Find jobs for Software Engineer

QinetiQ Group Software Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 26, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 410 reviews

4.0
51%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
QinetiQ Group CEO Steve Wadey
Steve Wadey
4 Ratings
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee

    Great company to work for

    Sep 26, 2021 - Software Engineering Graduate in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Flexible, Employee focussed, Diverse work

    Cons

    Average pay, Could be more modern in some areas

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 3.0
    Current Employee

    Great job Poor Pay

    Aug 27, 2021 - Senior Software Engineer in Lincoln, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Exciting work and great people

    Cons

    Minimal reward for anything you do

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Good place to work

    Jun 10, 2021 - Software Engineer in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    challenging, interesting, innovative research projects

    Cons

    can be stressful with tight timeline

    Be the first to find this review helpful

    QinetiQ Group Response

    Group Resourcing Partner

    Thank you. We greatly value your opinions, and the balance of your particular comments.

  4. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great Company to Work for

    Mar 5, 2021 - Junior Software Developer in Lincoln, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Great benefits - Travel and accommodation expenses - Great co-workers - Supportive managers - Great friendly culture - Opportunity to do interesting work

    Cons

    Can require a security clearance for most roles so be prepared that it may not be obtained. They are supportive through this process but only to a certain extent which is fair.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Fantastic people, draining work

    Sep 17, 2020 - Graduate Software Engineer in Malvern, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Fantastic knowledgeable people to work with and learn from, flexible working, and interesting work

    Cons

    All technology and practices were at least a few years out of date, and there were many blockers for getting anything done.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 10 years

    Lack of career progression, short sighted decision making, poor management, slow and poor decision making chain

    Jul 30, 2020 - Senior Software Engineer in Malvern, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Work can be interesting, work balance can be ok but not always

    Cons

    Creates pressure due to poor management, should support staff better so they can perform better

    Continue reading
    1 person found this review helpful
  7. 1.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    QinetiQ is increasingly irrelevant and out-of-date, unable to be faster, better or cheaper

    Nov 1, 2018 - Software Engineer in Malvern, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    the malvern hills look nice

    Cons

    no buzz or vibe, few young people, very little leadership vision, no career progression, weak values and standards, and under-investment in many business areas. The Peter Principle is rife in Engineering.

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful

    QinetiQ Group Response

    Group Resourcing Partner

    Thanks for your feedback, we've been working on a number of these areas. We've been recruiting heavily recently and a number of those roles have been in early careers so we are balancing our demographics out. We do have career pathways defined and mapped out for a lot of our business which we think provides a lot of visibility and opportunities for career progression. The company is making significant investments at this site (and others) in projects, working environment and tools that we use day to day. We have recently invested in an anonymous employee feedback system which we feel will enable us to gather and action feedback rapidly. QinetiQ Malvern site is a great place to do really interesting and valuable work.

  8. 2.0
    Current Employee, more than 5 years

    Love the people I work with but management destroys efforts

    Jul 17, 2018 - Software Engineer in Portsmouth, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Interesting work, interesting people, relaxed atmosphere

    Cons

    Management does not value its people, who are brilliant.

    Continue reading
    2 people found this review helpful

    QinetiQ Group Response

    Group Resourcing Partner

    We really sorry to hear that you feel that many employees are ignored and not developed, we are listening to all our employees and are keen to understand how we can ensure employees always feel valued and at the heart of our organisation. We have recently launched an engagement framework that puts our employees voice at the center of our thinking, so we hope that you start to feel like your thoughts are being taken on board. Keep us posted both through QTalks, the up and coming road shows and with discussions with your line manager, your thoughts as to whether you feel things are improving.

  9. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Graduate Scheme needs to be focused

    Nov 6, 2017 - Associate Software Engineer in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wide Berth of choice in terms of placements., support to pursue Chartership with various engineering bodies. The people I have worked with have been all extremely friendly. The culture is extremely relaxed, though this can prove to be a con as well.

    Cons

    Unfortunately the amount of bureaucracy in the company makes it extremely hard to perform basic tasks such as procuring equipment. This can lead to unnecessarily long delays which lowers morale. In terms of the graduate scheme, placements are either extremely good or a waste of time. Many departments offering placements will give engineering graduates the admin work on a project, This is due to how the graduates are essentially free labour on projects. This can be extremely disheartening for an engineering graduate who is eager to apply their knowledge gained from their degree

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    QinetiQ Group Response

    Group Resourcing Partner

    Thanks for your points and thoughts, it is really helpful to understand your views. I am glad that you have worked in a supportive team. If you are part of our Early Careers community you will know that we have been working hard to re-launch the programme focusing on stretching assignments, development and improving communications. We hope you feel like things are moving forward for both yourself and your colleagues. Keep giving us your thoughts and feedback it really helps us to shape your programme with you.

  10. 4.0
    Current Employee, more than 10 years

    Interesting varied work

    Oct 21, 2017 - Software Engineer in Malvern, England, England
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    - Highly knowledgeable, enthusiastic and friendly staff - Expertise in many domains providing opportunity for varied work - Flexi-time policy accommodates family life, employees trusted to manage their working hours - Good pension benefits

    Cons

    - Career progression needs to be a bit more joined up - Reward and recognition hasn't been great but is getting better under the new CEO

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful

    QinetiQ Group Response

    Group Resourcing Partner

    Thanks for such a positive review, it sounds overall like you are enjoying your career with us as part of the team in QinetiQ. As you will see from other posts we are working hard on both employee engagement and also career pathways so hopefully you will start to see a difference in these areas too. Thanks for your balanced post and feedback.

Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with QinetiQ Group Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at QinetiQ Group? Share Your Experiences

QinetiQ Group logo
or