Progressive Insurance Inbound Sales Representative Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Progressive Insurance Inbound Sales Representative Reviews

Updated 5 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
91%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Progressive Insurance President and Chief Executive Officer Tricia Griffith
Tricia Griffith
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company, Not-So-Great Position"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Sales Representative 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The corporate culture is unparalleled in its positivity and they do make an effort to ensure you feel welcomed as a new employee. They provide you with every resource possible to succeed in order to “pass” training. The CEO is extremely pleasant. The workforce is also very diverse.

    Cons

    The job itself is a call center job. You are tied to your chair by your headset for your entire shift. The only reprieve you get are your legally mandated breaks which get eaten into by your bathroom breaks, of which you will take many because of the copious amount of water you will drink to ensure the integrity of your voice as you talk for hours on end. About 60% of the conversations you will have are fine, the other 40 being unpleasant or downright intolerable. Yes, it turns out people will willingly call you to scream about their poor driving record and getting a highly priced quote because of it. Unpleasant customers calling in are not necessarily the company’s fault; but their sales process that they mandate must be followed on every call no matter the circumstances exacerbated many unpleasant calls I had. Angry/inpatient potential customers are not interested in hearing about Progressive’s homeowner’s line and/or bundle opportunities - they want to get a quote and end the call. The mandated sales process complicated that process immensely, with little room for variation.

    Show More
    Progressive Insurance2020-01-05
  2. "GREAT COMPANY"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Representative 

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Work from home, great benefits

    Cons

    not enough break time since you're virtual, new system to ask to leave early is the worst

    Progressive Insurance2019-11-15
  3. "Great place!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Mayfield, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment and great people

    Cons

    none that i can think of

    Progressive Insurance2019-02-07
  4. "Excellent company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Inbound Sales Representative 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance

    Pros

    Very good culture. You get what you put in. Dont be a S-bag and you'll succeed.

    Cons

    Too much free time in training

    Advice to Management

    Provide more work for those in training. Too much free time.

    Progressive Insurance2018-11-26
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A good job for the work you put into it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Riverview, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Easy work, great support from other staff, very flexible for requesting time off. It can be a Great work environment.

    Cons

    Can be a pain when trying to move up. Work can become very repetitive and boring. Doing a lot of the same tasks every day.

    Progressive Insurance2018-04-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Inbound Sales Representatve"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work! Love it and would highly recommend! They throughly train you, continue to coach you for success, all with an amazing super positive spirit. There's a true respect for quality of life in and outside of work and for being yourself. If you truly enjoy people and making them happy, Progressive is an amazing place to be.

    Cons

    I really can not think of any cons. But I'm required to have a 20 word minimum in this area.

    Advice to Management

    Whatever you're doing right now, keep doing it! It's working great!

    Progressive Insurance2017-05-09
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Discrimination"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They offer good pay and the benefits are very comparable. The cubicles are nice to be able to stay organized.

    Cons

    When I started there my team included a couple of woman that had worked there for 5-7 years. They gave me some advice (that turned out to not to good advice). It seemed harmless I was putting myself at the end of the phone line instead of just throwing myself randomly in the middle. But because of that they fired me. Instead of just explaining it was wrong I was out the door. I was told there was nothing they could do they didn't have the power to say I could stay because it was morally wrong of me(even though it was the main managers of my branch). Later a teammate called me up and said they brought him in the office for the same thing but just gave him a warning. I feel they discriminated against my sex and age. Why did an older man that had been there same amount of time as me get to keep his job but I was fired. I wound up losing everything because of that. I had stopped going to vet tech school to pursue this. After I lost my job my relationship fell apart, then my car got repossessed (my parents had co-signed so they didn't even want to talk to me) then I lost my apartment. And the whole time all I could think of was the manager as she walked me out saying keep your chin up. It was taunting me. So apparently putting yourself at the end of a phone line is more morally wrong than discriminating against sex and age.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Learn to look an employees like a human without discriminating.

    Progressive Insurance2017-06-10
  8. Helpful (2)

    "What You Give is What You Get"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Advanced training; ability to choose schedule based upon tenure and performance metrics; clearly outlined numerical performance expectations; annual 8% performance bonus; plentiful work-from-home opportunities; experienced management; ability to self-select daily break times

    Cons

    Repetitive call environment; must often explain difficult or technical underwriting protocol to customers who may not understand or accept; frequent periods of high call-volume with less than 5 seconds between calls

    Progressive Insurance2016-09-12
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Quality of life steadily going down"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Austin, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Progressive Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Friendly coworkers, variety of shifts available.

    Cons

    Workload more than tripled over past few years. Along with less off the phone time and a total disconnect between corporate message and managers. Also, seeing new reps get hired on at way higher base pay and preferred shifts is demoralizing. Gave this company a 0 internal culture survey across the board for first time ever.

    Advice to Management

    Cant stop this snowball.

    Progressive Insurance2016-09-27
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good no longer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inbound Sales Representative in Rancho Cordova, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Progressive Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Used to have an awesome culture.

    Cons

    All they care about now is making money, profit. In Rancho Cordova you will succeed if you are female, come from a certain country or identify a certain way.

    Advice to Management

    Grow up. Investigate what has taken over at that site. Go back to realizing customer service first instead of profit.

    Progressive Insurance2016-10-16
Found 17 reviews