Postmates "flexible schedule" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Postmates Employee Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Updated 27 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.5
37%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Postmates Co-Founder & CEO Bastian Lehmann
Bastian Lehmann
646 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "long wait times between deliveries(in 179 reviews)

  • "Chicago weather is very unfriendly to bike couriers(in 153 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible schedule"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Improvements needed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Delivery Driver in Oxnard, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, mostly busy on weekends

    Cons

    Glitchy app, low pay, high wear on vehicle, parking is a constant issue

    Advice to Management

    Pay drivers more

    Postmates2019-12-27
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great gig if you could make a decent wage - but you can't"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Freelancer - Driver in Mission Viejo, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Easy work Nothing else to say

    Cons

    Busy During Peak times only Low Pay High Vehicle Wear & Tear $1.70 to pick up order, 70¢ to deliver Only 7¢ a minute for wait time at restaurants ($4.20/hr) Postmates pick shortest delivery route to reimburse mileage (in my area that means toll roads) Customers tip about 50% of the time $256 after working 16.5 hours and filling tank twice for $79, not including tolls I paid I made $10.50/hr. Postmates makes money on the huge turnover of individuals wanting a side gig. When they realize they are either losing money or earning very little they will leave - like me

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Share more of your profits with your drivers. If you weren't so greedy you could have people that want to continue this work. Instead you burn out your people and replenish with newbies that don't know any better. That's pretty crappy in my book.

    Postmates2019-12-17
  3. Helpful (9)

    "chaotic leadership & non-stop process changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Postmates full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of remote folks. Very flexible schedule. Dog friendly office. Open plan office with various phone booths for privacy scattered around (I called them “fart boxes”). Friendly and helpful co-workers. Challenging technology to conquer and implement. I had a very competitive salary and the benefits are pretty thorough (aside from no 401K match, which almost never happens with “startups”). My team was genuinely trying to do what’s right for customers and especially the couriers who do Postmates work delivering things. There's a wide variety of nice healthy snacks around the office and fully stocked coolers with all the soft drinks. Lunch is catered two days per week (Meatless Mondays!) and one day each week every employee (even remote ones) gets free credit towards a meal pickup at a Postmates-affiliated restaurant. Up until the point I departed, the team was doing daily status meetings where we’d all talk about what we worked on yesterday, what we did today, and it was especially encouraging when I’d recap some big accomplishment that I got done since the last meeting yesterday. Within six months, I had personally resolved or otherwise researched 70+ tickets — a healthy combination of new feature work and bug fixing. The company recently added a little incentive program named Bonusly where you can award points to co-workers for various hashtags (#teamwork! #leadership! #kaizen!) towards Amazon/Sephora/etc. gift cards, and I was so happy when people not in my direct team would simply say “thanks!” to me for implementing their ideas or checking in with them to make sure their voices were being listened to. Bi-weekly town halls were sometimes loud or weird (for example, the CEO showed up wearing a hot dog mascot costume to celebrate some stadium partnerships; another Looking Glass featured extremely misogynistic rap music playing on the loudspeakers prior to the presentation, weeks after company-wide anti-harassment training). The color commentary on private slack channels during these productions were usually very LOL.

