, pay, favoritism

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    PetSmart Response

    Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Hi! Thanks for taking the time to review. We'd enjoy getting to speak to you further about a few of the things you mentioned above, as this is not in line with our values. Please feel free to reach out to the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693.

  5. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Gotta Love Dogs AND People

    Jan 16, 2021 - Pet Training Instructor II in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get hourly pay plus commission and room for growth.

    Cons

    You can't train the dogs yourself; you have to be able to communicate well enough to teach people how to train their own dogs.

    1 person found this review helpful
  6. 4.0
    Current Employee

    Saving Lives

    Dec 5, 2020 - Pet Training Instructor in Walla Walla, WA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great protocol, great attitudes and well informed staff that care about each other and their work. The mission to save lives through training is my main reason for wanting to join Petsmart.

    Cons

    Not much room to grow. Not many hours.

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    PetSmart Response

    Associate Employment Brand Manager

    We appreciate you taking the time to share your life at PetSmart with us. Please know, you can also share your thoughts with us via the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you for all that you do while at PetSmart for the love of pets!

  7. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    A Good First Job

    Oct 12, 2020 - Pet Training Instructor in Round Rock, TX
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the pros include: dogs, lots of dogs. The discount was decent if you have pets of your own. Great introduction to dog training jobs.

    Cons

    I had to run the entire pet training department by myself and was constantly nagged about my sales even though I was almost always over. The rest of the employees did not help with pet training sales at all and expected me to able to help them whenever they needed, despite the fact that I already had an entire department to run.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    PetSmart Response

    Associate Employment Brand Manager

    Thank you for the past few years of bettering the lives of pets! We appreciate all of your hard work but would love to connect with you via CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693 to discuss further so we can help. Thanks for taking the time!

  8. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Pet Training is not a priority.

    Nov 28, 2019 - Pet Training Instructor in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Teaching group and private classes. Helping dogs of all ages.

    Cons

    Mangers are moved from store to store frequently. Pet Training is not treated as a priority by some managers. Most managers do not understand canine behavior or what actually happens in a pet training class. Trainers are required to meet sales quotas. Trainers are treated like utilitarian employees and often cannot perform pet training tasks because the stores are intentionally short staffed at the direction of the corporate office. Trainers are often interrupted while teaching to provide assistance to other customers. Overall, trainers generally do not get the support from management and staff necessary to meet sales goals, and the job can be dangerous because dogs are often placed in group classes by managers and staff members that are not safe to be around other dogs and people.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    PetSmart Response

    Social Media Community Manager

    Thank you for bringing your experience to our attention. We'd like to understand more, as the safety of the pets in our store and our associates are our #1 priorities. Please contact the CareSmart line at 1-800-738-4693. Thank you, again.

  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Dogs

    Jul 21, 2019 - Training in New Orleans, LA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    You get PTO and sick time as well as mental health days

    Cons

    Always cleaning company always gives discount to customers no matter how big the customer wants it

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Pet Training Instructor III

    Aug 19, 2017 - Pet Training Instructor III in Simi Valley, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I enjoyed my time instructing classes, roaming the aisles to help "pet parents" find the products they needed. As a training instructor (who went through PS's training program but also had many years' experience prior), I was largely the top source & go-to for other associates in the store regarding training equipment, behavioral issues, even cat problems. It's a great feeling knowing you've had a hand in helping a pet become the best version of their self & hopefully have their best chance at staying in their current & forever home. As for pay, the base sakary could always be better, but commission is the meat of our paycheck. Know your customers, learn your products, have a canine "assistant" wandering the store with you to work on behaviors as you go about the store...Everything helps. There can be slower times of the year, but It's up to us to get the sales in.

    Cons

    Other associates not knowing much beyond the very basic of basics, sometimes giving misinformation or being unable to help with class signups in the trainers' absence.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 33 Reviews

Popular Careers with PetSmart Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at PetSmart? Share Your Experiences

PetSmart logo
or