Plymouth University Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Plymouth University Reviews

Updated 17 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
89%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Plymouth University President Wendy Purcell
Wendy Purcell
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great location of campus, flexible working arrangements, coffee shop meetings, good pay and benefits(in 10 reviews)

  • "Flexible work schedule, good pay(in 8 reviews)

Cons
  • "Location: Plymouth is a long way from the South East (4-5 hours on a train)(in 5 reviews)

  • "Previous senior management team left the place in a mess leaving systemic and cultural issues that are taking time to fix(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fairly good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Information Administrator in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth University part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good pay for the job requirements

    Cons

    Shift work can be inconvenient.

    Plymouth University2020-03-11
  2. "Quiet university, not much pressure, but chaotic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Plymouth University full-time

    Pros

    Less pressure (in my small school) to publish and get grants; smaller student cohort; great location

    Cons

    Chaotic working practices; ill thought out policies; remote location; lack of critical mass of researchers and leaders in field

    Plymouth University2020-03-17
  3. "Overall, a nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lecturer 

    I have been working at Plymouth University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Community ethos, drive, commitment to excellence

    Cons

    Research over teaching, REF focused

    Plymouth University2020-03-01
  4. "Good atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - PhD Graduate Student in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Plymouth University full-time

    Pros

    Flexible working Good team spirit Very international in the labs

    Cons

    Not many bad points to say so far

    Continue reading
    Plymouth University2020-02-24
  5. "Company employee satisfactions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student in Plymouth, England

    I have been working at Plymouth University full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Studying with wide source of database

    Cons

    When we graduate we will have pay for database

    Continue reading
    Plymouth University2020-02-01
  6. "Best place in Plymouth to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Placement Officer 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Plymouth University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great location of campus, flexible working arrangements, coffee shop meetings, good pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Lack of parking nearby, recent redundancies and ongoing threat.

    Plymouth University2020-01-22
  7. "Understaffed and focused only on outputs"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Senior Research Fellow 

    I worked at Plymouth University part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Broad range of academics.

    Cons

    Poor management / leadership. Focused on outputs at the cost of innovation. Poorly resourced - unable to get support in grant writing etc.

    Plymouth University2020-02-05
  8. "love"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Plymouth University full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    lovely staff that are supportive

    Cons

    cant fault them. i really like it

    Plymouth University2019-11-26
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Fantastic opportunity to develop your skillset, whilst being a student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Ambassador in Plymouth, England

    I worked at Plymouth University part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lovely team Good training Can pick what events you want to work and when you want to work Ambassador Leads are all very friendly

    Cons

    Sometimes very competitive to get a position at a job and therefore you miss out

    Plymouth University2019-10-23
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Research Assistant in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Plymouth University part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, good pay

    Cons

    Can't think of any at the moment

    Plymouth University2019-08-14
Found 71 reviews