QinetiQ Group Reviews

Updated Sep 20, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 265 of over 407 reviews

3.9
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
QinetiQ Group CEO Steve Wadey
Steve Wadey
112 Ratings
Pros
  • "Interesting work, clever people (without big heads(in 43 reviews)

  • "Good range of benefits with flexible working generally available with line manager approval(in 39 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Bad middle management during covid(in 27 reviews)

  • "Some senior management or 'leaders' operate completely separately from the Subject Matter Experts (SME's) on the shop floor(in 19 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Great company

      Sep 20, 2021 - Project Manager in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive, lots of training, and warm environment

      Cons

      I have no negative comments

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Sep 15, 2021 - Exercise Physiologist in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Looks after it staff and employees

      Cons

      No publicly shared pay grade system

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Growing company and great projects - still suffers from hierarchical leadership

      Sep 6, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - Fantastic projects - Really great people - Good learning environment - Good management during Covid

      Cons

      - Culture remains fragmented accross the group - Exec team still likes to 'tell' rather than 'listen' - Company has got a little obsessed with profit and seems to be forgetting its key asset - the people

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Good place to work

      Aug 25, 2021 - Commercial Manager in Bristol, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people, flexible working, good comms

      Cons

      Progression is difficult, training budget limited and pay is average.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Interesting and Pioneering Engineering

      Aug 25, 2021 - Autonomous Systems Engineer in Canterbury, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Interesting profession with a big range of challenges and projects

      Cons

      Can be a very bureaucratic organisation

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Everyday is a School Day at QinetiQ

      Aug 16, 2021 - Project Manager in Salisbury, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      - QinetiQ delivery really important projects supporting security and defence interests. - Wide range of projects and capabilities from flight test, to cyber, to maritime design, satellite systems, electric propulsion, simulation and training, test pilot school, aircraft design, RF technology etc. - Growing business with a good strategy.

      Cons

      - Over coming civil service heritage challenges.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      QinetiQ Group Response

      Group Resourcing Partner

      Thank you for your great comments. We are really pleased you feel so engaged. We are working on educating our customers to ensure best working practices are followed.

    7. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Great job Poor Pay

      Aug 27, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Lincoln, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Exciting work and great people

      Cons

      Minimal reward for anything you do

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      A bit dated but fine. Interesting subject matter

      Aug 19, 2021 - Anonymous Employee in London, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      On the whole people lovely and also very smart. They do a lot of interesting work and you learn loads about areas you didn’t know even were a thing! Had some fascinating conversations and saw many clever people really excelling in their fields. Pretty much every stakeholder I dealt with was approachable, kind and enthusiastic about their work which was great.

      Cons

      Huge mess around re: whether contractors were to be kept on or not during covid, which to be honest dominated my time towards the end. Was told on more than one occasion I was going to be let go only then for nothing to happen - which was a better outcome than being let go but made my workload very stop-start as I kept thinking I’d have to finish soon and handover. Related to this pre-covid they were very old school re:working from home. Everyone came in every day and still wore suits etc which lead to a somewhat pale/male/stale feeling. Think the pandemic brought them kicking and screaming into modernity a bit tho (which is a good thing). Huge military style emphasis on who’s who in the hierarchy rather than treating everyone the same. Some pretty rubbish ideas were listened to just because of who they were said by, rather than if those ideas are any good. Personally I was not very well supported especially with approvals processes which were interminable at times.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      QinetiQ Group Response

      Group Resourcing Partner

      QinetiQ’s response throughout the pandemic, has been (and still is) focused on protecting our health and wellbeing and that of our families, continuing to deliver for our customers, and retaining staff where possible whilst sustaining our company for the long term. Any decision to reduce contracted staff has been done with careful thought and unfortunately we had to make some difficult decisions along the way. Further enhancements were made in July this year, when we shared our company guidance on working principles to provide a proactive and flexible framework to how and where we work. This is underpinned by informal and formal flexible working, enabling us to adapt our working patterns to meet customer and team commitments, as well as our individual needs. Embracing this flexibility on optimal working patterns will help us to improve our performance, create better engagement and enable us to grow. Over the last 2-3 years, much work has been undertaken to implement technological advancements, operating globally, and has pushed parts of our business to adapt how they work. We have invested in a number of new global digital tools such as Success Factors which has streamlined and improved the approvals process and hiring accountability.

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company moving in the right direction

      Aug 1, 2021 - Aerospace Engineer in Salisbury, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A good company with a clear drive to develop and transform, though a long way to go as still using old tools. TOIL is fantastic and the benefits package is good

      Cons

      A workforce with a lot of experience but struggles to mentor and pass that experience down. Leads to a lot of retention issues

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      QinetiQ Group Response

      Group Resourcing Partner

      Thank you for your feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoy the benefits package. We have invested in a new tool called Success Factors that will support managers in training and the day to day management of their team. There are also lots of new opportunities for employees to attend career courses through the Academy.

    10. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      A great place to work

      Jul 27, 2021 - Business Development Manager in Great Malvern, England, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      New CEO is a breath of fresh air

      Cons

      Many cumbersome procedures slow business down

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      QinetiQ Group Response

      Group Resourcing Partner

      Many thanks for the feedback. We have introduced some new tools which will aim to speed up and streamline processes. If you have any specific ideas, then please let your functional manager know and we can look into this.

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 265 Reviews

    Popular Careers with QinetiQ Group Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at QinetiQ Group? Share Your Experiences

    QinetiQ Group logo
    or