QinetiQ US Employee Reviews about "senior management"

Updated Jul 27, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

Found 12 of over 273 reviews

2.7
34%
Recommend to a Friend
41%
Approve of CEO
QinetiQ US President Mary Williams
Mary Williams
11 Ratings
Pros
  • "Free coffee and tea all day long(in 14 reviews)

  • "good benefits, work life balance(in 13 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Senior management looks down on everyone(in 12 reviews)

  • "Upper management doesn't really care too much about their employees(in 12 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "senior management"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Look Beyond the positive reviews

      Jul 27, 2020 - Employee - Long Term in Lorton, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Zero, none, nada, nothing good to say.

      Cons

      A brutal place to work. Senior management looks down on everyone. Intelligent people have left due to the hostile environment. Blood Letting began a few months ago so senior management gets their buy out bonus. Read beyond the positive reviews. They are posted by interanl staff after a poor review

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful

      QinetiQ US Response

      We are sorry to learn of your negative experience. We can assure you that no one is being let go in order for senior management to receive bonuses. We take great pride in having been able to maintain a financially healthy company during the COVID-19 pandemic. We do not take this lightly and ask that you help us understand this better. As you know we recently brought in new HR Leadership and encourage you to contact our HR Director via feedback@us.qinetiq.com. Thank you for your feedback and we hope to connect with you soon.

    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Good company to work for

      Mar 7, 2017 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Fun products, good benefits, good people.

      Cons

      Difficult to ascertain decisions from senior management.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      A company without an American identity

      Sep 10, 2014 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great people for the most part to work with at the local level, knowledgeable and dedicated.

      Cons

      However, there are always the few (see above) that influence the many in a negative way. Politics of multiple fiefdoms bled into everything. Senior management worries about making the numbers began to overcome creating an environment of success and feelings of achievement.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Job satisfaction decreasing exponentially

      Aug 20, 2014 - Engineer in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good starting compensation, free coffee, good work/life balance. Many interesting projects and product lines. Free ice cream every other Friday during summer and free parking.

      Cons

      Top heavy senior management, most are unapproachable and have minimal leadership skills. No incentives or career growth opportunities. Benefits reduced each year. Increasingly negative and lethargic workplace atmosphere, more and more people seem to be binding their time fearing the next workforce reduction, plant relocation or closing.

      Continue reading
      3 people found this review helpful
    5. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Terrible pay, terrible benefits, horrible management that treated employees like dogs.

      May 4, 2014 - Anonymous in Melbourne, FL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It kept me employed until I could find a better job.

      Cons

      Senior management of the contract was terrible. Condescending. Rude. Liars. Employees had no respect for them. Poor pay, poor benefits. 2.5% 401k match with a crappy vesting schedule, overpriced crap health insurance, no raises, and a 44 Hr workweek for 40 hrs pay. If you're sick that's coming out of your vacation time. Other employees disgruntled and it was the worst work environment I've ever been in. Very high turnover, which thankfully I was part of. My belief is that they do not care about their performance on the contract. The model by which they make money is lots of "warm bodies" they're getting paid by the government for on one hand, and then paying employees as little as possible in the other. The difference goes into their profit. Conversely, the previous contractor profited primarily by the award fee they got from doing a good job. NASA wanted cheaper and they got what they paid for. A bunch of angry people who sit on their iPads all day and collect a below-average check. Many hardworking people have just left. And don't get me started on the scheme they came up with to circumvent the Service Contract Act.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    6. 1.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      QNA

      Apr 7, 2014 - Vice President and Chief Engineer in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Pay well mostly across the spectrum

      Cons

      Totally disorganized and chaotic at the Senior Management levels of the Company

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      Another day......another layoff, just waiting for the next one........

      Jul 25, 2013 - Prefer Not to Say in Waltham, MA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      People at the working class level are great, hard working, committed, innovative. Work is exciting and many of the products benefit the military and save lives One of the most talented development teams that I have been around Free ice cream every other Friday....used to be every Friday but I think HR got the idea that they could add some value and offer up a cost cutting measure by cutting the ice cream down to every other week in the summer.....you know how expensive a nutty buddy can be right...... Work is slow due to goverment spending being down so have more time to play games on line and text my friends.

      Cons

      Way too many shifts in management and lack of leadership at the top. There are three or four groups that all have thier own support groups, they were supposed to merge them all into one a while ago but the person they put in charge does not really know how or where to start. So they still do a lay off twice a year but the only thing that does is causes us to lose better people who dont want to be laid off. eventually we will be a sub par environment looking to hire all the people we laid off over the past few years. Health insurance costs are sky high and we now have to have a blood test and screening to get a discount. If we dont participate in the program, then we have to pay an extra $100 a month and get lectured passively by the HR Director who somehow things everyone should be in the program. not everyone has time to walk five miles every day to burn the prerequisite number of calories. Did I mention that they only do ice cream every other week.... Senior management wants us to start taking vacation days since we are slow, we are strongly encouraged to take time off.....we will eventually all have time to be at home, not taking my vacation for that.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    8. 1.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      The Senior Leadership needs to really listen to the staff and not just pay lip service to their issues

      Jul 10, 2013 - Program Director in Reston, VA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      QinetiQ North America does have a plethora of real top class experts and individuals and it's a joy to work with them.

      Cons

      The recent senior management changes and the restructuring has left a number of groups adrift and unguided. Simply reorganizing and growing divisions by amalgamation works on the premise that the divisional managers and support staff can cope and this is not the case. The changes and the subsequent mergers of divisions has left a number of staff that are not in the core 'Defense and Security' realm to feel adrift and unguided. This has led to a number of excellent staff leaving before the situation worsens. The senior management needs to really listen to the staff and not pay lip service to their complaints and issues. How many staff need to leave before it becomes an issue for management to address?

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 2.0
      Current Employee

      Pros

      Competitive health, vacation and education benefits, on-site gym, flex-time, hire good people, interesting work, Q-deck for lunchtime cookouts.

      Cons

      Since acquiring Foster-Miller approximately 6 years ago, senior management has claimed success by riding the wave of a handful of succesful legacy products. Three or four reorg's later, and with much of the core staff (intellectual talent) of Foster-Miller reduced, the company shows no clear leadership or vision for the future. You can only blame DoD buget cuts for so long.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Not a great place

      Aug 15, 2012 - Anonymous Employee in Washington, DC
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Decent benefits, fairly good work life balance, good working conditions, for me personnally salary was consistent with market

      Cons

      Lack of vision for moving the company to the next tier, poor communication from senior management, very high turnover, low morale. Above all, very weak senior leadership in McLean. They have no clue how to run the company.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 12 Reviews

    Work at QinetiQ US? Share Your Experiences

    QinetiQ US logo
    or