    Show More

    Cons

    A developer’s first day introduction needs improvement. While I was impressed and moved by my direct teammates sending me greetings & welcome e-mails before my first day, the official engineering onboarding covered hardly anything I was going to work with on a day to day basis. It was up to the team lead to hold my hand through the process of getting the developer productive, which I certainly did within the first day or so. One session that should be introduced could be titled “IT Best Practices at Postmates” and perhaps also “best practices for IT security”, but that isn’t what onboarding is currently focused on for Postmates engineering. Even by startup standards, you’ll likely be shocked with the always-changing process management style. Just within six months, my team started with one bug tracking system and two week sprints, then management mandated migrating to a different bug tracking database, then they switched to one week sprints, then got rid of sprints completely in favor of a feature focused approach. One thing I liked was pair programming assignments (which is great way to get to know your teammates well), but these were only mandated for perhaps a few weeks. These non-stop process changes, when combined with a ridiculous amount of steps to keep track of in order to simply get a client release or hotfix version out, and you might understand if it could sometimes be difficult to actually focus on the underlying technical tasks. The revolving door to talent swings so fast it would make your head spin. I started getting worried pretty quickly into my time at Postmates when emails started showing up looking something like this: “Hello all, Today was ___ _______’s last day at Postmates. S/he was working with the _____ team as a _________ Engineer. We will be working to backfill the role. In all cases like this, we need to make the best decision for the company, the team, and the person. I believe that this is the right move.” Individual contributors were kept in the dark as to why these frequent decisions happened and I became accustomed to seeing e-mails like this every two weeks or so. There is little for a developer to rely upon in order to gauge his/her performance — my team went through three different engineering managers in a short amount of time and I personally only had initial 1-1 meetings with each and was never given any follow-up meetings, career progress reports, helpful advice or even performance reviews (which might not have happened for anyone this year, at least when I look at anonymous company discussion boards where other PM employees connect). If you do get the short straw to get thrown out that week, the People Team has this down to a well oiled routine and here's how it goes: you’ll be invited to do a normal-looking 1-1 with your engineering manager (usually earlier in the morning before everyone else shows up at 10-ish). When you enter the meeting room, you’ll see the manager and an HR person sitting next to them. The meeting will last less than five minutes (probably the shortest meeting you'll ever have at the company). Your work laptop & badge will be confiscated and you’ll be escorted out. Slack and gmail will be cut off 5 minutes later. Github gets shutdown within the hour. If you have a chance to get onto Bonusly before it gets cut off the next day, try to award points away to the folks that helped you out. You’ll also be given a copy of the At Will employment agreement you signed at the beginning, to remind you that anyone can get the heave ho at any time.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    There’s no recommendations for management because it’s clear from these Glassdoor reviews over the years there’s no motivation to stabilize the chaotic engineering culture. If you are reading this while considering a career move to Postmates: please ask your interviewers for honest opinions once you come in for your onsite and you might find there’s agreement that the company is purposefully instilling a culture of fear to go along with the chaos and constant pressure to deliver before a (likely not to happen) IPO; it's absolutely not a healthy way to run an organization this size. I tried to recap the positives (a well known brand name, at least in coastal cities, smart & fun teammates, lots of technology and architectural challenges to be solved individually and collectively; free meals three days per week!), but had I known the behind-the-scenes negatives, I would’ve saved myself the headaches and heartaches and steered clear.

    Show More
    Postmates2019-10-31
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Bonus: Per Delivery - Not Paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Postmates Courier in Santa Monica, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Postmates for less than a year

    Pros

    A pro is a Flexible schedule.

    Cons

    You have to keep an eye on them to make sure they pay you a Bonus /Incentive. I emailed back and forth trying to get my bonus applied and had a different person write me back, drive me crazy and after 50 emails still no clarity as to if my bonus got applied or not because it’s not clear in the payout log.

    Advice to Management

    Better communication with drivers, continuity would help. A driver call in number would be helpful. Don’t screw over your drivers.

    Postmates2019-10-18
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Flexible Schedule"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Courier in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule. Tips. No cash handling. Free bag to carry food.

    Cons

    Lowered pay rates. No minimum guarantee per order any more. Works off international menus so restaurants don't always have what customers order. Gas usage and wear and tear on car.

    Advice to Management

    Bring back minimum guarantees per deliveries or bring back old rates.

    Postmates2019-06-14
  6. "Working at postmates"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Delivery Driver in Las Vegas, NV
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates for more than a year

    Pros

    I can do postmates when i want. "Flexible Schedule"

    Cons

    Low pay but u can make it up in Tips

    Advice to Management

    Pay us a decent we shouldn't have to depend on tips.

