Peterbilt Motors Company Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Peterbilt Motors Company Reviews

Updated 20 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
69%
Recommend to a Friend
56%
Approve of CEO
Peterbilt Motors Company CEO Mark Piggott (no image)
Mark Piggott
41 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "As a publicly traded company, Paccar is driven to meet or exceed the guidance that it provides to the market(in 4 reviews)

  • "(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Culture not Great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Denton, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peterbilt Motors Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Solid Company, it makes money. Lots of great people. offers pension

    Cons

    Not diverse. close knit culture either you in the club or you are not. Hourly employees make as much as a lot of the managers or more. Good for hourly folks but not for new managers.

    Advice to Management

    Management reminds me of the republican party not a lot of diversity! "the We have always done it that way" mentality needs to go. be open to new ideas of doing things.

    Peterbilt Motors Company2019-12-20
  2. "Foreman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Foreman in Columbia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peterbilt Motors Company

    Pros

    Very nice co workers there.

    Cons

    Pay could have been better

    Peterbilt Motors Company2019-10-03
  3. "Solid place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Paint Technician 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Peterbilt Motors Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great salary. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Potential of getting laid-off. Nepotism reigns supreme.

    Peterbilt Motors Company2019-08-22
  4. "Tech fix trucks and lie"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Technician in Cornwall, ON
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peterbilt Motors Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    None. Hollidays days off and weekends

    Cons

    Full of drama and all management were back st

    Advice to Management

    Go back and learn were you come from

    Peterbilt Motors Company2019-08-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Love my job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assembly Line Worker in Denton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peterbilt Motors Company part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Part time work at well over full time pay

    Cons

    1 am - 6 am

    Advice to Management

    Train employees in more than one area

    Peterbilt Motors Company2019-06-20
  6. "Diesel Service Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Peterbilt Motors Company full-time

    Pros

    The company is great to work for. It is great experience in the field.

    Cons

    All tools must be bought by the employee. Most of the work is done outside in the elements which can but blisteringly hot or cold. This is being fixed soon with renovations.

    Advice to Management

    Sometimes the managers pester you about the job and sometimes gets in the way.

    Peterbilt Motors Company2019-05-16
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Engineering deserves more respect from other functions and the management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Peterbilt Motors Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Perceived stability (however it is a pressure cooker)

    Cons

    For the amount of involvement, work load and responsibility, Engineering does not get the due respect that they so well deserve. Engineers are accused, blamed and looked down upon. If ANYTHING goes wrong, it is always the fault of Engineering or the Supplier. Other functions do not seem to take up much ownership. Because of this many good old Engineers are demoralized. Stress levels are very high among Engineers who are committed, show ownership and feel the need to do the right thing.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You have done so much recently to attract new employees. What have you done to the people who have worked for so long, gone above and beyond during many occasions by working so many extra hours ? The new vacation policy does not benefit the old timers in any way ! Is that fair ?

    Peterbilt Motors Company2019-04-01
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Intern in Dallas, TX

    I worked at Peterbilt Motors Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Really great team to work with

    Cons

    There was none for me

    Peterbilt Motors Company2019-02-11
  9. "Lied to me"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Tech 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Peterbilt Motors Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Knowledgeable peers, nice facility, uniforms provided

    Cons

    They hired me on the premise that I'd be a full-time employee. They had a backlog when I and two others started working there. Within 4 months we reduced the backlog back to acceptable numbers and then they let us go. Completely unethical business practice. If they want temporary workers, they should have said so in the beginning and been upfront. Be careful for snakey service managers.

    Advice to Management

    Be honest!

    Peterbilt Motors Company2019-02-06
  10. "Great job. Opportunity to move around and see different areas of the truck"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Advanced Manufacturing Engineer in Denton, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Peterbilt Motors Company for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very flexible company. 3 weeks Vacation With roll over Flex time

    Cons

    Pay increase are slow to come

    Peterbilt Motors Company2018-10-08
Found 97 reviews