Qualcomm Software Engineer Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Qualcomm Software Engineer Reviews

Updated 18 Jul 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 657 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
78%
Recommend to a Friend
73%
Approve of CEO
Qualcomm CEO Steve Mollenkopf
Steve Mollenkopf
261 Ratings
  1. "Very nice place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time

    Pros

    Flexibility Good technologies to work with

    Cons

    Too specialized positions The office can be too quiet sometimes

    Advice to Management

    Give the engineers the option to work on different subjects to enhance theirs skills

    Qualcomm2019-02-25
  2. "Bluetooth IP Software Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bluetooth IP Software Engineer in Cambridge, East of England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment . Good technology

    Cons

    Since company buy out there is a lot of code merging instead of RnD

    Qualcomm2018-11-05
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Test Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Test Engineer in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Cutting edge technologies and multi cultural environment

    Cons

    Not much documentation available. Teams are split all over the world

    Qualcomm2017-12-25
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Management lacking skill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good engineers to work with, decent resources for learning.

    Cons

    Lots of politics and micro-management. Work is stressful and a lot of pressure is exerted on engineers.

    Advice to Management

    Improve your decision making.

    Qualcomm2017-05-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "I'll informed and very closed networked cult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm

    Pros

    Depends on your sex n whether you possess a honey coated tongue

    Cons

    Horrendous aggression and propagation of cult like vulture bullying tactics, fully backed by up close network of "elite".

    Advice to Management

    do to others what you would like others to do onto you.

    Qualcomm2016-02-16
  6. "Lots of good materials to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm

    Pros

    Lots of free ebook, e-training resources to for us. This is very good, as I enjoy reading ebooks.

    Cons

    Current market for mobile isn't as good as a few years before, so feeling pressure now.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the innovations going, don't limit the scope to only communications, do anything that the future holds.

    Qualcomm2015-12-18
  7. "Big company, lots of stuff to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm

    Pros

    Very good place to work, best in industry.

    Cons

    Oversea office feels remote from head office

    Advice to Management

    thanks

    Qualcomm2015-11-17
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Was OK, it's just going to be downhill from now."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Pay is average. Was a stable safe company. Stock awards were good for the top performers. Was nice travelling to San Diego from time to time.

    Cons

    I get ashamed of how rubbish and technically incompetent are some of the managers, don't understand how they were ever promoted. That doesn't speak very high of the top managers. Executive management think they understand the market, they obviously don't, they have been negligent at best. The environment is pretty toxic, nobody cares about anybody, you need to put your limits and set the expectations right from the first...

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Sell the company while still someone thinks it has great future and before Indian teams take over and spin a bunch of mediocre and architecturally unfit chipsets.

    Qualcomm2015-09-08
  9. Helpful (2)

    "intimidating management who will do anything to achieve their goals"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Former Employee - Software Engineer 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Qualcomm

    Pros

    I worked in a multicultural work environment

    Cons

    intimidating management who will do anything to achieve their goals

    Qualcomm2015-03-10
  10. Helpful (1)

    "good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Engineer in Farnborough, Hampshire, South East England, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Qualcomm full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I am working on cutting edge technologies and innovative projects. I got a bit of training from the company. I have a few perks such as health insurance. Colleagues are generally helpful and nice. I get to go to the gym at lunch time and Qualcomm pays half of it.

    Cons

    The office looks ugly and boring. The town of Farnborough is not a good place to live. It feels like the people working for Qualcomm in San Diego receive a much better treatment.

    Qualcomm2015-01-27
Found 657 reviews