Phaidon International Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Phaidon International Reviews

Updated Sep 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 223 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Phaidon International CEO Harry Youtan (no image)
Harry Youtan
141 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Commission Structure is right at the top end of the Recruitment industry, if you work hard, you can make life-changing amounts of money(in 23 reviews)

  • "Working at Phaidon has brought me to reimagine my potential(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours- standard in the sector(in 48 reviews)

  • "Standard base salary for a recruiting position (where you will make the majority of your money will be through commission)(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "A great team!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Finance in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Constantly rewarding, you are made to feel valued, great leadership, fast paced and dynamic. The management team are very caring to the employees and get on very well with everyone. They are committed to achieving the goals and objectives that they set.

    Cons

    More IT support could be made avaliable.

    Advice to Management

    As the company grows, which no doubt that they will, keep a close bond with all employees to keep that family feel constant.

    Phaidon International2019-09-03

    Phaidon International Response

    September 10, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your review, we value your feedback! We are pleased to hear that you've had a positive experience working at Phaidon. We take great pride in creating an environment where all employees are able to grow and succeed, whether in sales or support functions. Maintaining ...

    Show More
  2. Helpful (1)

    "One of our employees just bought a house at 25 years of age. Who wouldn't want that?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A strong sense of purpose generated by a CEO who really knows the business model and sets out compelling career opportunities for those who want them. - Strong culture, really good training, clear achievable career paths, a global mind-set with so many employees moving around the world to advance their careers, good fun and a ridiclous amount of incentives - you will learn how to sell i na consultative... manner, how to manage the end to end recruitment process and the nuances of an industry sector. - what our consultants do matters we help people achieve their career goals and companies grow. - loads of overseas/interstate client visits - early responsibility - an absolute meritocracy- if you are good, you will advance, if you are exceptional, you will rocket

    Show More

    Cons

    1) If you rail against learning a proven business model and have an aversion to applying a proven process this will not be for you. Don't get me wrong- Phaidon loves innovators - however within our operating model. 2) If you do not like hard work - talking- listening and engaging with people this is not for you 3) if you want a three hour lunch break to use the gym, this is not the place.

    Advice to Management

    Share more success stories - there are so many awesome ones

    Phaidon International2019-08-16
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good atmosphere-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, management and training- strong career progression and earning potential

    Cons

    Long hours and have to be really money motivated else it gets tedious

    Phaidon International2019-08-14

    Phaidon International Response

    August 20, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback! You've highlighted areas that are very important to us, we strive to create an environment where every employee has the opportunity to be developed, be part of a growing company and build successful careers.

  4. Helpful (2)

    "It's recruitment - don't expect anything amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent commission structure, fast progression if you are successful. Personally I received support after a slow start. I was able to succeed and achieve personal goals. Pretty good incentives - lunch clubs, early leaves and so on - but almost all are/were focused around a drink culture. If it's not for you and you don't take part then there was no alternatives. Closing a deal is a great feeling.

    Cons

    As many have mentioned, work/life balance is practically impossible. I would come home knackered pretty much every day. There is an expectation to do "busy work", rather than achieve what is needed during the day and be happy with that. It causes burnout. Your experience is highly dependent on your direct management and team. I was lucky in that I had a good manager and team, but of those who started with me (20+... in a month during a growth surge) only two are now there. Make of that what you will. The L&D team were quite chaotic during my time there, but appeared to have got it together now. They were good, but it meant that they only had time for one-to-one sessions with people struggling, rather than putting on training courses for those of us who were seeking management positions.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    More training, even though it takes people off desk. Consultants and management don't need someone breathing down their neck 24/7 in order to do their work, and the more training that they are given the better they'll be in the long run. I did see this taking effect with junior consultants more before I left, to be fair.

    Phaidon International2019-08-22
  5. "Work Hard - Play Hard"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    Phaidon is one of the most fun places that I've ever worked at. There's a real team/family atmosphere here with everyone looking out for one another and helping each other along the way. The managers really care about the business and their teams which makes a huge difference. With senior managers being here for quite a while, you would think it's standard, everything is the same but they're honestly so open minded... and open to change which is so refreshing. If you're willing to put in the hard work and effort Phaidon is the place for you, but it's honestly not for everyone. You need a real back bone and to be very resilient but the hard work pays off!

    Show More

    Cons

    Okay work life balance isn't great but this is London and it's a given. In my mind, this is why people move to London, to work hard and earn the big bucks.

    Phaidon International2019-08-08

    Phaidon International Response

    August 20, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your review, your feedback is important to us! We are thrilled to hear that you are enjoying your time at Phaidon. We believe that everyone has the potential to be successful, learn valuable skills, build lasting relationships and have fun along the way! Our leaders ...

    Show More
  6. Helpful (1)

    "would avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    strong culture, people you meet here will become your closest friends, great opportunities if you succeed

    Cons

    Backstabbing, untrustworthy management. when you are down you will be grilled down further. about 30% of people who start here will seek counselling to deal with the outrageous pressure that present

    Advice to Management

    be more transparent

    Phaidon International2019-08-07

    Phaidon International Response

    August 20, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your review, we value your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you have formed positive and lasting relationships during your time with us. You may be aware that in recent months we have introduced a number of initiatives to drive a positive workplace culture, it ...

    Show More
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with a Director such as Lee Wilsher is fantastic. He listens to our needs and makes sure we are happy coming into work. Working in a sales environment can be difficult especially if you're not used to working in such a fast-paced environment. However, knowing you have support from Directors and them understanding how difficult the job can be day to day helps. Phaidon will teach you life skills which you... can use in any environment. We are given the flexibility too and treated very professionally. The ethos of the company is great and if you're loyal you have the company behind you. We work in a very close nit team and were literally like family and the teams are very diverse. Phaidon also supports diversity and will make everyone feel welcome.

    Show More

    Cons

    Intense environment and targets. Very achievable on the other hand

    Advice to Management

    Understand individuals needs

    Phaidon International2019-07-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Very enjoyable place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent place to work in London

    Cons

    none, I have no cons for this job

    Phaidon International2019-07-10
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent Company to work for - provides the perfect platform to be successful."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training is the best in the industry, providing one-to-one assistance on making everyone the best. The fast-paced buzzing office environment pushes people to be the best they possibly can. The career progression is well structured so that you can set realistic targets to work your way up the ladder. The offices in London are in a great location, right in the middle of the city. The Commission Structure... is right at the top end of the Recruitment industry, if you work hard, you can make life-changing amounts of money.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you are not an ambitious individual, I would look elsewhere. If you want to be successful, working for Phaidon is brilliant. You will wake up looking forward to work.

    Phaidon International2019-06-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Good opportunities if you are willing to give it everything

    Cons

    Long hours - expected to come in at 7:45am and stay until at least 6:15pm Mentally draining

    Phaidon International2019-07-11

    Phaidon International Response

    July 15, 2019Group Marketing Director

    Thank you for your review and comments. We encourage you to get in touch with your local HR team to discuss how to access our support network. Your wellbeing is our priority and we hope that you get in touch for a face to face meeting or call. Our email is HR@phaidoninternational.com

Found 223 reviews