Pulse (UK) Reviews

Updated 9 Mar 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.9
73%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Pulse (UK) CEO Mike Barnard
Mike Barnard
1 Rating
  1. Helpful (5)

    "OK"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Bookings Coordinator in Kings Cross, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK) for more than a year

    Pros

    Pulse provided company events, had a great Christmas party and is based in a great location! You generally can leave work when your contracted time is up. There seems to be opportunities for career progression e.g bookings consultant to recruitment consultant to senior consultant and then team leader (if you want to be in senior management though, it might be difficult to get there if you are from an ethnic minority)! They also have a good benefit system and the MD and CEO are friendly.

    Cons

    The commission. They tell you at your interview that you receive individual commission if you hit your targets and then when you start, they change it to a team target. Its ridiculous because even if you work hard and hit your target every month, unless everyone on the team hits the target, you get nothing! It is one of the reasons I left. You also get micro managed.... its like being in school... but if they like you, you can take a 30 minute loo break every 2 hours (which a few of my colleagues did- funnily enough- they were the ones NOT hitting their target)!

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-10-02
  2. Helpful (4)

    "Dire, liars, just looking for a quick buck"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    no pros at all just self absorbed

    Cons

    s poor management,just want yes men and grovelling to get advancement

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-10-04

    Pulse (UK) Response

    October 26, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate all feedback; helping us to make positive changes to continue to create a culture whereby everyone feels valued and appreciated. If you would like to contact me to provide additional feedback on some of the points you have raised, please email ria.weller@ukics.com

  3. "Growing opportunities with a growing company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Support Worker in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pulse put the client at the centre of the experience, retaining that focus at all times. As such, the organisation continues to grow, partly as the high standard of training leads to a highly capable workforce.

    Cons

    As with many healthcare organisations, the training is unpaid.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-08-07

    Pulse (UK) Response

    August 8, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - your feedback and advice will be shared with the relevant team. Putting our people and our clients at the centre and providing a high standard of training is something that we are really proud of. It's great that you have a positive outlook and would recommend Pulse!

  4. Helpful (3)

    "0% chance of career progression here"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Private health insurance - HR team are good here - Nice offices

    Cons

    - No internal career progression and no opportunity to extend your knowledge - No acknowledgement from senior staff for overtime completed - No opportunity to extend your career knowledge even when you present them with courses to go on - Seem more willing to bring in external staff who fail every time in my time than willing to promote within which has worked every time so far in my time - Marketing team are rubbish

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-09-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Team Leader"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Team Leader in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Great progression, amazing management, great advise, chances to flag issues at work to management wiithout being a coward and putting it on glassdoor

    Cons

    A handful of people who work here feel like they are entitled to more without putting effort in and then act like wounded animals when it doesn't go their way.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-07-22

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 25, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for your review. Taking the time to listen to our people is something that is really important to us; we will be looking at how we can develop the focus group sessions going forward. Thank you for your feedback.

  6. "Good company, good colleagues and good support!"

    4.0
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    Pulse is always looking to improve itself which is great. The company always knows it has more in the tank which really drives me to succeed everyday at work. Certain support teams work really well and there are certain people within the company who really make you love what you do and really do fill you with inspiration! My chief operating officer really is fantastic and is a great asset to the company. The CEO is really involved (considering the level he is at) which is really great and makes all employees feel part of a bigger picture. He seems to know a little bit about everyone-I don't know how he does it!

    Cons

    The training programmes need improvement, it would be great to have some help with that in branches. Also, it would be nice for all ideas to be explored by managers (within reason) as people on ground level really do have some valid points to help improve business and I don't think they should just be brushed to one side. Some of the support teams could do a better job with getting back to you at all or quicker rather than having to chase.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-07-10

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 18, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for your feedback - it's fantastic to read so many positive comments about Pulse. It is very important that our people are listened to. If you have any further recommendations on how we can improve the business and would like to discuss these in more detail, please contact me on ria.weller@ukics.com. Thank you for your feedback

  7. "Good company"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Support Worker in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Once you start it is a great company to work for and the training is the best you will learn alot.

    Cons

    Getting to your start date, it is a long process and I believe they need to be more truthful about how long it would take to start after all the training.

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-07-07

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 15, 2016Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - it's great that you consider Pulse a great company to work for and that you would recommend us. Your feedback will be passed on to the relevant team to ensure that we continue to improve our processes; ensuring that Pulse continues to be a great place to work for everyone!

  8. Helpful (3)

    "Treated unfairly"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    The only pro about this job was the salary

    Cons

    People at senior level talk down to new starters Working there looks like a call centre

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-07-28

    Pulse (UK) Response

    August 3, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It's disappointing to read about your experience whilst you were working with us. if you would like to contact me so that we can discuss your concerns in more detail, please email me on ria.weller@ukics.com

  9. "Great Company!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Case Manager in Manchester, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Pulse (UK) full-time

    Pros

    I have worked for the company for over 1 year and can safely say I have learnt a lot within the business. There is on-going training not only for internal employees but also our support workers, the training that we receive is by far the best training I have ever came across. Don't get me wrong in the past the office management haven't been there for me work wise but now there is a new structure and new management in place, I don't feel the dreaded feeling coming into the office I now feel every day is a challenge and i strive to do my best for my clients and my colleagues.

    Cons

    Paying for parking and on -call

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-06-21

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 12, 2016Managing Director

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review - it's great to read so many positive comments. We are passionate about creating a culture where our people feel supported; ensuring that we continue to make this a great place to work for everyone!

  10. Helpful (6)

    "sinister company"

    1.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at Pulse (UK)

    Pros

    not sure because there are too many things that are just plain wrong

    Cons

    if at first you get something wrong cheat

    Continue reading
    Pulse (UK)2016-07-18

    Pulse (UK) Response

    July 20, 2016Head of HR

    Thank you for your review. It's disappointing to read that your experience with us is not as positive as we would like to achieve. If you would like to discuss your concerns confidentially and in more detail, please email me at ria.weller@ukics.com

Found 113 reviews