Planet Fitness "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Planet Fitness Reviews

Updated 30 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
56%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
Planet Fitness CEO Chris Rondeau
Chris Rondeau
470 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Judgement Free Zone does not extend to employees."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Front Desk Associate in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness

    Pros

    Amenities. Clean. Members are kind. Planet fitness offers great rates for membershipsale with amazing amenities.

    Cons

    No compassion for health of employees from upper management. I was also told that I was doing a great job and there was not only ever single warning about anything I could improve on. I had a dental emergency, my shift was covered and I had a doctor's note......they fired me for taking care of myself after approving and stating that it was OK and that I had nothing to worry about. It was dishonest. The staff also speaks horribly about their guests. Examples would be things that slander or are mean spirited while guest walk away. Cursing about the customer because they need service, and complaint about the customer. It was upsetting get to witness. Then to top it off I was fired after receiving clearance for my emergency. It was humiliating, unexpected, and I feel like it was personal.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2016-07-26
  2. "Simple Job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Front Desk Associate 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free Black Card, Co-workers are somewhat cool, Easy work

    Cons

    Minimum wage to start. Upper management expects things to be perfect, expect to clean a lot and often. PT cant work more than 28 hours

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2016-04-27
  3. "easy part time job for a college student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Planet Fitness part-time

    Pros

    it is a really easy job, working overnights is the best because the gym is slow. able to get homework done during downtimes.

    Cons

    you are not seen as nothing more than a number, per se, in the eyes of upper management. There is a lot of favoritism involved but overall with immediate management employees are treated fairly.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-11-11
  4. "Front desk and assistant manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Carle Place, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Get place to meet new people fun co workers easy job if you go in with a good mind frame and know it's just a job not a career

    Cons

    Someone the worst upper management i would get calls from 3-5 different people about what that should be done but was already done. The pay sucks and the managers really get thrown under the bus for everything.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-10-08
  5. "Cool job, if you're in school!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk in Hialeah, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Gets you motivated to workout and talk to amazing people with goals everyday.

    Cons

    No Growth Lousy Management Weak Pay The managers are by far the worst i have ever worked for. I could have done their job 10x better but saw how shady the upper management are and never took the offer to become manager.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-10-21
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Club is great, corporate is not"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Overnight Desk Associate in Bethel, CT
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Planet Fitness for less than a year

    Pros

    The management and staff are amazing and make working at my club so much fun. The members are inspiring and I love working at the gym that I was a member at for over a year beforehand. I appreciate it so much more now.

    Cons

    Corporate will make you want to quit every day. They treat everyone, even management, like children and think they know more about running your gym than you do. Also, everyone in corporate looks like they have never worked out a day in their life so it's hard to take their advice seriously. They're also cheap and won't let any employee work over 39 hours because then they have to pay overtime. This means that any hours that need to be filled due to employees quitting or calling out, are filled by upper management.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-09-20
  7. "Former General Manager Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time

    Pros

    If you love working in the health and fitness industry, PF is not a bad place to work. It's a relatively easy and laid back job.

    Cons

    There are too many chiefs. Too many upper management bosses to report to. Both in franchise and at the corporate level. PF's annual fees to their members are just a way to get more money and putting up with customer complaints three times a year over one annual fee is close to ridiculous. Also no benefits besides a week's worth of paid vacation time.

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-10-07
  8. "Growing Company but no room for you!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Member Service Representative in Boston, MA

    I have been working at Planet Fitness for more than a year

    Pros

    It is not a challenging job, I love my coworkers, and I love the members. It was easy to earn a raise.

    Cons

    Hard to move up, Upper Management does not care about employees

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-08-27
  9. "Rough....."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Club Management 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Building relationships with hard working people...free gym membership. That's about it................................

    Cons

    No support from upper management, if your not liked they find a way to get rid of you, long hours, awful pay for what your responsible for

    Continue reading
    Planet Fitness2015-08-21
  10. "General Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    General Manager in Cary, NC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Planet Fitness for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good staff, Good atmosphere, members are fun and nice to talk to.

    Cons

    Long hours, have to fight for vacation, upper management does nothing to support managers.

    Planet Fitness2015-07-13

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 63 reviews