Premier Inn Employee Reviews about "long hours"

Updated 29 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.4
61%
Recommend to a Friend
64%
Approve of CEO
Premier Inn Managing Director Simon Jones
Simon Jones
168 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good company benefits-discounts on whitbread owned businesses(in 16 reviews)

  • "Fast paced environment lucky to have a great team to back you up some genuine ladies to work with depending on which hotel you work at(in 15 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "long hours"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Amazing"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Host in Gatwick, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premier Inn full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Learnt so much in my time here

    Cons

    Long hours and not much balance

    Premier Inn2019-10-30
  2. "Good job.great team. Pay average"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Operations Manager in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premier Inn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good discount. Bonus opportunities. Share scheme. Great team. Good vibe. Fun. Promotion opportunities. Cares about staff.

    Cons

    Long hours. Average pay. 24/7 shift.

    Continue reading
    Premier Inn2020-01-29
  3. "Room attendant"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Room Attendant 

    I worked at Premier Inn full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Free breakfast once the guests had finished.

    Cons

    Long hours, monotonous, strenuous on my back

    Premier Inn2019-12-27

    Premier Inn Response

    January 13, 2020Digital Content Manager

    Thanks for taking the time to write a review. The hospitality industry is demanding and competitive which we know can be hard. We hope that our staff are able to strike the right balance and will do all we can to support this. Would be good to get more insight from you on this - email glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com

  4. "Glad to be out of it"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operations Manager in Carlisle, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Premier Inn full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hotel discounts is about it.

    Cons

    Long hours, poor pay, forced to cut staff hours beyond reasonable during quiet times, called upon 24/7 to deal with problems so could never have a proper day off or holiday, team didn’t care as they were paid and treated poorly, hotel badly maintained as head office would only invest in new projects or big cities.

    Continue reading
    Premier Inn2019-10-16

    Premier Inn Response

    November 13, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Working in the hospitality industry can be demanding, but we recognise it's important to get the right balance between challenging and impossible. In order to help us make real changes to our business, we’d really appreciate the chance to talk to you further about this. I know you've left us but if you email glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com I can investigate further.

  5. "If you expect to be treated as a number this is the place for you!"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Premier Inn part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people - guests from all around the world and most of the time they’re lovely, and other team members who usually also get stuck in the same hell hole

    Cons

    Poor management Poor pay No benefits Bureaucratic Controlling organisation No progression opportunities Long hours Very little praise or thank you for working hard You will deal with everything (abusive drunks, homeless, mentally ill, poorly) and you will not receive any training or any pat on the back, jack of all trades master of none!

    Continue reading
    Premier Inn2019-02-04

    Premier Inn Response

    November 13, 2019Digital Content Manager

    Hi there, thank you for taking the time to leave your review. Working in the hospitality industry can be demanding, but we recognise it's important to get the right balance between challenging and impossible. In order to help us make real changes to our business, we’d really appreciate the chance to talk to you further about this – just drop us a line at glassdoorreviews@whitbread.com

  6. "Working in Premier Inn"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Premier Inn full-time

    Pros

    Great Company to work for

    Cons

    Long Hours and stress full

    Premier Inn2019-01-01
  7. "Overall good experience"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Receptionist in Guildford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Premier Inn part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice team, good pay for amount of work done

    Cons

    Difficult customers, relatively long hours

    Premier Inn2018-10-02
  8. "Love it"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Premier Inn full-time

    Pros

    Good pay and progression for those who want it

    Cons

    Long hours of sitting at a desk (im at a small site) can’t get a 40 hour contract here.

    Continue reading
    Premier Inn2018-08-21
  9. "Good company - long shifts"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Premier Inn part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay increase after training, training in many departments, some great managers

    Cons

    Long Hours Lack of staffing

    Premier Inn2018-05-15
  10. Helpful (7)

    "No area support"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Operations Manager in Newcastle upon Tyne, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Premier Inn full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great people who work in the hotels. Good discount scheme and alright bonus. Fun meeting new people and meeting guests.

    Cons

    No support from higher management and no support from Area when needed. Expected to work long hours days to cover team holiday and sickness. Double shifts 16hrs and 16hrs night shift just to make sure desk covered. Treated more like receptionists rather than managers no time to do manager role.

    Continue reading
    Premier Inn2018-01-16
Found 26 reviews