Planet Fitness Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Planet Fitness Reviews

Updated Dec 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
54%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Planet Fitness CEO Chris Rondeau
Chris Rondeau
447 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "low pay and not much room for growth(in 107 reviews)

  • "Upper management sometimes makes decisions without thinking(in 62 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Dall, Scotland
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness

    Pros

    Very good Company and nice work environment

    Cons

    low salary and no advancement opportunity

    Planet Fitness2015-03-05
  2. "Tons of Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity for advancement, you don't have to have tons of experience Leadership development programs Flexible schedules Understanding and helpful upper management

    Cons

    24/7, so you are often on call

    Planet Fitness2019-12-05
  3. "Awesome job during college"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist in Crown Point, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice easy going environment where you were able to hang out and talk to members

    Cons

    Just like any other entry level job people constantly call off so you have to cover

    Advice to Management

    Push the manager training more

    Planet Fitness2019-11-18
  4. "A good job...but"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Member Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun work environment, free gym membership, and meeting lots of cool people while learning about the fitness industry. We got a raise every quarter (had to be approved by corporate) and we had team building every quarter

    Cons

    High turnover, dealing with angry people when billing occurs, and sometimes managers don't lead by example

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up but stay consistent

    Planet Fitness2019-12-02
  5. "Great College Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible hours for school or college, easy job, decent pay, benefits if full time, met wonderful people here, generally love all my coworkers.

    Cons

    Silly policies, disgusting/rude members, if someone didn’t show up for their overnight shift the other person had to work by themself and screwed everyone else.

    Advice to Management

    Letting members get away with being rude and disgusting is going to cause employees to leave at a much faster rate or refuse to clean at all. We don’t get paid enough to be picking up human feces off the gym floor and unclog toilets full of massive amounts of tissue paper. Members need to be held accountable for their actions and show respect to other members and staff.

    Planet Fitness2019-11-16
  6. "It’s okay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good management and working conditions

    Cons

    Long hours poor compensation

    Planet Fitness2019-11-28
  7. "Cool Part Time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Agent 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time

    Pros

    Easy, nice pay, meet fun people

    Cons

    Management was not the best

    Planet Fitness2019-11-14
  8. "Part-time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great management and create relationships with members.

    Cons

    Pretty strict but only because they want to make sure all employees are doing their job

    Planet Fitness2019-11-11
  9. "Awesome job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love my job here at planet fitness! Deff can grow with this company

    Cons

    I don’t have any cons I love my job

    Planet Fitness2019-11-10
  10. "I'm a dreamer, but Planet Fitness has low ceilings."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Personal Trainer 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Membership, good experience with a wide variety of clients.

    Cons

    Limited space to train, clients want fun big classes and there isn't anywhere to do it without interrupting other members workouts. Also pay is low for trainers but you get the experience.

    Advice to Management

    Trainers wont ever stay long if they are making so close to minimum wage. When you can make $60 an hour per person and my clients are asking me to train outside the limited space in the gym, makes it hard to want to stay making so little.

    Planet Fitness2019-11-07
Found 1483 reviews