Philip Morris International Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Philip Morris International Reviews

Updated 6 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Philip Morris International Chief Executive Officer André Calantzopoulos
André Calantzopoulos
535 Ratings
Pros
Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "International, scientific, breaktrough and dynamic working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    International, innovative, dynamic, professionals stimulating and oriented to costumers

    Cons

    Lines of communication, double roles, not clear hierarchy

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2020-01-15

    Philip Morris International Response

    January 24, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi, there. Thank you for your 5-star review! We are happy to know that you are enjoying the company transformation and that you are professionally stimulated in your role. Our people are our greatest asset, and we want to ensure we can provide them with a positive work environment and career development. We are sorry to hear that the hierarchy and communication lines are unclear. We would advise you to speak to your line manager or HR contact regarding these issues. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We wish you the best of luck with your future career and why don't you stay updated by following us on social media @InsidePMI.

    Continue reading
  2. "Great company to work with!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Executive in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic management, trust you to do the job well Friendly people to work with innovative company Great work life balance Targets are very achievable and work with exciting products.

    Cons

    Development opportunities mostly in London Progression can be slow

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2020-02-13

    Philip Morris International Response

    February 21, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi, there. Thank you for your 5-star review! We are very happy to know that you enjoyed working at PMI and feel that the management were fantastic and co-workers were friendly. Our people are our greatest asset, and we want to ensure we can provide them with a positive work environment and career development. It is also great to read that you would recommend us to your peers! However, we are sorry to hear that you feel that progression can be slow. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We wish you the best of luck with your future career and why don't you stay updated by following us on social media @InsidePMI.

    Continue reading
  3. "New purpose with smoke-free products, exciting times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Counsel 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New purpose to deliver smoke-free products jumpstarted a need to address the culture and explore new ways of working. People are generally collaborative, cross functional work is encouraged. Plenty of opportunities to learn on the job and to attend training

    Cons

    Hierarchical and siloed organisation in general. Promotion and opportunities for career growth are available but performance reviews are opaque. Cost pressure due to lower sales volumes results in budget cuts

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2020-02-18

    Philip Morris International Response

    March 9, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi, there. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review! We are very proud to see that you enjoyed the company transformation, your work environment and that you felt professionally stimulated in your role. Our people are our greatest asset, and we want to ensure we can provide them with a positive work environment and career development. We take good note of your comment regarding hierarchy at the workplace and budget cuts. Thank you for your honest opinion. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We wish you the best of luck with your future career and why don't you stay updated by following us on social media @InsidePMI.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Inexperienced Management, Misleading/Fake role description"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Consumer Engagement Executive in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Higher salaries compared to other companies, as nobody wants to work in the tabacco business.

    Cons

    Inexperienced Management. Misleading/Fake role description - I had 3 interviews with Philip Morris, they gave me a fake job description as they did not mention that the role involved standing in a retail shop the entire day, approaching smokers and enrolling them to try IQOS. The management did not mention that the job involved "educating retailers" which in reality means bribing them to sell IQOS in exchange for money vouchers, ipads and airpads. When I expressed my concern with doing this and standing in a store the entire day they terminated my contract, so they could cover the company from giving me the wrong job description, making me quit my job and for lying to me. There is no progression. People I worked with had been in the same role for over 5 years. The company is not making enough profit from IQOS but only from selling normal cigarettes, in the UK, still killing loads of people around the world.

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2020-03-18

    Philip Morris International Response

    March 27, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hello, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We are truly sorry to hear you were not happy with your overall experience working at PMI, and that you felt the job description was not clear. We strive to create a dialogue and are saddened to hear you felt misled. At Philip Morris, our aim is to ensure that every voice is heard, so we take your comments very seriously and thank you for your honesty. We wish you continued success in the future and thanks again for taking the time to leave us a review.

