Protiviti Employee Reviews about "internal audit"

Updated 20 May 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.0
82%
Recommend to a Friend
92%
Approve of CEO
Protiviti President and CEO Joseph A. Tarantino
Joseph A. Tarantino
1,070 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Clients are majorly Internal Audit(in 92 reviews)

  • "That is going to happen when you start off at the bottom of any consulting firm(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "internal audit"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "A truly awful experience. Another sales-driven consultancy also truly lacking expertise"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Contractor - Technology Consultant in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Protiviti for less than a year

    Pros

    Still trying to find any..... Ok, office in the Shard.

    Cons

    As a former employee of a Big4 Consultancy I had for a while the curiosity to try a smaller consulting firm as some colleagurs ended up with a better experience there with less sales pressure and a better working environment. Well, certainly my experience with Protiviti was different and when an opportunityto go move into a non-consulting firm came I did not let it go. In short I suggest to stay away from Protiviti UK. There are a lot of incompetent wannabes in particular nearing the top of the pyramid. I worked in the Technology Consulting and was frankly appalled at the lack of technologycskills that team has. Perhaps it is because the firm fundamentals are strongly rooted in internal audit and that is what they try to do in what should be a technology consulting practice which, at the end of the day, plays only the simplest game of the field: compliance assessment. Anything else is just an ad-hoc engagement where the delivery personnel will struggle to find any guidance or even work templates (in fact, I quicly realised that I had to resort to the ones I used with past employers). A breakfast event I attended on the audience side was an equally appalling experience with the Q&A period brutally revealing of the lack of expertise in the field. In all honesty I am leaving with no regrets and won't recommend the firm to anyone. Beware before you accept. I also encourage to go for a contract to test the water first.

    Continue reading
    Protiviti2018-05-20
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Unprofessional organisation"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Not applicable to this Co

    Cons

    Company's focus is on internal audit only, they hire you by offering a different role but once you joined here you have to do IA only irrespective of you experience and background, they judge the fish capability by giving a task to climb the tree, senior management do not have etiquette to talk to subordinates, we know that we are your juniors and wanted to work because we also have family to take care, but that doesn't mean we are your slaves, there is no tendency and TAT to approve or disapprove the submitted expenses, you can get a call to do a task immediately even at 11PM on Saturday night stating xxxx person need that urgently, but there is no urgency to approve the submitted expenses because it belongs to there so called slaves

    Continue reading
    Protiviti2020-05-20
  3. "Fair Pay for Amount of Work Done"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - Great people and culture - Structured promotion process

    Cons

    - Hard to get off bad projects - Same type of projects (from Internal Audit Financial Advisory perspective)

    Protiviti2020-04-14
  4. Helpful (7)

    "Find great talent and pay as little as possible"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Senior Manager 
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Protiviti

    Pros

    Great work life balance and overall culture

    Cons

    Collaboration across solutions is non-existent and controlled by the internal audit MDs. Revenue splitting / sales credit is a constant battle and does not reward employees for working with other individuals as a team. Pay is significantly below market and annual increases are always 3%. Leadership does not understand pay bands outside of the internal audit and strong talent walks out the door after discovering the ins and outs.

    Continue reading
    Protiviti2020-03-22
  5. "Solid Overall"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Consultant 

    I worked at Protiviti full-time

    Pros

    1. great company culture 2. solid work life balance for consulting 3. great upper level management

    Cons

    1. Clients are majorly Internal Audit

    Protiviti2020-01-21
  6. Helpful (1)

    "High turnover of internal audit team"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Protiviti full-time

    Pros

    do not think there is any now

    Cons

    Terrible. You would regret if you join the internal audit team.

    Protiviti2020-02-23
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Disappointing benefits, okay work"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Technology Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Flexible work arrangements (i.e. its up to the project manager to let you work from home, elsewhere. i've had little issues working from remote locations when needed) - Parental Leave: 10 weeks for either caregiver which is great. I haven't taken advantage but I know a few people who have and they truly benefited

