Publishing Concepts Reviews

Updated 17 Jul 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
57%
Recommend to a Friend
76%
Approve of CEO
Publishing Concepts President Drew Clancy (no image)
Drew Clancy
88 Ratings
Pros
  • "very nice people and considerate management(in 6 reviews)

  • "The company believes in Servant Leadership, serving each other as well as our clients(in 6 reviews)

Cons
  • "PCI continues to work towards improving this as should everyone(in 10 reviews)

  • "Their are no warm leads with this company, they Publish Alumni directories(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Place to Work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Publishing Concepts part-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great top management, Great teammates, family atmosphere, great benefits, quarterly meetings with the CEO, COO, EVPs, etc where they share the finances and future of our company. Very transparent. Quarterly reviews with managers to assess how they and I can do better: they help me succeed! Too many more to list. Just love my PCI!!

    Cons

    None I can think of. I really am being honest.

    Continue reading

    Publishing Concepts Response

    July 20, 2020VP Client Relations

    Thank you so much for your positive review and comments. We are so thankful for you - you're part of the reason PCI is a best place to work in all the states in which we have associates!

  2. Helpful (1)

    "May or mayn't be for everyone"

    2.0
    • Culture & Values
    Former Employee - Inside Sales 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Publishing Concepts full-time

    Pros

    If you love inbound and outbound sales, it will be great for you. Their core values are good.

    Cons

    Training isn't completed and they start making you take calls which could have you a bit intimidated. Solid answers aren't provided to questions you may have during training. Only have you hear calls that do well during training when in reality most calls you come across may give you a bit of a challenge. Would help if you heard how some reps over come the challanges or don't.

    Continue reading

    Publishing Concepts Response

    July 20, 2020VP Client Relations

    Thank you for your positive comments about our values and the sales organization. We are deliberate and thoughtful about creating a positive working environment and particularly to the process of introducing new associates to PCI, showing them how we live our values and communicating our expectations. Our quality and client experience teams are specifically dedicated to helping ensure we provide a WOW experience to our clients, and we are fierce about our standard of service and the experience we provide on each and every call. Our training program provides opportunities for classroom learning as well as "hands-on" experience taking live calls, with guidance. We also offer a call library so that all new, and even seasoned, associates can reference and learn from what's worked well for others. We review hundreds of calls each week, scoring them to ensure that we have clearly communicated every time, that we have correctly recorded each person's data and their story, and most importantly that we have been kind and thoughtful and respectful every time. Our goal is for every individual and their family members to open the final publication and be just as proud of it as we are. Thank you for your feedback about listening to and learning from some more challenging calls - that is a great insight! We wish you all the best in your future sales endeavors.


  3. "A Special Culture"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Publishing Concepts full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have worked at several companies but never for one that puts so much effort into trying to do what’s right for its associates. Leadership cares for people on a personal and professional level. My development and growth are top priority for my manager.

    Cons

    Meeting frequency can sometimes cause redundancy but it’s better to know what’s going on than to be in the dark.

    Continue reading

    Publishing Concepts Response

    July 6, 2020VP Client Relations

    Thank you so much for your positive review and comments. Our #1 business strategy is to provide an engaging and upbeat environment filled with learning and growth so that our associates can realize their potential and better serve our clients. We truly believe that PCI's workforce is one of the best in the United States, and we are so thankful for you!

  4. COVID-19

    "This an awesome place to work. It's truly Not The Big Company."

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in San Antonio, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Publishing Concepts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Everyone is so kind and humble. It feels like family. I love my job.

    Cons

    The only con is due to Covid-19 we are unable to get to know each other on a more personal level.

    Continue reading

    Publishing Concepts Response

    July 6, 2020VP Client Relations

    Thank you so much for your positive review and comments about our culture and your teammates. We've had many conversations in the last few months about how best to stay connected to each other during this unprecedented time. We hope you've found PubHub and Zoom to be places you can keep up with all that's happening and to connect with your peers. Please share any ideas you have with your manager or a member of the People team - we are always looking for ways to get better!