    Continue reading
  5. "good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Commercial Paint Estimator 

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time

    Pros

    salary time position team location

    Cons

    location stress workload paperwork timeline

    Philip Morris International2020-01-11

    Philip Morris International Response

    January 17, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi there! Thank you so much for leaving us such a pleasant review. We're very proud to see such a high overall score, and that you've enjoyed all aspects of your work so far! We understand though that managing your workload can be stressful, and we are aiming for a satisfying work-life balance for our employees. To find out more we'd encourage you to follow us @InsidePMI or to speak to your Supervisor or Line Manager. Thanks again for taking the time to leave us your feedback!

    Continue reading
  6. "A happy place to work and learn!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Budget and Forecast Analyst in Hammersmith, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Salary, Work/life balance, Cultur, Managers

    Cons

    Cannot think of any! I really enjoyed my time here.

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2019-12-08

    Philip Morris International Response

    January 17, 2020Philip Morris International

    Hi there! We really appreciate you taking the time to leave such a nice review! It's great to see that you've enjoyed all aspects of work within your time at PMI, and we wish you all the best in your future career. Maybe you'd be interested in following us @InsidePMI to stay in touch with what we're up to, to keep an eye on possible opportunities or just to see how we're doing with our smoke-free vision.

    Continue reading
  7. "Would recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern 

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly atmosphere, helpful seniors

    Cons

    At times there was little work for interns

    Philip Morris International2019-11-18

    Philip Morris International Response

    December 23, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a five-star review! We are glad to hear you are enjoying from the friendly atmosphere and feel you are able to benefit from all levels of the team. This is one of our main goals that we aim to achieve within each department across the company. Furthermore, it's great to see that you would recommend us. Why not follow us on social media @insidePMI to stay tuned! :) We thank you again for your time and wish you all the best!

    Continue reading
  8. "Lots of great perks and facilities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Organisation Analytics Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Amazing office, good pay, exciting vision for the future

    Cons

    Everyone is busy, not a great company history

    Philip Morris International2019-11-18

    Philip Morris International Response

    December 23, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hello and thank you for leaving us a positive review and for your feedback. We are happy that you are enjoying your the benefits PMI has to offer! We are indeed, as you know, going through a massive transformation, and this does generate a lot of changes. We hope that this can be balanced by the exciting challenge of working together towards delivering a smoke-free future! Why not follow us on social media @insidepmi to stay up-to-date on our latest news. We thank you again for your time to write a review.

    Continue reading
  9. "Treat staff like gold dust!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Development Manager 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, treated very well, fantastic job opportunities

    Cons

    Could sometimes overlook a talented person 8f they didn't fit with middle management

    Philip Morris International2019-11-07

    Philip Morris International Response

    November 15, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hi, there. Thank you for your 5-star review. We are happy to know that you enjoyed the benefits we have to offer and the way you were treated during your time at PMI. Our people are our greatest asset, and we want to ensure we can provide them with a positive work environment and career development. We also strive to create a fair environment and are sorry to hear you felt this way. Once again, thank you for taking the time to leave us your review. We wish you the best of luck with your future career and why don't you stay updated by following us on social media @InsidePMI.

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "IT London total dissappointment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - DevOps Lead in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Philip Morris International full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits are not bad. Are not the best one but are competitive in the market

    Cons

    London IT management should be totally removed. I worked in a different location for a few years and I had a good experience in the company. Since I accepted to be relocated to London, I only face lies, doble standard management asking you to follow rules that does not apply to them, etc. It is a shame a company, that always focus in having a good behavior with the employes, is trying to set a new office with management that think is able to hide they lack of experience and knowledge by misstreating people. It is fair to mention, Philip Morris has the local company and also Philip morris international is having now the PMI global studio. This review is about PMI global studio IT. I had no contact with local company but I strongly suggest to run away of any job in the global studio related with IT. I am doing it myself and I wish I knew it before to take this job.

    Continue reading
    Philip Morris International2019-11-18

    Philip Morris International Response

    December 23, 2019Philip Morris International

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Despite the fact that you appreciated the company benefits, we are truly sorry to hear that you are disappointed with the overall experience. We understand that our industry is a challenging one to work in especially during this transition time, and so some decision-making might take time. Should you be facing any doubts or issues, please do not hesitate to go talk to your line manager or your HR contact person. Thank you again for taking the time to leave us a review!

    Continue reading
Found 1073 reviews