Pulse (UK) Business Manager Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Find jobs for Business Manager

Pulse (UK) Business Manager Reviews

Updated 3 Aug 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 8 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
61%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pulse (UK) CEO Richard MacMillan
Richard MacMillan
7 Ratings
  1. Featured Review

    "Build a fantastic career in recruitment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Process Manager in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Having worked for Pulse myself for nearly 15 years, it is clear that there is encouragement to develop our own management internally, instead of employing managers from outside the business, which gives us a key USP against competitors. Career development is so important and the pathway is visible from day one. There are a number of benefits including good basic annual leave, opportunity to buy/sell holiday, online discounts portal, health insurance to cover you/partner/family, as well as a pension scheme. Pulse is also invested in giving something back, so there are regular charity events and functions happening throughout the year, which the majority of people get involved in. I have and will continue to recommend anyone to work here, whether you want a career in recruitment, admin, HR, marketing, finance. The opportunities are endless!

    Cons

    Parking onsite at our office is a bit of a nightmare!

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-01-26

    Pulse (UK) Response

    March 1, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We are very passionate about supporting our employees to help them to grow within Pulse and ICS; developing clear career paths and providing training and opportunities for progression is definitely a key focus across our business. We are committed to gathering and acting upon feedback from our employees, finding out what's important and having an impact on their experience here and will continue to do so. It's great to read about your positive experience thus far and I hope that you continue to develop and progress in your career here.

    Continue reading
  2. "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Excellent company to work for with lots of support. Great opportunities for promotion.

    Cons

    There isn’t anything to mention

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-02-21

    Pulse (UK) Response

    March 1, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It's great to read that you feel there are good career opportunities here and that you'd recommend Pulse as a great place to work. We take on board your feedback and will share this with the senior managers.

    Continue reading
  3. "A once great company that has lost its way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Account Manager in Broxbourne, East of England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    There were some great people within the business. The CEO is a great leader, but his senior management let him down.

    Cons

    I worked for Pulse for over 10 years and the reviews I have seen on here do not reflect the poor treatment that I have seen happen especially over the last 2 years. The division I worked in had no direction or strategy. Poor decisions at senior management level lead to losing many major contracts and candidates. It all could have been different if they had listened to the staff who were on the ground who knew the market. This once great company who I absolutely loved working for let me down. Lack of support to do my job efficiently, poor communication, and being left to keep staff moral high after changes being made to the business that I had no say in. No career progression- a career pathway was spoken about and promised for over 3 years which never materialised. The bonus structure is an absolute joke for what is supposed to a recruitment company! finally the company of late has lost some really good employees who worked hard and grew the business at its peak, these employees were loyal and stayed because they wanted to see the company get to that success again, but you let them down. I'm still waiting for my exit interview so I thought I'd write a review.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2019-08-03

    Pulse (UK) Response

    August 7, 2019HR Business Partner

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am sorry that your experience of working at Pulse wasn't as positive towards the end of your career as we'd like to achieve. I want to reassure you that we will take your feedback on board and ensure that we work with the Leadership team to address these concerns and take any remedial action to improve the experience of our employees both now and in the future. Thank you for your contribution to Pulse over the time you’ve worked with us. You have stated that you didn’t receive an exit interview; if you wish, please contact me at marcia.white@ukics.com, so that this can be arranged.

    Continue reading
  4. "Great opportunities and career pathways..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Enthusiastic, dedicated team Fantastic opportunities for career development in numerous locations across the whole of the healthcare sector Management team have strong values and are always approachable Rewards and benefits package is fantastic so you are always motivated to do better

    Cons

    Currently a tough market I'm struggling to write any cons - you get out what you put into this job and I have always been given the support to develop. The expectations are very high as you would expect from the leading temporary nursing supplier in the UK - it's a great place to be.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-05-06

    Pulse (UK) Response

    May 11, 2016Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to post a review. I see you have been with us for 8 years - Congratulations! It's great to hear that you have progressed your career with us and continue to do so - you'll know that career development and progression are something we feel very passionate about. We will always continue to invest in our people!

    Continue reading
  5. "Hard work is rewarded."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Pulse is a fast paced busy work environment. It's young, vibrant and hard work is rewarded well. There are many incentives and perks that will ensure your success. Drive and ambition will be your key to success.

    Cons

    It's a target based workplace but so long as you apply yourself you can achieve anything. I have worked here for 3 years and I have achieved manager level.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2015-09-28

    Pulse (UK) Response

    October 15, 2015Group HR Director

    Thank you for posting your review. I agree with you that drive and ambition are key to success - there are so many opportunities for development and progression within this business if you want it. You have to work hard but as you say if you apply yourself you can achieve anything. Congratulations on becoming a Manager in 3 years, a fantastic achievement!

    Continue reading
  6. "Great Place to Start and Further Your Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    I have been working for Pulse altogether for 4 1/2 years, I left to work from home as I had a change in circumstances and this suited my needs at that time. My circumstances then changed and I wanted to get back into an office environment and I was straight on the phone to Pulse to see if they had any roles and here I am! They are a superb company to work for, I have worked for a few recruitment agencies in my career and Pulse is the only one I knew I would work for again. They offer great career progression and that is shown by the number of employees that have started at the "bottom" and worked their way up. Fantastic social events, including a huge Christmas party. Great perks, such as pension, private healthcare etc and flexi holidays starting at 25 days plus bank hols!

    Cons

    Needed a better internal on boarding and training structure for new and existing employees - however this is a main focus at present and currently being rolled out across the company.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2015-09-25

    Pulse (UK) Response

    October 15, 2015Group HR Director

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we really value your feedback. It's great to hear that you came back to work with us. As you point out, On-boarding and training is a priority for us and we have made huge investments in Talent Development this year - hopefully you will see the benefits of this very soon.

    Continue reading
  7. "Great Place to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Cheshunt, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    Excellent Career progression on offer. Company always looks to prompt from within and support their staff to progress in their career and stay within the business. I have experienced this first hand working with the company for the last 7 years and progressing myself. Plenty on offer to keep staff motivated including company wide events such as Xmas party to divisional and team incentives. Excellent management who are support and want their best for their team

    Cons

    Hours can be long and it is a job that can come with a level of pressure but you get out what you put in.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2015-09-23

    Pulse (UK) Response

    October 15, 2015Group HR Director

    Thank you for your review. I agree with you that there is excellent career progression on offer; something we feel very passionate about and as you say we always aim to promote from within where we can. It's great to hear your positive comments and thank you for your advice. I couldn't agree more - communication and working together is key; we will continue to facilitate and encourage this where we can.

    Continue reading
  8. "Business Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Manager in Wrexham, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Its great to work for a company that rewards you for doing a good job. The company make you feel valued as an employee.

    Cons

    There are no cons to this company - I love working for Pulse

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2015-04-27

    Pulse (UK) Response

    November 25, 2015Group HR Director

    Thank you for your review. It’s really encouraging to read your positive comments and to hear that you love working for Pulse.

    Continue reading
Found 8 reviews