    Postmates2019-06-07
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Postmates is not where it’s at"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Postmates Courier in Las Vegas, NV
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Postmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule There are no other pros, i’m just putting this here because there was a 5 word minimum

    Cons

    -Oversaturation of drivers (unlike other similar companies, they don’t cap, so there’s often way more drivers than orders) -Inconsistency of orders: You may wait hours, or even days to get a single order -Cancellation off Orders as you’re pulling into the restaurant to pick up: A. If you’re in a large city, unless you’re driving a rocket ship, no one can get 4 miles away in 2 minutes. B. If you’re going to reassign the order because we didn’t get there fast enough (you know, defying the laws of physics), knock that stupid Mario song off. NO ONE is doing this for fun. Your drivers are DESPERATE for funds or we wouldn’t be driving and dealing with the constant nonsense. To play that “womp womp” song is so rage inducing, I can’t even deal with it, especially after burning gas to get there and getting sent home as you’re PULLING IN THE PARKING LOT. -Customers have no idea what they’re doing. I had an order for “Flamingo Rd.” In Las Vegas couple weeks ago. NO address, just the street. No way to call customer service. No way to get in touch with customer because they’re not answering the phone. Guess who gets penalized for this? YES, that would be the driver! Fun, huh?! -Restaurants that haven’t signed up for Postmates are hostile -Restaurants with wait staff making $2.13 an hour to prep our orders for free hate us -The fees are so outrageous AND the prices are wrong on the app 99% of the time, so when it comes time to tip, you get the ol’ $0.01. I’d rather have zero than such an insulting amount. But because PM treats their customers like they’re completely expendable same way they treat their drivers, guess I can’t blame them. -They’ll stack orders on you even when you ask them not to. Then direct you in idiotic directions to drop the orders. I had two orders from the same pickup the other day. Instead of routing me to the first drop off that was CLOSER and easier, they sent me to the one on the strip that took 45 minutes. Customer #2 got cold food. I got $0 from either of them. -Postmates withholds the tips you do receive until they just feel like releasing it. This could be a day later, this could be a month later. Who knows? It’s just when they feel like it. I suspect they’re holding funds in their bank accounts as long as possible. There isn’t any consistency or identifiable trends to make heads or sense of how they do anything. -This is a technology company and their app SUCKS. Get a new development team. This company is the oldest of all the delivery companies and has the WORST app. Constant problems and getting kicked off the app mid delivery. Slows drops down and guess what that affects? YOUR TIPS. Don’t drive for this company unless you’re on the verge of homelessness. The pay, even when busy, is around $8 an hour GROSS. That doesn’t account for any gas, maintenance, the popped tires you’ll undoubtedly have to deal with about once every few weeks, and the constant oil changes. Only desperate people drive for PM. They know it and they take advantage of it.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    At minimum get rid of the Mario tune and stop insulting your drivers. We’re busting our humps and tearing up our cars so you can get millions of investments from Silicon Valley. Without the driver, you have no company. And considering your 8-year-old app can’t even function properly, I highly doubt your development team has the capability of developing driverless cars. Do better. For your customers AND your drivers. You’ve become the last resort joke of all the courier/gig platforms.

    Show More
    Postmates2019-07-09
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Do not recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Delivery Driver in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Postmates for less than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule in which you manage your own time. Manage yourself.

    Cons

    Pay cuts barely get anything per delivery about 4 dollars Incorrect calculation of wait times would wait 20 minutes they would count 5 No support phone number support is horrible No benefits as you are an independent contractor

    Advice to Management

    Have better support team Consider pay increase for milage not pay cuts Honor bonuses

    Postmates2019-06-03
  9. "Great job to make extra money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Freelancer - Delivery Driver 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Postmates for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - You meet you city -Good tips -Flexible Schedule

    Cons

    -You Need to use your car

    Advice to Management

    Go for it if you have a part time job and want to make some extra money

    Postmates2019-04-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Deactivation is eminent!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Freelancer - Driver in Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Postmates for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule and many orders, freedom to work at your spare time.

    Cons

    They will deactivate you in a light switch without any cause or warning!

    Advice to Management

    Treat your hard working drivers better! They are the backbone on your company

    Postmates2019-04-08
Found 73 reviews