  5. "Positive"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 

    I worked at Publishing Concepts full-time

    Pros

    You get to have nice conversations with clients

    Cons

    Hours people product, commission structure

    Publishing Concepts Response

    July 15, 2020VP Client Relations

    We are thankful for your positive rating and comments about our work and clients. We take tremendous pride in the work we have been asked to do by the institutions and service organizations with whom we partner, and we love having conversations with and preserving the stories of those folks who are members and alumni of those organizations. We try to be deliberate and thoughtful about providing opportunities for associates to learn and grow, to work from home, to have quarterly career conversations, and to maintain an open dialogue about development goals. In the last 12 months, PCI has been recognized as one of the best places to work in all the states in which we have associates. We do our best to provide an engaging and upbeat environment for our associates and to provide a robust benefits package for our team members and their families - everything from health and dental benefits to life insurance to paid time off and tuition reimbursement. Thank you for your comments and we wish you all the best in your future sales endeavors.

  6. Helpful (1)

    "Traumatizing"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Publishing Concepts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Absolutely nothing about this company is positive.

    Cons

    DISGUSTING and disgraceful leadership, judgemental, RACIST man's world unless you suck up the the CEO that's arrogant annoying and all up in his feelings. VP destroys careers in one location to build her dynasty in another. There is nothing about this company or their products that's worth the misery and disrespect you will encounter. If I could give a negative eating it would be -10. Run the other way.

    Continue reading

    Publishing Concepts Response

    July 6, 2020VP Client Relations

    We are disappointed that you did not have a positive experience at PCI. We are deliberate and thoughtful about providing opportunities for associates to learn and grow, to communicate directly with our leadership team, to work from home, to have quarterly career conversations, and to maintain an open dialogue about development goals. PCI has been recognized as one of the best places to work in every state we have associates, and we believe that's in part because we are fierce about our standard of service and to our commitment that every associate lives the 5 core values. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  7. Helpful (1)

    "Not good"

    1.0
    Former Employee - Minister 

    I worked at Publishing Concepts full-time

    Pros

    Some very nice coworkers you meet a lot of them because turnover is constant.

    Cons

    If you don't have anything nice to say

    Continue reading

    Publishing Concepts Response

    June 29, 2020VP Client Relations

    We are disappointed that you did not have a positive experience at PCI. Thank you for your positive comment about our associates - we strive to choose candidates who are naturally kind, who care about giving their best to our clients, and who are consistently in alignment with our values and vision. We wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  8. Helpful (1)

    "If You're Willing to Drink The Kool-Aid, You'll Be Fine."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Publishing Concepts full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Solid Product/Service provided to clients.

    Cons

    Has a creepy cultish environment.

    Continue reading

    Publishing Concepts Response

    May 21, 2020VP Client Relations

    Thank you for your positive comments about our products and service. At PCI, we take tremendous pride in the work with do with our partners - colleges, universities, high schools, veterans groups and service organizations - and in their service ratings. Our overall "recommend score", the rating given by alumni and members after each interaction with an associate of PCI, recently climbed to and remains over 96%. We are disappointed that you did not have a fully positive experience at PCI. Our #1 business strategy is to provide an engaging and upbeat environment so that our associates can realize their potential and better serve our clients. We are deliberate and thoughtful about that working environment and particularly to the process of introducing new associates to PCI, showing them how we live our values and communicating our expectations. We believe that's one of the reasons we're recognized as one of the best places to work in every state in which we have associates. We thank you for your time with us, and for your feedback here, and we wish you all the best in your future endeavors.

  9. Helpful (2)

    "Not Your Typical Company: Love PCI"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Virginia Beach, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Publishing Concepts full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits , Work from Home, Transparent about Financials, Quarterly Career Conversations, Company Commitment to Personal Growth and Learning, Coworkers feel like Family, Open Door Policy of Leadership

    Cons

    Lots of meetings, but that can also speak to transparency.

