Queen Mary, University of London Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Queen Mary, University of London Reviews

Updated 11 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 181 reviews

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
19%
Approve of CEO
Queen Mary, University of London CEO Colin Bailey (no image)
Colin Bailey
9 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Could have done with helpful lecturers(in 4 reviews)

  • "The university sometimes feels too big but other than that I cannot suggest any other cons to working at QMUL(in 4 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "One of UK best clinical & academic institute"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Lecturer and Autonomic - Clinical Neurophysiologist in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    One of the top organisation-institute and excellent place to work

    Cons

    Internationally there are other UK institutes and organisation that are much better marketed.

    Advice to Management

    More emphasis need to be placed on better advertisement and marketing to attract the best from nationally and internationally.

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-08-25
  2. "World-leading research"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    Current Employee - Post Doctoral Researcher in London, England

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    World leading research! Lots of opportunities for collaboration. very flexible working hours

    Cons

    No security since fixed-term contract; I find work/life balance to be difficult: apart from working on the project I am paid for, I have to keep up with the areas I am interested in, publish from current and previous research, establish collaborations, design and write-up grant proposals, to have a chance for a lectureship; and to apply for jobs. No direct pressure though Business and admin processes often less... than optimal; Constant construction noise; problems with heating in winter

    Show More
    Queen Mary, University of London2019-09-09
  3. "Inspiring team to work alongside."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Queen Mary, University of London part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some of the greatest scholarly minds and up and coming academics working in the joint pursuit of research and quality teaching. Fair salary for interns, especially when most interns in the field are rarely given any salary. Great opportunities to network and attend events.

    Cons

    In the beginning payment was sometimes delayed however this has since been rectified with no further problems

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-09-04
  4. "Supportive and Relaxed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Communications Officer in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Very supportive environment. Decent pay. Relaxed working hours.

    Cons

    No clear management direction. Too many politics.

    Advice to Management

    Management needs scrutiny.

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-09-02
  5. "Good Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lecturer 

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Very collegiate environment and collaborative colleagues across different schools

    Cons

    bureaucracy. management, financial and other support staff can be difficult to handle

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-08-30
  6. "Academic's experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Professor in Mile End, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good location, supportive staff, appreciative students

    Cons

    unrealistic employer expectations leading to poor work/life balance for many

    Advice to Management

    invest for the future rather than taking a short term view all the time

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-09-11
  7. "Student"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Student 

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time

    Pros

    Russell group university in london

    Cons

    Location is at east london

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-09-10
  8. "Best part time job ever"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Barista in London, England
    Recommends

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - flexible working hours/days -good hourly pay - friendly, students environment

    Cons

    - during the term it gets very busy so you have to work really hard and run around to serve all customers

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-08-22
  9. "Good employer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Lecturer in London, England

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good environment Competitive salary

    Cons

    None but various people express complaints

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-08-05
  10. "Accounting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Lecturer in London, England

    I have been working at Queen Mary, University of London full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great, quick, prompt, fast, efficient

    Cons

    No preamble, clear instructions, navigation, creativity, user friendliness

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work!

    Queen Mary, University of London2019-08-19
Found 181 reviews