Portafina Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Portafina Reviews

Updated 14 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.7
100%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Portafina Managing Director Jamie Smith-Thompson (no image)
Jamie Smith-Thompson
8 Ratings
  1. "A company that is always trying to get better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Independent Financial Advisor 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portafina full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Really flexible in work life balance Always trying to develop you along with the business Good Culture You don’t feel like a number with little gestures like Christmas and Birthday vouchers, a day off for your birthday, celebrating an exam being passed with a bottle of champagne that sort of thing Good support throughout the departments

    Cons

    With giving a voice sometimes to many opinions get involved when its not necessary

    Continue reading
    Portafina2020-01-14
  2. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rochester, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portafina full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Portafina really is a great place to work. Everyone is friendly and helpful and will be rewarded for hard work. Training and support is provided for every employee and there are many perks such as generous payments into our pension plan, private medical insurance, life cover, rewards for people showing the company values, all expenses paid Christmas parties, food treats, and we even get a day off for our birthday. I have worked here for many many years and see myself being here for many more years to come, as I really do thoroughly enjoy my job and the support I receive.

    Cons

    The main car park gets busy. The 8am shift start however does help staff to have the choice of spaces.

    Portafina2020-01-14
  3. "Fun Family Feel Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrator in Rochester, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portafina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There are many pros to working for Portafina, such as; 2 company parties a year Fun charity events Company awards (resulting in holidays or gift vouchers) Extra day annual leave on birthdays & birthday gift from work Private health insurance Great bonus structure Overtime option Season perks i.e. Easter eggs Work with lots of lovely people Close bond with team mates Relaxed office environment

    Cons

    When there's a local accident sometimes traffic can be quite bad getting off the estate, however we have been told this is being looked into.

    Portafina2020-01-14
  4. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Administrator in Rochester, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portafina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - The company values create a positive and friendly work environment. - No day is ever the same; there's always new challenges and ideas. - My voice and ideas are heard and acknowledged. - Training is not only provided to newcomers - it is also provided to those that need refreshers. - If you're not sure on something, there is always multiple people around to explain it in a way that will make sense to you. - Full support is provided to all employees and management. - There are always avenues available to be able to progress within the company. - All managers/team leaders and senior management will go the extra mile to make you feel valued as an individual, and achievements are always recognised and celebrated. - Portafina has a great company culture, with opportunities to socialise and relax outside of work.

    Cons

    - In order for the company itself to grow and develop, you have to be able to adapt changes quickly. - To work at Portafina, you also need to be able to work efficiently under pressure, as there are deadlines to meet in target-based roles.

    Continue reading
    Portafina2020-01-14
  5. "Working at Portafina"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Liaison Officer in Rochester, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portafina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Enjoyable, helpful, understanding, growth, family

    Cons

    the traffic on the estate

    Portafina2019-09-24
  6. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Withdrawals Team Leader in Rochester, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Portafina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly and welcoming environment Lots of benefits Opportunity to progress within roles/job opportunities/exam routes Company events/Raising money for Charity Friendly staff Incentives

    Cons

    Communication can sometimes be lacking around company within management.

    Continue reading
    Portafina2019-09-24
  7. "Great Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Administrative Assistant in Rochester, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Portafina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The atmosphere is really friendly. I enjoyed working at Portafina pretty much everyday. Targets can be tough at times, but worth the effort if achieved.

    Cons

    Shift patterns didn't really work for me.

    Portafina2019-04-01
  8. "Lots of opportunities to develop and progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portafina full-time

    Pros

    - Opportunities to develop within the company through regular training and internal/external exams - Fill new job roles from within so opportunities to work and learn other areas of the business - Overtime allows you to increase your wage - Everyone is great to work with and willing to help - Regular social events in the office and also externally

    Cons

    - Can be a steep learning curve to learn about the pension industry with lots of jargon and technical terms - Sometimes teams are not always on the same page which can cause tension and slow down progression on projects

    Continue reading
    Portafina2019-04-08
  9. "Portafina is a great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Systems Support Executive in Chatham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Portafina full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The best thing about working at Portafina is that Im free to choose my own path. My role in the Systems department allows me to research and implement new technologies that not only further Portafina's goals but allow me to develop my technical skills that can further my own career.

    Cons

    Especially the work carried out by the systems department can be very challenging at times. We spend a-lot of time trying to implement solutions with out having the prior technical knowledge. This can cause a fair amount of frustration at times.

    Portafina2019-03-28
  10. "Supportive, fun and refreshing company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Portafina full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Going to work and always feeling valued for the work you put in - Internal opportunities and progression that is available - Feeling that there is always someone you can turn to - Good benefits - Management that listen to anyone opinions or ideas - Team integration across all departments - You get your birthday off!

    Cons

    - Length of service could be rewarded - Option to buy benefits (more holiday, shares etc)

    Continue reading
    Portafina2018-12-20
Found 27 reviews