Priory Group Reviews

Updated 14 May 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
47%
Recommend to a Friend
58%
Approve of CEO
Priory Group CEO Trevor Torrington
Trevor Torrington
119 Ratings
Pros
  • "Making a difference to the service users(in 29 reviews)

  • "Superb support and great team work across all disciplines(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Long hours and low staffing levels(in 28 reviews)

  • "Management don’t care about their staff and service users(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Very challenging but worth it

      19 Jul 2020 - Head Chef in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people I work with

      Cons

      Pay is not the best

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Priory Group Response

      Social Media Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your role alongside your colleagues and that you feel supported. We wish you all the best as you continue to develop with Priory.

    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      25 Apr 2021 - Teacher 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fantastic opportunities and experiences for pupils and staff

      Cons

      Hard work but worth it for the return

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priory Group Response

      Social Media Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your role and feel supported in your current position. We wish you all the best as you continue to develop your career with Priory.

    3. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Lots of work available but there are some issues

      8 May 2021 - Support Worker in Liverpool, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -Work is available to those who want the hours. -Flexible around commitments as many services operate 24/7. -The work is challenging due to complex needs service users but at least each day is different. The friendly teams of staff you work with day in day out will make learning the job and also the long days easier. -They have one of the most extensive career development pathways in the industry if you are willing to pursue it.

      Cons

      -As with the wider privatised healthcare/adult care industry employee benefit/conditions have been reduced to the legal minimum. No sick pay other than SSP, no rising with years of service annual leave, no hourly enhancements for Nightshift, weekends. or overtime. Some services give temporary uplifts for example £1 an hour in times of desperate need but this is rare. In the organisations defence it should be noted the reduced benefits is an industry wide problem directly resulting from post 2010 government spending cuts to NHS and Local Councils, as this is where most revenue comes from. -Linked to the first point, some long standing staff are on older contracts and have sick pay entitlement, rising holiday entitlement, and uplifts for Nightshifts, weekends and overtime. While I would never want them stripped of this It is important to note the effect it has on staff morale among the growing proportion of newer staff who do not have these benefits. In effect we are doing the exact same job for less.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priory Group Response

      Social Media Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your role and feel supported and challenged in your current position. We wish you all the best as you continue to develop your career with Priory.

    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Manager

      14 May 2021 - Registered Nurse Manager in Moy, Northern Ireland, Northern Ireland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      job satisfaction, new skills, work-life balance

      Cons

      money, flexibility, work-life balance, restricted

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good place to work

      10 May 2021 - Support Worker in Gunnislake, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay was a small residential home for young people

      Cons

      None can That i can think of

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 2.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Lovely work colleagues, but poor management & atrocious salary given the demands of the job

      8 Apr 2021 - Healthcare Assistant in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I was very lucky to have great, supportive colleagues.

      Cons

      - Pay not reflective of the demands of the job - Unpaid break - The manager was not a people person whatsoever - ironic considering she was one of the therapists there! She was very cold, and quite robotic when you expressed concerns to her- she had an answer for everything, and they seemed very scripted. She was also not respectful of work boundaries, occasionally asking staff to cover dietetic/therapy sessions - outrageous considering we are not trained for that, and neither is our pay reflective of having to do that kind of work! Even more shocking was that we were made to feel stupid if we asked a question on how to approach these cover sessions - as though it were common sense.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priory Group Response

      Social Media Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are always disappointed to hear from people who feel unhappy with their time at Priory. If you would like to offer more information about your experience so that we may begin to investigate further and find out which site you are referring to, please email KatieGent@priorygroup.com Please be assured that we take any concerns seriously and always seek to address any issues raised to us.

    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      No training, lots of drama and very poor pay

      17 Apr 2021 - Night Support Worker in Exeter, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great flexibility on bank as there are always hours available. Doesn't feel like work a lot of the time. Learn to understand non verbal communication. Can be interesting to work with people on the autism spectrum as they see life so differently. Night shifts can be very relaxed and are able to do your own thing.

      Cons

      Next to no career development possibilities. Very poor management structure. Never seems to be clear who is in charge and there is very little communication between staff. Cliques form frequently due to nepotism. Very high staff turnover, even amongst the managers. Terrible pay for the amount of responsibility you have. Frequent mistakes in payslips. No oversight or training which leads to confusion, disagreements, inconsistently and potentially mistreatment of service users.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priory Group Response

      Social Media Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are always disappointed to hear from people who feel unhappy with their time at Priory. If you would like to offer more information about your experience so that we may begin to investigate further and find out which site you are referring to, please email KatieGent@priorygroup.com Please be assured that we take any concerns seriously and always seek to address any issues raised to us.

    8. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good team work

      8 May 2021 - Healthcare Assistant in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Jobs satisfaction, teamwork, benefits, direction, leadership.

      Cons

      Under Staffing, cliques and lack of empathy to staff, management, working weekends

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priory Group Response

      Social Media Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to hear that you are enjoying your role and feel supported in your current position. We hope that we can work with you on the issues you have mentioned in the near future. We wish you all the best as you continue to develop your career with Priory.

    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Terrible management great floor staff

      6 May 2021 - Anonymous in Langley Priory, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Staff on the ground t trying best

      Cons

      Management not interested in their staff

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Priory Group Response

      Social Media Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are always disappointed to hear from people who feel unhappy with their time at Priory. If you would like to offer more information about your experience so that we may begin to investigate further and find out which site you are referring to, please email KarenLangton@priorygroup.com Please be assured that we take any concerns seriously and always seek to address any issues raised to us.

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      AVOID!!! I cant stress this enough.....

      22 Apr 2021 - Registered Mental Health Nurse in Nottingham, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Absolutely none. Even the free food (that they use as a ploy to lure you into their den) is disgusting slop! Might be slightly higher pay than NHS but oh boy, there's a reason! Believe me, its so not worth it!

      Cons

      If you value your PIN, sanity, and mental health, then DO NOT step foot in this dangerous hell hole! Referring to the Arnold Priory but I'm in no doubt that they're all soul-sapping torture chambers! This is coming from a very strong and resilient person.....its truly beyond awful! I've never known anything quite like it; completely unreal and untenable. It baffles me how the Priory are allowed to operate! I could kick myself that I went against advice and decided to work here. They paint a beautiful picture of what it is like to work there- but you'll soon realise that it is a complete lie and that you made a BIG mistake.....

      3 people found this review helpful

      Priory Group Response

      Social Media Executive

      Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are always disappointed to hear from people who feel unhappy with their time at Priory. If you would like to offer more information about your experience so that we may begin to investigate further, please email KatieGent@priorygroup.com You can also call our confidential whistleblowing service on 0800 484 0816. Please be assured that we take any concerns seriously and always seek to address any issues raised to us.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 431 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Priory Group Job Seekers

    Mental Health Care Assistant
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Mental Health Support Worker
    Learn About the Job

    Work at Priory Group? Share Your Experiences

    Priory Group logo
    or