Plymouth University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Plymouth University Reviews

Updated 26 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
71%
Recommend to a Friend
39%
Approve of CEO
Plymouth University CEO Wendy Purcell
Wendy Purcell
22 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible working hours, being trusted and able to organise your own work day(in 8 reviews)

  • "Good to work for, fun and welcoming environment, enjoyable working environment(in 7 reviews)

Cons
  • "Location: Plymouth is a long way from the South East (4-5 hours on a train)(in 5 reviews)

  • "Previous senior management team left the place in a mess leaving systemic and cultural issues that are taking time to fix(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plymouth University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lovely staff that are supportive

    Cons

    cant fault them. i really like it

    Plymouth University2019-11-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic opportunity to develop your skillset, whilst being a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Plymouth, England

    I worked at Plymouth University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely team Good training Can pick what events you want to work and when you want to work Ambassador Leads are all very friendly

    Cons

    Sometimes very competitive to get a position at a job and therefore you miss out

    Plymouth University2019-10-23
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, good pay

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the moment

    Plymouth University2019-08-14
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work, lots of benefits."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth University full-time

    Pros

    Great team feeling and lots of great benefits when working at the university. Happy to be flexible with hours although I declined this offer and left as personally I am just not made for the 9-5 grind and realised how much I preferred shift work after several months.

    Cons

    Depending on where you work it can be quite focused on targets rather than actual work that you're doing.

    Plymouth University2019-08-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "good wage and decent work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Ambassador 

    I have been working at Plymouth University part-time

    Pros

    they give a good wage and interview process is easy

    Cons

    can sometimes be long and tedious hours

    Plymouth University2019-07-08
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Brilliant place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Accommodation Coordinator 

    I worked at Plymouth University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyed the job ,supportive environment

    Cons

    JOb can sometimes be very stressful

    Plymouth University2019-07-04
  7. "I am a technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plymouth University full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working hours, being trusted and able to organise your own work day.

    Cons

    Communication but that's not surprising considering the size.

    Advice to Management

    Improve transportation between campuses

    Plymouth University2019-05-15
  8. "A very excellent work environment and high respect from the managers."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - IT Support Analyst in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    A very excellent work environment and high respect from the managers. The salary is very reasonable and the working environment is very comfortable and flexible. My personal experience is very excellent for working at the University of Plymouth.

    Cons

    I have not experienced any work-related frustration. I was very comfortable working with the in campus team.

    Advice to Management

    You are doing well. Well done.

    Plymouth University2019-03-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Security Analyst in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plymouth University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good to work for, fun and welcoming environment, enjoyable working environment

    Cons

    Not terribly challenging work, not good job security.

    Plymouth University2019-02-18
  10. "Excellent Place to Work and Study"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Barman in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great events and site management team

    Cons

    Varying hours and shift patterns

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing

    Plymouth University2019-02-18
Found 64 reviews