Phaidon International Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Phaidon International Reviews

Updated 26 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Phaidon International CEO Harry Youtan (no image)
Harry Youtan
168 Ratings
Pros
  • "The Commission Structure is right at the top end of the Recruitment industry, if you work hard, you can make life-changing amounts of money(in 26 reviews)

  • "Work hard play hard environment(in 12 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours don't allow for too much of a work life balance(in 63 reviews)

  • "If that is something you feel you're not prepared for then a role with Phaidon may not be appealing to you(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company, great opportunities and great progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My time at Phaidon International over the last two years have been excellent. I started as a graduate straight out of university and now lead a team and responsibility for profitability. I have the opportunity to go on business trips, have my own clients and earning potential that former peers of mine at university have not and will not achieve for a long-time on traditional graduate schemes. The training is unparalleled and I still frequently have training 2 years in! I work in a meritocratic environment, where hard work and talent are compensated fairly and everyone gets the same treatment. Yes, things could be more modern, but the important things for a recruitment role (commission, rewards, and growth) are all where they should be. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a Sales based role and want to get excellent training in an enjoyable environment.

    Cons

    No major cons, with the exception of: 1. IT - infrastructure could be massively improved (which is something that is happening now). Sometimes it holds back productivity 2. Working hours are long (but this isn't a problem you can do anything about) 3. Modernizing the workplace - for example, allow people to work from home on a Friday or when they need to - many recruitment companies do this already.

    Continue reading
    Phaidon International2019-10-03
  2. "Still love my job, my colleagues and my company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    A great business where you can truly develop a career. A business that cares about its staff A business that has and continues to mature Fantastic people work here It’s actually fun Good money Great opportunities - just ask for them Requests and acts on feedback

    Cons

    It’s hard work, that’s not a Phaidon thing that’s an industry thing. But any job where you earn the money you can earn here requires hard work. At least you are valued and rewarded here. Hours are longer than some jobs but 8-6 isn’t actually that bad 4 days per week

    Continue reading
    Phaidon International2019-11-07
  3. "They let people get away with anything"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There is good money to be made if you work hard and most of the people are really nice. Depends on what manager you get.

    Cons

    They let people get away with literally anything. There are guys in the business who have sexually harrassed multiple women in the business and talk disgustingly about women but still have a job there because they bring in money. It's awful. Racism also doesn't seem to matter too as long as you're bringing in money to the company.

    Continue reading
    Phaidon International2020-03-26
  4. "Money should be your only priority here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Commission is competitive at least

    Cons

    Sweatshop Recruitment is putting it nicely

    Continue reading
    Phaidon International2020-03-17
  5. "Lots to improve on"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A real opportunity to earn a large amount of money and advance your career very quickly. Strong training programmes throughout your time.

    Cons

    Very rigid structure, poor flexibility. Successful people tend to get away with anything, if they are a bad egg but bring in money, lot's of the negatives get overlooked.

    Continue reading
    Phaidon International2020-01-10
  6. "Mixed Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Good social environment - Decent training and support

    Cons

    - High micro management environment - Long hours, high KPI and too much pressure on quantity rather than quality - Massively high turn over - Hire and fire situation. - Intense management

    Phaidon International2020-01-03
  7. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good vibe. Earn decent money

    Cons

    Long hours and expected to work outside of those

    Continue reading
    Phaidon International2019-12-06
  8. "Great company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Great company culture. Competitive but supportive within brands - Unrivaled commission structure - Instant exposure to global businesses and senior candidates/ clients in the industry - Great incentive schemes; lunch clubs, summer holidays, vegas trip, rolex and weekly competitions within teams - Easily commutable within London

    Cons

    - Long work hours but if you want a job in the City, that is part of the deal - Starting salary isn't the best so starting out can be tough. Once you are up and running, the commission structure is so good that the base stops being as relevant

    Continue reading
    Phaidon International2019-11-07
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - Rewarded for hard work - Good benefits package

    Cons

    - Can be very long hours

    Phaidon International2019-11-04
  10. "Enabling Exceptional Careers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Acquisition Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Vibrant, energetic and successful environment. High expectations for high rewards.

    Cons

    The free coffee could be nicer

    Phaidon International2019-10-17
Found 256 reviews