    Publishing Concepts Response

    February 24, 2020VP Client Relations

    We are so thankful for your positive rating and comments about our culture and people and programs - we appreciate you!

  10. Helpful (6)

    "If you want a real review"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Inside Sales in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Publishing Concepts full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonus’s, Benefits, Commission, and Flexibility

    Cons

    Where do I begin, I worked here for 2 years and the only knowledge I gained was to never let anyone walk all over me again. When I first started at pci I was told that they promote within and you have a lot of opportunities for growth. Well they lied, I became a back up as you would say, meaning they only wanted me if I was filling in for someone else, other than that they wanted me on the phones making their revenue. Don’t get me wrong, there is plenty of room to make commission and your own money, but you have to lie to people on the phone to get there. We updated data for alumni calling in for their organization that we were partners with, then when we updated their data we would try to sell them products with their school or organization logo on it, one of the products is a directory that the information your updating goes into... well we have to lie to the alumni and tell them it will be a year before they get the directory, even though that’s already A long time as it is, they normally won’t get their directory for a year and a half to 2 years later. And we are pressured to push hard sales tactics (giving 3 offers, sometimes 4) in order to not be written up. And they have “special” ques that the really good associates are in. And then if you don’t perform to their company average (instead of individual average) then you are placed on a performance plan which is just a fancy way of saying, “we are going to train and coach you more by different people just to push you out faster” See I was not only a inside sales associate but I covered for team managers, covered for other departments and was a peer to peer coach... but did I get a raise or any type of recognition with the company to move up? NO! In fact I’m told by HR and the Inside Sales director That i wasn’t “passionate” enough for the role. But I was always the one person they always ran to for help. I was always the one person that would drop everything to attend to theirs needs, but the second I feel I should be treated fairly, they just put me on the back burner. So I got tired of it and went to a different company that will actually appreciate my worth. PCI will try to pride themselves on their “culture” when in reality it’s just them covering up for their favoritism and racism that goes on behind closed doors. They will preach their values down your throat and expect you to know everything but yet they never apply any of it. And some of the managers running those teams have never been on the phones before! So even though they told me in my interview that they hire within, do not be fooled, they so far have hire 2 outside managers in the past year... not to mentioned they have fired a ton of people for no reason. (I know this because I still talk with the associates who were let go) Bottom line, when I first started, they made me feel like I could be a president of the United States, but by about a month or 2 in, you will really start to feel like just another sales associate. The only reason I stayed as long as I did was I gave them a chance... actually several chances and tried even harder to move up and really improved everything I could, and they still put other people in the role that don’t have nearly enough experience or integrity to do the job. Don’t work here if you value your self worth because your just another number to them.

    Continue reading

    Publishing Concepts Response

    February 18, 2020VP Client Relations

    Thank you for mentioning compensation and benefits in your positives. We do our best to offer competitive compensation as well as a robust benefits package for our team members and their families - everything from health and dental benefits to life insurance to paid time off and tuition reimbursement. We try to be deliberate and thoughtful about providing opportunities for associates to learn and grow, to work from home, to have quarterly career conversations, and to maintain an open dialogue about development goals. Our #1 business strategy is to provide an engaging and upbeat environment so that our associates can realize their potential and better serve our clients. We are dedicated to providing the opportunities, challenges, tools, respect, and encouragement to allow our associates to realize their potential and achieve great things. Our goal is always to promote internally if we can - we have a variety of roles that naturally enable our associates to grow up into the next level and we very purposely provide opportunities within daily responsibilities, daily recognition and regularly scheduled training events to allow associates to shine so that their growth is visible. We believe that's one of the reasons that PCI is recognized as one of the best places to work in all the states in which we have associates. We wish you all the best.

Found 117 reviews