REED Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

REED Reviews

Updated 11 November 2018
376 reviews

Filter

Filter

Full-timePart-time

4.1
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO

376 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
Cons
  • "The Dress code policy is a bit boring" (in 33 reviews)

  • "Sometimes long hours but normally worth it" (in 13 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. "Its a lovely company to work for!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Positive atmosphere, feel I'm making a difference and lots of progression opportunities.

    Cons

    Gov Stat Maternity and Pension which is shocking. Old school. No flexible working at all.

    REED Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for taking the time to review your experience and I'm delighted that it's positive We do operate 'smart working' which offers Co-Members some flexibility. Clearly, we operate in teams of... More


  2. "Great Company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time

    Pros

    Supportive managers and colleagues
    Relaxed non corporate environment
    great benefits including discounts and sabbatical leave for long service
    They really seem to care about their employees

    Cons

    No working from home options (currently)
    Outdated email and IT systems (although this is currently under review)

    Advice to Management

    Management seem to really care for their staff and the amount of people who continue to stay here year after year is testament to that. Keep up the good work!

    REED Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your great review. Our Co-Members do say that the people they work with make a positive difference and so I'm glad you agree. We are always looking to improve and recognise that better... More

  3. "A wonderful place that with a few tweaks would be the best!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager
    Current Employee - Manager
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Training for consultants is second to none
    Very fair and transparent career development for consultants
    Good values and morals
    Wonderful support teams eg HR, Marketing etc
    Good benefits
    Systems are FANTASTIC
    Your ideas are listened to
    You are not micro managed
    Really charitable company which is just lovely
    Great branding
    Fantastic bonus schemes for consultants and managers alike!
    The management academy is such a fantastic entry to management
    Internal moves are encouraged

    I have always felt looked after and included.

    Cons

    Please note these cons would not be enough to make me consider leaving - but would just make such a difference if they were changed.

    Maternity policy is shocking unfortunately- this is such a shame as for women is a huge factor! Within such a great company that actively encourages women to lead and equality in the workplace I really think this needs review!

    I believe the middle management team is over stretched and there could be more support. Regional managers can be difficult to get hold of and do not have much presence in the office.

    Dress code as many have said needs relaxing

    I don’t believe people should have to work until 6 on a Friday. I normally send my team home and sit there myself from 5pm - 6pm on a Friday afternoon - it is dubbed the graveyard shift! Sales people work hard - let them enjoy their weekend a little earlier on a Friday!

    I think there could be more training for managers. As a manager I did lots initially but it has tailed off.

    Finally, the carbon footprint of Reed needs some work. For a company with such great moral values; I am surprised nothing has been put in place with regards to this. I frequently visit other office and ask where the recycling bin is to be told they don’t have one. When there is 50 odd people in a site I find this incredible! We have a duty to improve this and I hope to see someone given this to look after soon.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work - you have a happy work force. Changes already seem to be trickling through based on feedback which is so great to see!

    Thank you for creating such a great environment.


  4. "Great development of people. Heavily sales driven environment."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Leeds, England
    Former Employee - Recruiter in Leeds, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REED full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    The manager I had was the best. She was a dream to work for.

    Cons

    Constantly pushing and pushing for more and more sales.

    REED Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your review and glad you had a great manager. Recruitment does require business development and the building of strong working relationships with our customers and so it is a target... More


  5. "Recruitment Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Recruitment Manager in Manchester, England
    Current Employee - Recruitment Manager in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    Good training and nice people, that's pretty much it.

    Cons

    Pay and Expenses are poor! You have to lay out for your own travel and training. This should be paid for by the company

    Advice to Management

    Get headhunted for a better recruitment firm. Commission is shocking

    REED Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your review.
    Expenses are reimbursed weekly and the training provided by our Learning and Development Team is free and so I'm unsure what training you've had to pay for.
    Our salaries... More


  6. "Moving with the times"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at REED part-time

    Pros

    The Team ethic is strong

    Cons

    Lack of home working opportunity but that is because of the nature of managing a team.

    REED Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thank you for your review


  7. "Would definitely recommend!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Permanent Recruitment Consultant in Maidstone, England
    Current Employee - Permanent Recruitment Consultant in Maidstone, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Amazing training ,
    Great bonus scheme and reed rewards,
    visible promotion structure,

    Cons

    Long working hours, however it is normal for this industry and also you can enjoy free weekends!

    REED Response

    6 Nov 2018 – Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your great review. I agree that the hours are sometimes long but when you enjoy what you do and who you do it with and are rewarded well, then it becomes fun.

  8. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at REED part-time

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly staff, very organised, helpful

    Cons

    Hard work, always busy, tiresome,

    REED Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your review. Recruitment is absolutely hard work, which is why the rewards can be great but not everyone is successful.


  9. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee

    I have been working at REED full-time

    Pros

    Great team, wide opportunities, well defined path for promotion

    Cons

    Long hours but this is typical of the industry

    Advice to Management

    Keep going

    REED Response

    23 Oct 2018 – Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your review. Our career development framework is designed to give a clear indication of the rewards for success and I'm glad you agree. The hours can be long as a lot of the candidates... More


  10. "Celebrating success"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time

    Pros

    Amazing training that is continuous, brilliant bonus scheme and reed rewards, visible promotion structure, they really celebrate your success.

    Cons

    High pressure environment but that is just recruitment not the company itself

    REED Response

    20 Sep 2018 – Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thank you for your great review, we do aim to celebrate success in many ways from individual ad-hoc recognition to our structured reward schemes.


Showing 376 of 408 reviews
Reset Filters