ProSight Specialty Insurance Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

ProSight Specialty Insurance Reviews

Updated 9 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
ProSight Specialty Insurance CEO and President Larry Hannon (no image)
Larry Hannon
2 Ratings
Pros
  • "Overall is not worth the damage to your health and work life balance(in 6 reviews)

  • "Employees' well-being is ALWAYS a top concern for management and the company culture is like none other I have ever experienced(in 6 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (6)

    "Awful experience - stay well away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    None whatsoever. It has taken me a long time to pluck up the courage to write this, as working here has caused me a great deal of distress. As with other reviews, only the very thick skinned might take a chance at this place to get some short-term experience. Overall is not worth the damage to your health and work life balance. It should be clear which reviews are genuine on this website compared to the ones put on by HR...or valid reviews with standard responses from HR to 'reach out'.

    Show More

    Cons

    Obnoxious sociopath upper management - you will be ridiculed and screamed at if you do not drink the kool aid. Farcical approach to reserving - constant challenge to suppress when any sensible external actuary would be doing the opposite. Management will ignore the advice of external subject experts on claims and put the claims examiners under ridiculous pressure, to the point they are petrified of reporting bad news.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Just sell or put the thing in to run off so we and the regulators are put out of our misery. The only downside to a sale is the most undeserving group of executives will get their parachute payments. The quarterly results / press releases to 'come and get us' are not working as any investor with any sense has already done their due diligence. and don't worry folks, you won't be outrunning that tail forever, it always has a nasty habit of catching up.

    Show More
    ProSight Specialty Insurance2019-03-20
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Going the extra mile(s), you will bust a gut in this 'unique performance culture'..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - . 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Very experienced leadership and staff in Lloyds operation, like Claims, Risk & Actuarial and Finance. - Cram the experience in before you bail, and you will. - Exposure to Insurance market / Lloyds. - Education on how not to build business and run projects.

    Cons

    - The 'Great Divide' - the irony.. - salary below market average - lack of attention to resources and databases / systems. - only noticeable customer differentiators are the services provided by Morristown and London claims guys. - US senior management team are out of touch with modern world of insurance and this will eventually catch up. - lack of due diligence on Lloyds market and senior appointments at early stage.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Let the talent that exists in your business lead it going forward.

    ProSight Specialty Insurance2017-03-30
  3. "Good So Far!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Been good thus far so I am contented.

    Cons

    There is no downside so far.

    ProSight Specialty Insurance2020-01-09
  4. "Great company to help you grow if your plan matches theirs."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company culture is unique for corporate setting.

    Cons

    Salary doesn't match workload always.

    ProSight Specialty Insurance2019-11-19
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great culture and a chance to make an impact"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Director in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Positive culture: team members strive to be the best and want to work together to deliver the best results for the company. Entrepreneurial spirit: even though the company is approaching 10 years in business, there is still very much a start-up mentality, which is exciting for someone like me who comes from legacy companies. Impact: If you want to make a difference in your job, ProSight's size and performance-driven culture fosters an environment where everyone can contribute to the success of the company Development: Even if you don't come from insurance (like me) ProSight invests heavily in your professional development

    Show More

    Cons

    The flip-side of working in an entrepreneurial environment is that you may not have all the resources of larger, more established companies. However, this reality also gives you the opportunity to build your role/function from the ground up.

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing what you're doing. This is an exciting time to be a ProSight employee. Let's keep building our culture and pushing ourselves to be better.

    ProSight Specialty Insurance2019-08-16
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Claims Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claim Manager in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Felt the need to post a positive review since so many former employees writing negative reviews. Prosight is a great place to work and learn. I understand that it is not for everyone. I worked at a large carrier for many years and although I had a positive experience I wanted a chance to make an impact as opposed to being just another number. I wanted a chance to be able to make decisions and not just follow process after process. I’ve learned more in the past few years about insurance then I have in my entire career. I am able to have a say in how my department is run and get direct access to my underwriters on what new business we write. People on here talk about the company having their favorites. I certainly have my favorites which includes employees who work hard, have a positive attitude and believe in working together to achieve a goal. I guess I sip kool aid as well because I believe in the company and want to see it succeed. The pay and bonus structure is great too but with that their are expectations for your performance (go figure). Also happy hours are optional meaning if you find them awkward or can’t make it you don’t have to go. Prudential center box is an awesome perk that my whole family gets a chance to enjoy. Lastly the majority of our staff is referrals from other employees which should tell you all you need to know. If people are so unhappy they don’t refer their friends.