    Cons

    - No insight to salary or movement within the company. Protiviti leadership oftens says how "clear" and "open" they want to make salary and benefits, and that they'd like to make them competitive to other firms and industry, however, we aren't given any insight to our own pay bands or what is considered "normal" for our position in our location. If you ask HR for the information they will not provide it. - Little incentive to earn certifications. Most of the certifications that earn you a bonus are for Risk and Compliance or Internal Audit. The Tech Consulting certificates are objectively harder, usually more expensive, but we aren't allowed to earn bonuses for the tools and services that we use every day. When I asked an HR rep why this was it was because "everyone should be cross trained in Internal Audit work." In my 3 years I have never touched, and never hope to touch, Internal Audit work. - Retention. I have seen many many many people leave this company, just within TC. We have a problem keeping people past 3 years because the pay does not justify the work, and management just has empty promises. - Diversity. We somehow keep winning awards for diversity and inclusion and I honestly don't know how. In my office within my group there are only 2 women above Manager. Of the 22 or so of us there are only 3 people of color. POC representation is even worse within Internal Audit where there are primarily white males all from the same college. I've spoken to many friends in other offices and I know they see the same issues.

    Continue reading
    Protiviti2020-01-03
  8. "Senior Consultant"

    4.0
    Former Employee - Senior Consultant in McLean, VA

    I worked at Protiviti full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people in the Metro DC office are great to work with and very friendly. The team get togethers and committee activities are fun, and there are many opportunities to network with upper management in the office and at trainings.

    Cons

    Depending on the client, the internal audit-focused annuity work can be dry. Also, moving from one function to another can be difficult based on client/functional needs.

    Protiviti2019-12-09
  9. "Senior Consultant - Fantastic Team to Work With"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Salt Lake City, UT
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great overall culture - Local and corporate management really invest in helping their people grow! Great people to work with! - After over a year with Protiviti, I have yet to work with someone I didn't like or get along with. Wide Range of work - I focus on the Internal Audit side of things, and have had the opportunity to work on a wide range of clients - from tech companies to manufacturers. I've also had the chance to work on/with virtually every aspect of a business. Opportunities - Protiviti is very much in growth mode right now, and there's a lot of chances for someone to come in and make a real difference. Flexibility - One of the great things about Protiviti is they're very good about assigning you to work and to clients that reflects what you want, so long as you tell them. I've met a couple of people who LOVE to travel; they want to spend most if not all of their time flying somewhere else. Protiviti accommodates, and they spend most of their time away from their home market. Others prefer not to travel, either because of family, personal preference, or some other reason. Again, leadership accommodates as best they can, and they rarely go out of market. In addition, if there's a particular kind of project you want to work on, leadership will work to get you assigned to such a project. Mentoring - Every employee has three different advisors assigned to them when they start, and they help guide new employees both in starting at the job, and at determining a long-term career path. Perks - There's a lot of little stuff that's hard to quantify, so this is kind of a more miscellaneous category. That said, we have a lot of fun with team lunches, office town halls, initiatives such as office committees in charge of planning social activities and sporting activities, and other things.

    Cons

    Protiviti is professional services firm, and that does come with a few inherent downsides, or at least things to look out for. We are focused on client needs, and those needs can change, sometimes at the drop of a hat, and sometimes due to actions of other third parties, such as external auditors. Management does it's best to stay on top of everything and manage projects to avoid issues, but sometimes the work just needs to be done, especially if a team falls behind schedule. While I haven't heard of anyone in Salt Lake working Big 4 Busy Season-type hours (60-70 hour weeks), this definitely isn't a job where you can put in 40 hours, then check out, go home, and not think about work again until Monday morning. None of this has been an issue for me personally, but it's something to be aware of.

    Continue reading
    Protiviti2019-10-18
  10. "Great Company!"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Consultant in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Protiviti full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Protiviti has a great culture, not in terms of providing free snacks and lunches (which they do), but in terms of making sure their leaders act like leaders. Managers+ tend to have the implicit understanding that their role is 1) to manage projects to successful completion and 2) grow your consultants. Most managers at Protiviti have that growth mindset, don't get stuck in their own little power bubbles, and generally do a good job of advocating for their consultants. There are of course exceptions, but this is the culture that is exuded from executive leadership that most managers+ tend to follow. Work-life balance is pretty spot on, and there isn't an expectation (in internal audit at least) to put in exuberant hours to get your work done. People do a pretty good job at being reasonable about staffing and talent management.

    Cons

    It's pretty tough to switch between solutions if you decide the work you're doing isn't for you. The stars have to align just right for it to happen, and let's face it, most of us aren't that lucky.

    Continue reading
    Protiviti2019-10-18
Found 113 reviews