Progressive Insurance Direct Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Progressive Insurance Direct Sales Representative Reviews

Updated 29 Nov 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

3.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Progressive Insurance CEO Tricia Griffith
Tricia Griffith
3 Ratings
  1. "Wow, that's all I can say..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Gym, cafeteria, Keurig machines in the break rooms, accommodating management and the ability to work from home after a year.

    Cons

    Micromanaged, extreme pressure to stay in your guidelines which makes building rapport with the customer difficult, and confusing time off request system.

    Progressive Insurance2017-11-29
  2. "Fantastic environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work life balance is a top priority! In depth training for both state licensing and job duties. Great people to work with and nobody is above being on the phones, from the first line to the CEO!

    Cons

    They only give you a week to cram 50 credit hours worth of information to get your state license. Since some people learn at a slower pace maybe add an extra week in so the whole class can pass on the first attempt. That will allow the class to progress at the same pace.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!!

    Progressive Insurance2016-10-06
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Lots of sitting on the phone."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay, great benefits, awesome perks like a gym, Doctor on site, management works with you and offers help if you need it. I love what the company stands for and I love all the people who work there.

    Cons

    I hate sitting on a phone all day. I came from managing a store and being on my feet all day to sitting on a phone repeating the same questions over and over. It's very repeatative. Not much work/life balance.

    Progressive Insurance2016-08-15
  4. Helpful (4)

    "all about production"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales Representative in Mayfield, OH
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    *the buildings, environment and campuses are really nice, with different styles of art, accessibility, and areas for quiet time. *most locations have a gym, quick-stop shop, and grounds to walk during the day. *the cafeteria tends to have decent to good food, and periodically throughout the year there will be events that will be catered, as well as food trucks. *there's a common theme around work-life balance being...

    Show More

    Cons

    *the majority of new hires will be in the call center, where turnover is the highest. constant calls WILL burn you out, especially if you are introverted. *the systems/interfaces used on a daily basis typically freeze, malfunction, and a fair amount of time is spent fixing them, causing distress for the customer. *more on the work/life balance: expect to spend most of your shift on calls. employees are encouraged...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    treat people as they would want to be treated and not by any other factor. additionally, talk to employees to get a better gauge of what you should implement, instead of making changes arbitrarily.

    Progressive Insurance2016-06-20
  5. Helpful (5)

    "Benefits Galore!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time

    Pros

    -Decent Medical/Dental benefits at a reasonable cost -Ability to Work from home -Hourly Wage is good -Daycare assistance -Education assistance after 1 year

    Cons

    - Call Volume can be overwhelming - Shift Bids - Not many opportunities for advancement

    Advice to Management

    My only concern is the practice of shift bidding in the call center. I realize that this is the "trend" in call centers nowadays, but I have seen a significant amount of flaws with this system. In my opinion it affects those with families and outside obligations the most. I love everything about the company expect for this one major issue.

    Progressive Insurance2016-05-24
  6. Helpful (5)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Sales Representative in Riverview, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good atmosphere depending on sup. Great benefits with having gym, medical, everything on campus.

    Cons

    Newer sales process doesn't work with all personalities turning reps into cookie cutter agents. Lack of support and coaching from former supervisor, and being held to extremely high performance goals as per cross sell metrics that are some months impossible to hit due to current economy. Main con is the lack of support from direct supervisor.

    Advice to Management

    Go back to previous sales methods where agents could customize sale per customer not all customers respond to new process. Look for which supervisors are constantly having high turn over rates. The team I was on changed completely 5 times within a 12 month period due to the lack of coaching and support. Hold the sups more accountable for the success of their team. There are coaches that play favorites and some that will...

    Show More
    Progressive Insurance2016-05-04
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Extreme micro-management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Direct Sales Representative in Mentor, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Casual work environment, decent benefits, structured training format in terms of helping you to obtain your P&C insurance licensure in multiple states.

    Cons

    Extreme micro-management of employees who work in the call centers, poor pay regardless of performance, and managers who do little to support what is best for the career development of the employee....they only want what's best for the company and their bottom line.

    Progressive Insurance2016-04-06
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Not FMLA friendly, no room for advancement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Amazing co workers, cafeteria, and gym. Fair work life balance.

    Cons

    They denied my service animal on the property (I'm taking a screenshot of this in case it gets flagged again btw 1-25-2016) and they promote based off of favorites. They say they go by how well people answer questions, but not by tenure, knowledge, or contributions. I have had two reviews removed now, and I need people to know the truth. I have been with the company for 5 years, and I have won awards, recognition, and...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Train your higher ups on how the laws of allowing service animals on the property, and promote based on knowledge, caliber, tenure, and contributions, and not how well people can embellish the truth on questions during an interview.

    Progressive Insurance2016-01-22
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great benefits and Flexible Schedule."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales Representative in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, flexible schedule. If you do well, you are rewarded in small bonuses monthly. Easy job once you get the hang of it. Easy to get OT if that's your thing.

    Cons

    People who do well do not necessarily move up quickly enough. It's enough to make me look elsewhere after a few years. But overall a great place to work if you're looking for something flexible. A lot of people stick around for a long time.

    Progressive Insurance2015-11-06
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Great company and excellent work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Direct Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great training and trainers. Excellent academy instructors. The supervisors are wonderful and the culture is amazing. Great opportunities to promote and/or work from home. Management and company goes above and beyond in taking care of the employees.

    Cons

    Work is extremely redundant. Feel like a broken record in sales. However after 6 months and after 1 year, promotion and work from home. Available. Hiring process is very selective and interview is long, however, this leads to hiring successful candidates for the position. A lot of time and money is vested in new hires.

    Advice to Management

    Company is run extremely well from top to bottom. Keep taking care of your people and please find s way to get off the computer and phone every once and a while. I know that's tough because the job is phones but it is rough without breaking it up s little. Benefits and annual bonus is nice but pay is s little low

    Progressive Insurance2015-09-20
Found 20 reviews