Find jobs for Senior Scientist

QinetiQ Group Senior Scientist Reviews

Updated Mar 7, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 17 of over 408 reviews

3.9
79%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
QinetiQ Group CEO Steve Wadey
Steve Wadey
6 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A really nice environment to work in!

    Feb 8, 2019 - Research Scientist in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting work, clever people (without big heads!) and a culture that both supports and encourages you to be your best.

    Cons

    None that I have seen to date!

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    QinetiQ Group Response

    Group Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. QinetiQ has been on a journey of improvement and we are pleased that the efforts made by the whole team are reflected in your comments. We will continue to aspire to the very highest standards. We would be delighted if you could provide this feedback directly and share your colleagues.

  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Good place to work, but no longer as innovative as it used to be

    Mar 7, 2021 - Research Scientist in Malvern, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great people, great work-life balance

    Cons

    Still feels like civil service at times

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Great place to work, lack of progression

    Feb 7, 2021 - Scientist in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some great colleagues and interesting work, flexible working.

    Cons

    Their pay structure is very secretive, this can lead to big differences in pay.

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful

    QinetiQ Group Response

    Group Resourcing Partner

    Thanks for taking the time to write a good review. We acknowledge that pay remains a sensitive and personal subject and we work hard to keep personal data safe. Our reward structure however is transparent for employees and we maintain strongly competitive market pay with an unparalleled suite of additional employee benefits.

  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great people, interesting work - still privatising.

    Nov 18, 2020 - Data Scientist in Malvern, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    The people, interesting work, good support system.

    Cons

    The salary was behind market-value, was still transitioning from public to private. This meant the older heads had large public sector pensions not made available to newer members of staff.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Expect a lot of stress and low pay

    Dec 20, 2019 - Research Scientist in Great Malvern, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible hours. Onsite gym membership.

    Cons

    Low pay. High pressure that treats Scientific Research as a turnkey job.

    2 people found this review helpful
  6. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Bright people hounded by idiotic management

    Jan 21, 2019 - Senior Scientist in Great Malvern, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some of the sites are in extremely beautiful parts of the United Kingdom

    Cons

    Shockingly poor management, continual introduction of new business models, the senior management are in complete ignorance of the drive and ability of those who make the organisation work. A bullying culture, with HR acting as little more than secret policemen, and a performance development process, that is nothing but systematised cronyism

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful

    QinetiQ Group Response

    Group Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your feedback. Sorry that this has been your personal experience. We work closely with our people and our employee engagement groups and work hard to create a positive experience for everyone that works in QinetiQ. We are proud of our Code of Conduct that clearly states that we do not tolerate bullying in any form within QinetiQ and we always take any allegations extremely seriously. QinetiQ’s journey of continuous improvement has delivered our 3rd year of growth and our all employee incentive scheme recognises the contribution of all of our employees.

  7. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Has everything a company needs to be great but management holds it back

    Jun 28, 2018 - Scientist in Malvern, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Some excellent people that are both friendly and very capable. A wide variety of work that will have something of interest for everyone. Very relaxed working environment and flexible hours. Outstandingly beautiful location.

    Cons

    My pay review in 2017 was below inflation. As a member of technical staff I cannot see how to progress my career on any reasonable timescale. Redundancies announced this year (affecting some early in their careers) have damaged moral and highlighted management disconnect. Information given out at different levels of the business is routinely inconsistent.

    Continue reading
    3 people found this review helpful

    QinetiQ Group Response

    Group Resourcing Partner

    Thank you for your thoughts. We are very passionate about ensuring we engage all our employees and our Early Careers programme. We have recently launched a new Early Careers framework and are working hard to ensure that communications; placements and development for all our apprentices; graduates and placements are both consistent and useful. The recent redundancies have impacted on morale, as is sadly normally the case, and we understand that at local team level this can have significant impact on team morale and these decisions are not taken at all lightly. We have worked very hard to mitigate wherever possible to ensure that the voluntary route was available. Ensuring a growing organisation has the right profile of skills is always challenging but we really take on board your comments and the management team are working hard to understand and remain connected. Whilst we have experienced some redundancies this year salaries will again be reviewed and we have been delighted to launch the new all employee incentive which is currently on track. Thanks again for your comments.

  8. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Average

    Apr 6, 2017 - Research Scientist in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very interesting work Flexible working hours

    Cons

    Employees able to coast by on the coat tales of hard workers while receiving same pay Little to no job progression Moving towards Matrix Management

    2 people found this review helpful
  9. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Interesting work.

    Mar 1, 2017 - Research Scientist in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting work. Good facilities. Flexi time & work life balance.

    Cons

    Poor middle & upper management.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Scientist QinetiQ

    Feb 7, 2016 - Scientist in Glasgow, Scotland, Scotland
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very good conditions, flexi time, plenty of holidays and good pension.

    Cons

    Bad leadership. Declining customer base.

    2 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 17 Reviews

Popular Careers with QinetiQ Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at QinetiQ Group? Share Your Experiences

QinetiQ Group logo
or