RBC Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

RBC Reviews

Updated 17 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
RBC CEO David I. McKay
David I. McKay
1,378 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Sometimes you can get very long hours due to extremely tight deadlines(in 97 reviews)

  • "Minimal Work life balance depends on the job scope(in 96 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at RBC full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great team. Kind floor. Great culture.

    Cons

    cant think of any cons

    RBC2019-10-14
  2. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    good culture good culture good culture

    Cons

    Relaxed nature relaxed nature relaxed

    RBC2019-10-15
  3. "Working"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Investment Banking Analyst 

    I have been working at RBC full-time

    Pros

    High level of responsibility from day one

    Cons

    Hierarchical structure No work life balance

    RBC2019-10-15
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time

    Pros

    Opportunity for personal development. Good work life balance. Give back to the community

    Cons

    Work responsibilties can consume you.

    RBC2019-09-23
  5. "great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Audit Associate in Birmingham, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RBC full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    team is grwT and friendly

    Cons

    i work too many hours

    Advice to Management

    reduce working hours

    RBC2019-07-19
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Avoid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Project Manager in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Lot's of charity and family events.

    Cons

    Appalling management from the top down. Witnessed £38M of wastage due to poor management. Very high churn of staff Toxic culture Very poor technical direction, years behind other banks

    Advice to Management

    Quit

    RBC2019-07-31
  7. "Collegiate environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regulatory Reporting Manager in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at RBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    New CFO is very open with his time and knowledge and is fostering a great work atmosphere.

    Cons

    Back office systems can be manual in part, but the efforts of the change teams to solve those problems are making great headway

    RBC2019-06-22
  8. "A lot of potential, but stuck in its ways"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at RBC full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Collegial atmosphere, CRS-focused, Spending on digital and technology.

    Cons

    The brand is shiny and there is a lot of spending on digital transformation, but it's slow moving and the culture is stuck in its ways (conservative, lengthy timelines for decision making). Middle managers are not empowered and/or are too concerned with maintaining the status quo than in effecting real change.

    Advice to Management

    There was a lot of talk of internal job mobility and want to move women into more senior roles, but, in the end there wasn't a lot of talk. Please provide more metrics and accountability around internal job seekers and their experience with HR and internal job searches.

    RBC2019-07-02
  9. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at RBC part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Often Very good Working hours

    Cons

    A little Pressure with work

    RBC2019-06-04
  10. "Not a bad place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Product Manager in London, England

    I worked at RBC part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Treat you with respect and there are opportunities available, not necessarily if you work part-time.

    Cons

    Slow to change; at times too much bureaucracy

    Advice to Management

    Quicker to market, listen to people on shop floor not just management

    RBC2019-05-20
Found 4024 reviews
</>Embed