    Show More

    Cons

    You can’t hide here like you can at other companies. You are held accountable for your work. It is a growing company and sometimes we don’t always have the resources of the big dogs but we have committed people in place willing to help.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to keep your employees informed about the direction of the company.

    ProSight Specialty Insurance2019-05-25
  7. Helpful (9)

    "Stay Away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Legal 

    I worked at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time

    Pros

    High Salaries (they have to get you in somehow, but not worth your sanity)

    Cons

    Everything about this place is a disgrace. The company is slowly crumbling as people realize how crazy this place truly is. Everyone mentioning the kool-aid mentality is 100% right - and if you dont fall into it, HR plots a way to force you out of the company, claiming you werent a "fit". There is zero management experience - they promote based on whether they like you or not, doesnt matter what background or years of experience you have. The culture is all a hoax, they claim they care about their employees but there is ZERO work life balance. Training is a joke. All these "positive" responses are coming directly from their own HR and Marketing teams - dont fall into their lies, stay far away from this place.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    ProSight Specialty Insurance2019-05-14
  8. Helpful (5)

    "Great if you fit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Having been at mostly large companies I've found ProSight to be an incredible surprise in my career: if you work hard you get rewarded; all of the benefits of a small company with few, if any, drawbacks. Management is happy to give you a chance to perform at which point it's on you to deliver - and if you have worked hard and delivered previously in your career, you should know this place will recognize, reward and promote you. It's a fantastic feeling knowing you can get ahead here. This sounds cliche, but it's true - and I have no problem touting my stellar experience as this can be a truly exceptional place for the right person.

    Show More

    Cons

    If you're not ready for this type of job, it's going to be tough - you can't hide or push work to other divisions / teams. You are given significant responsibility and commensurate support, but again, some people just might not be ready to take on a role at a small company where you have to deliver. And, if you don't deliver there's a good chance you will be cut after 1-2 years. There are no feel-good trophies; this place is for people that are all about business, building out their platform and getting results. From reading comments on GD, it looks like there is a small but outspoken group that didn't cut it and use this platform to blast the company . . . fair enough, though I think it's obvious what their circumstances are/were.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Be more selective about who you hire - the interview process is fairly standard, but I think more focus should be on who will fit at the company and thrive in the results-oriented culture.

    ProSight Specialty Insurance2019-03-26
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great place for intellectually curious people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Morristown, NJ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    I have been at ProSight since the early days. I love this company because I like to learn, I like to ask questions, I like to work hard and be rewarded for hard work. Not in a “fluffy way”, or in the way all companies say we work hard, play hard – but really, actually put in time and effort. Successful ProSight’ers like to be challenged and are proud of what we have built and the culture we protect every day. Letting people who don’t think like us or who don’t want to really work smart tend to self-select out, because they don’t fit. People who are disgruntled on glassdoor, are people who didn’t fit. They call it koolaid - I call it commitment to this tribe we have built. I call it a place where innovation and thinking outside the box is applauded and bureaucracy is limited -- IF you are good at what you do. If you aren’t good at what you do, you will be micromanaged, you will be questioned and you likely won’t feel like you fit in, because we don’t have patience for people who don’t want to work as hard as the rest of us. For anyone coming to glassdoor to find out what it is like to work at ProSight, find out for yourself. Don’t rely on a group of people hiding behind a computer to explain it to you. Instead you should Interview here. Ask questions. Dig deep. Connect with our teammates on linkedin. Form your own conclusion. Then accept our job offer, because if you do your job as well as you would have interviewed us, you WILL fit in here.

    Show More

    Cons

    Not everyone will make it because we believe in protecting our culture.

    Advice to Management

    Keep it up. Haters will Hate.

    ProSight Specialty Insurance2019-03-21
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Fast-paced close-knit culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at ProSight Specialty Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The speed and abundance of work will make days fly at ProSight, you’ll look up and it will be 4 o’clock on Friday before you know it. Those with a strong work ethic who don’t mind wearing multiple hats will have no issue fitting in here. - Uncapped PTO - Excellent recognition program - Lots of internal promotions - Frequent office events (e.g. happy hour)

    Cons

    The speed of work and tight deadlines can lead to the advancement of projects/initiatives before they are fully vetted/reviewed.

    ProSight Specialty Insurance2019-03-08
Found 65 reviews