Pret A Manger Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Pret A Manger Reviews

Updated 18 Jun 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 562 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
45%
Recommend to a Friend
52%
Approve of CEO
Pret A Manger CEO Clive Schlee
Clive Schlee
297 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great environment great salary free food(in 103 reviews)

  • "Various bonuses for providing excellent service, free lunch, room for growth for those willing to strive for excellence(in 28 reviews)

Cons
  • "If mystery shopper gives a bad review, all the team members loose money: no matter who made the mistake(in 32 reviews)

  • "Office culture is working really really long hours(in 26 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "You won't find better in this corner of the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Assistant Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pret A Manger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Highly competitive basic rate with very generous bonuses

    Cons

    They expect serious graft. If you don't enjoy hard work and early starts this isn't for you.

    Advice to Management

    Never forget what makes Pret different as an employer or you'll stop getting the cream of the crop.

    Pret A Manger2019-04-27
  2. "Stressful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in Gatwick, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pret A Manger full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Weekly pay Free food Paid brakes Flexible hours

    Cons

    Early hours To busy Stressful Hard to handle

    Pret A Manger2019-06-19
  3. "Pret"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Team Member 

    I worked at Pret A Manger full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay Good training Team are genuinely a family

    Cons

    Expected to cover other peoples shifts last minute after you just done your own Early morning start

    Pret A Manger2019-06-13
  4. "Pretty decent so far"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Member in London, England

    I have been working at Pret A Manger part-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Nice people, decent pay, flexible working hours

    Cons

    Depending on which shop youre in: very busy, understaffed sometimes, pinickity managers.

    Advice to Management

    Managers can sometimes be a little detached from needs of workers, understandble to an extent however needs of workers can be considered a little more; Also there could be clearer paths to being promoted.

    Pret A Manger2019-06-11
  5. "Good job for the summer time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Cashier in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pret A Manger full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Good pay, benefits of getting free lunch

    Cons

    Poor management, disorganized but overall fine

    Pret A Manger2019-06-03
  6. "Team leading experience with office part and forecasting, ordering etc..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Kitchen Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pret A Manger full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Quite good salary in the beginning and possibility to grow.

    Cons

    Early start 5 a.m. and to get a good salary requires 50+ hours a week

    Pret A Manger2019-06-01
  7. "Good Team, Good Food, Good Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Team Member Star in London, England
      Recommends

      I worked at Pret A Manger part-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good Team and Good Mgmt

      Cons

      None that I recall as we had good team

      Pret A Manger2019-06-01
    • Helpful (1)

      "been working in pret for more than 3 years"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Team Leader 
      Recommends
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Pret A Manger full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      bonus, amazing people, good training, its a good job as a first job in the UK

      Cons

      massive pressure on kitchen leaders, early hours, stressful environment

      Advice to Management

      you should take care of your key roles, cause with pressure like this, no one will stay in this company,

      Pret A Manger2019-05-28
    • "Realistic"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Assistant Manager in London, England
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at Pret A Manger full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Good salary and bonus system, free staff food and paid breaks

      Cons

      Work politics, blame games, pressure to deliver highly set targets

      Advice to Management

      As the company always says but no one follows, team work makes dream work

      Pret A Manger2019-05-27
    • Helpful (9)

      "Team Member"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
      Doesn't Recommend
      No Opinion of CEO

      I have been working at Pret A Manger full-time (Less than a year)

      Pros

      Good food. Free coffee’s. Great people.

      Cons

      When the shop doesn’t do well, because we ran out of something/sold out... we get marked down and loose the weekly £1 extra for each hour worked that week. Losing 35 is hard when on such low wages

      Advice to Management

      Scrap the bonus and pay us the £1. We work reallly hard.

      Pret A Manger2019-05-08
    Found 562 reviews