Progressive Insurance Claims Generalist Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Progressive Insurance Claims Generalist Reviews

Updated 3 Apr 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 95 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
Progressive Insurance CEO Tricia Griffith
Tricia Griffith
28 Ratings
  1. "Love Love Love Progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Generalist in Silver Spring, MD
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The company and management truly care about their employees. The atmosphere is the Silver Spring office is awesome. It’s a place I don’t mind coming to on a daily basis. The management staff is superb. The pay is great, benefits are ok and best of all, I have fun at work. The work loaf is typical for any claims position you will find.

    Cons

    None. I can’t think of a bad thing to say about Progressive

    Advice to Management

    Continue what you are doing. The family environment you push makes it a great place to work

    Progressive Insurance2019-04-03
  2. Helpful (5)

    "Good and Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Adjuster/Generalist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    - Gainshare bonus at end of year - Relaxed dress - Ability to leave desk as needed - New office environment - Coworkers are awesome - Growing company/job security - A lot of room to advance across country - Good benefits and pay isn't bad - Laptop provided, and can take home - Salaried instead of hourly - Some leniency with working from home

    Cons

    - Large workload - Metrics suck, and if you don't meet a metric, or are on the low end, even though you may excel at everything else, have more experience than other coworkers, you are still made to feel inferior and are unappreciated - If you use benefit leave for an illness, expect to have a red mark on your record, even though legally they can't do that - Typical office politics where management has their favorites...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Take care of the employees who are not only loyal, have seniority, are very experienced, and handle the workload and customers expertly, instead of focusing so much on metrics. Yes, in many cases faster is better, as far as quickly resolving and closing the claim so the customer can get on with their lives, but each case is different. An employee with less than perfect metrics may still very well be better than the inexperienced,...

    Show More
    Progressive Insurance2019-03-27
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Eh... Work was not difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Generalist Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Work was not difficult -Independent workload -Friendly environment, for the most part -Paid two weeks of training in either Ohio or Arizona -Nice company 401k, 6% matching

    Cons

    -Management in my office was very one-sided and difficult to work with -Management in my office held grudges against their employees -Heavy workload which made employees work longer than salaried 40/hr work week, worked about 60+/hr weeks

    Progressive Insurance2019-01-17
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Best employee culture ever!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Generalist in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Huge developmental opportunity for those willing to put in the effort. Plenty of fun activities to distract from the stress of the job Always trying to listen to employees for ways to improve Open and honest environment Everyone is treated like more than their employee number

    Cons

    It is a tough and heavy workload to manage Not recommended for the lazy or anxious There is a learning curve that will require longer shifts until you find you flo (see what I did there)

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening! Every step you have made is in the right direction.

    Progressive Insurance2018-11-27
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Job but it wears you down over time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Generalist Intermediate in Huntsville, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay. Good Benefits. Work with good people. Good culture. Recognition of hard work from management.

    Cons

    Heavy work load. Has a slight call center feel to it. Tough to get time off around the holidays.

    Advice to Management

    When there is a steady trend of increased work, hire more people. Hire enough people to allow flexibility with holiday vacation time. Also instead of giving time off to the first person who asks (in April), wait and get an idea of what your whole team needs for holidays before you give it away.

    Progressive Insurance2018-11-17
  6. Helpful (8)

    "Work-life balance is awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Generalist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people you work with are awesome and the work environment is pretty good.

    Cons

    Work-life balance is not good. The claims positions are salaried. They overload you with claims and you end up either working through lunch or staying late, or both everyday. - if you take vacation time off, when you return to work.. you have to make up for the claims that you missed, and you get overloaded. It’s truly awful. - Promotions are very political, and often are not given based on ones actual skills and abilities....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Allow time off to actually be time off. It’s not time off of when you come back and you have to get “caught up” in CLA and end up working those hours anyway by staying late and losing your lunch hour.. it’s a waste of ETB, and it’s not fair. - Be more transparent about promotions. Don’t make people wait 2 weeks to hear back after an interview, if you know who your going to hire even before we interview. Why even waste...

    Show More
    Progressive Insurance2018-10-21
  7. Helpful (127)

    "Amazing company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Generalist Associate in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great pay relative to other insurance companies, can move up very quickly. Can switch between departments and offices. 401k is awesome. Management is awesome.

    Cons

    If you are not a self-starter and cannot work independently this is not for you. They will not hold your hand the whole way you need to stay focused and be determined

    Progressive Insurance2017-06-28
  8. Helpful (8)

    "Claims Generalist Associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Claims Generalist Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great work/life balance. I have a special needs son and work in a busy claims office. Management really works with me when the unexpected comes up. - Benefits are GREAT! - team environment

    Cons

    - work can be very stressful when claims volume is up. other reviews have stated the work flow/volume or expectations are unattainable, but IMO they aren't. Sure they are high, but if you consistently stay on top of your work every day then you will be able to keep up just fine. If you do not handle being busy well, then this is not the job for you.

    Advice to Management

    Clarify the attendance policy and what is/is not considered a planned/unplanned absence. It is up to the manager's discretion, but many times the manager does not specify to you if the absence will be considered planned or unplanned.

    Progressive Insurance2018-07-06
  9. Helpful (4)

    "Bad company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Generalist in West Palm Beach Farms, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers (non-management), Location is fairly convenient

    Cons

    Management, Workload, Poor Home-Life Balance, Low Pay

    Advice to Management

    Improve. Be managers. This company, is designed to run on auto pilot. There is little that management does to assist employees, other than read from a book. If you face any kind of extenuating circumstances, your managers become the least effective people to help you resolve that. The CEO, even worse!

    Progressive Insurance2018-07-08
  10. Helpful (8)

    "Goodbye Personal Life"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Claims Adjuster/Generalist in Houston, TX
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is helpful and drama free. Pay is decent… if you only worked the hours they hired you to work.

    Cons

    They hire you knowing it’ll take a good year before you can even think of leaving on time. I constantly worked 11+ hour days. I’d skip my lunch so I was not there even later. The pay is good, if you don’t factor in the amount of overtime you’ll work. I was always under the understanding that salary meant you work till the job is done but if you’re constantly required to stay there till a certain time to ensure you didn’t...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Pay hourly.

    Progressive Insurance2018-04-22
Found 95 reviews