Phaidon International "long hours" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Phaidon International Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
72%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Phaidon International CEO Harry Youtan (no image)
Harry Youtan
145 Ratings
Pros
  • "unlimited commission structure for sales staff(in 24 reviews)

  • "Phaidon is one of the most fun places that I've ever worked at(in 21 reviews)

Cons
  • "Long hours and have to be really money motivated else it gets tedious(in 54 reviews)

  • "Don't get me wrong- Phaidon loves innovators - however within our operating model(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review

    "Great company, great opportunities and great progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My time at Phaidon International over the last two years have been excellent. I started as a graduate straight out of university and now lead a team and responsibility for profitability. I have the opportunity to go on business trips, have my own clients and earning potential that former peers of mine at university have not and will not achieve for a long-time on traditional graduate schemes. The training is... unparalleled and I still frequently have training 2 years in! I work in a meritocratic environment, where hard work and talent are compensated fairly and everyone gets the same treatment. Yes, things could be more modern, but the important things for a recruitment role (commission, rewards, and growth) are all where they should be. I would highly recommend to anyone looking for a Sales based role and want to get excellent training in an enjoyable environment.

    Show More

    Cons

    No major cons, with the exception of: 1. IT - infrastructure could be massively improved (which is something that is happening now). Sometimes it holds back productivity 2. Working hours are long (but this isn't a problem you can do anything about) 3. Modernizing the workplace - for example, allow people to work from home on a Friday or when they need to - many recruitment companies do this already.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing, keep promoting from within and keep focussing on rewarding loyalty and hard work

    Phaidon International2019-10-03
  2. "Unrivaled Progression"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    There is few if any roles out there where by 26 Years of age you can earn the money you can earn here and get given the responsibility you can. 5 Years in the business and I have a team of 15+ with a view to grow this to double

    Cons

    Naturally long hours which means you may have to sacrifice other commitments, but that's part and parcel of recruitment.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing and creating the clear pathways for people from associate to AD's!

    Phaidon International2019-10-04

    Phaidon International Response

    October 15, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback, we are so pleased to read that you are thriving in your career with us! We are immensely proud of our employees who go from graduates to leaders within the business and are excited to see this continue in the future.

  3. "Great place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Continuous Learning Great Client Base Good pay Great Incentives Cool office Great location International opportunities Support to succeed from people across the business

    Cons

    Long hours... but that's recruitment and that's why we get paid so well.

    Advice to Management

    Keep investing in your people and continue to help us all grow and develop

    Phaidon International2019-10-03

    Phaidon International Response

    October 15, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your review, we value your feedback! We are pleased to hear that your time with us is positive and we hope that this continues as you grow and progress in the business. We continue to develop our culture and work environment so that all our employees are supported to achieve their full potential.

    Show Less
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Good atmosphere-"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good atmosphere, management and training- strong career progression and earning potential

    Cons

    Long hours and have to be really money motivated else it gets tedious

    Phaidon International2019-08-14

    Phaidon International Response

    August 20, 2019HR Director

    Thank you for your feedback! You've highlighted areas that are very important to us, we strive to create an environment where every employee has the opportunity to be developed, be part of a growing company and build successful careers.

  5. Helpful (1)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay Good opportunities if you are willing to give it everything

    Cons

    Long hours - expected to come in at 7:45am and stay until at least 6:15pm Mentally draining

    Phaidon International2019-07-11

    Phaidon International Response

    July 15, 2019Group Marketing Director

    Thank you for your review and comments. We encourage you to get in touch with your local HR team to discuss how to access our support network. Your wellbeing is our priority and we hope that you get in touch for a face to face meeting or call. Our email is HR@phaidoninternational.com

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work - have to be prepare to hit it hard though"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great support and training, really knowledgable managers and just generally a fun environment to work in where hard work is rewarded.

    Cons

    Long hours - but it is standard

    Phaidon International2019-06-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Great assessment experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time

    Pros

    money. the people were lovely. The office was lovely.

    Cons

    The first 12 months is very hard work it would seem but they were honest about that. The hours are long.

    Phaidon International2019-05-02
  8. "Great place to work -"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Culture, business model, opportunities, training and learning, personal earnings based on performance and success. Work with people with lots of character and high energy and standards. Such a great feeling when you place someone into a great job and literally change the candidates life, and fill the clients role and they thank you your work. You get immense real world business skills in every area you can imagine.

    Cons

    Hours you put in will create a work-life imbalance. But building and starting a career and generating success needs this commitment initially, so be prepared to work hard to support your customers. Competition is fierce in this industry, be prepared to get very competitive. (hence the long hours required sometimes). Horrible feeling when you dont fill your clients vacancy after all that hard work. Its a steep... learning curve and job can be repetitive work at times...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Better Coffee machines pls. Healthier vending machines. More consistent focus on happiness and well being given the hours spent in a chair at a desk....

    Phaidon International2019-01-07
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Phaidon International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good for young grads as there are many people on the same position you can relate to. You can progress fast if you want to. Social company

    Cons

    Cut throat environment. Very low basic salary compared to other companies in the sector. They're not also not very diligent at processing pay rises. Quantity over quality approach. Not collaborative Very "laddy" culture, not particularly professional. Very long hours. I often found myself regularly working 8am-8pm . Their approach to hiring is to hire a big group of people with the expectation... that over half will leave.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Maybe hire experienced managers rather than expecting anyone who's hit their principal target to take on responsibility they're not ready for.

    Phaidon International2018-11-26
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Young but established and growing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Phaidon International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Unbelievable earning potential. Clear progression and training structure. Clear company growth and opportunity. Ambitious, driven, culture

    Cons

    Low base salary (but high comms). Long hours- standard in the sector. It's a young and diverse workforce with all the pros and cons that go with that. If you're not a high achiever you can get left behind.

    Advice to Management

    More support, training and guidance for new managers.

    Phaidon International2018-08-25
Found 232 reviews