REED Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

REED Reviews

Updated 2 Apr 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
94%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They have a great training approach and loads of progression opportunities(in 30 reviews)

  • "Loads of good training and support for new starters(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "The dress code is very corporate(in 60 reviews)

  • "Need more flexible working needed across the board and silly arguments about splits need to be resolved better(in 29 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (1)

    "Excellent team & enjoy coming to work - has also changed my life in a very positive way!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Temporaries Consultant in Plymouth, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career progression and great opportunity. Rewards are also great.

    Cons

    Full time 40 Hours - would prefer 35 or 37.5

    Continue reading
    REED2020-01-06

    REED Response

    January 24, 2020Head of Talent Acquistion

    Your feedback is great to hear. Please speak to your manager to share your comments regarding signage. Our Property Team will be able to help.

    Continue reading
  2. "Transparency During an Important Period"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Talent Attraction Specialist in London, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I've been with REED 5 years in various roles and there is something for everyone here. The vast majority of people are great and always willing to help out you or the business when in need. During this era of pandemic, the directorate have been very transparent about some (tough) changes they are having to make in order to protect the longevity of the company - just as the company turns 60 years old too! The philanthropy and social responsibilities shown by the founder and chairman are truly great - what they do through REED to help charities and individuals is really not shouted about enough.

    Cons

    Some parts of the business need to speed up their rate of change to adapt to modern ways of working such as flexible / dynamic hours, and ditch old-fashioned ways of thinking (e.g. dress code / ties in offices). Understandably there are a lot of precautions needed when dealing with big amounts of sensitive data as a recruitment business, but sometimes the default restrictions on tech / expenses etc can be so laborious to circumnavigate that productivity / time is easily lost. Personally I have had to request at least 20 different websites or hardware devices to be unblocked in the last year, in order to do my job. These require three tier approval before even being actioned... Compensation for central support roles could also be better in places.

    Continue reading
    REED2020-03-30
  3. "Putting our customers at the heart of everything we do"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Success in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customer focus, family owned, trust

    Cons

    Non I can think of

    Continue reading
    REED2020-03-26
  4. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Staff are friendly, approachable and inspiring The office refurbishment looks great and is set up for Agile and collaborative working There is plenty of interaction between people in the office and ideas sharing

    Cons

    A 40 hour working week is unusual Pension could be better, especially for longer standing employees

    Continue reading
    REED2020-03-25
  5. Helpful (1)

    "You’re all amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Office Manager in Hammersmith, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Welcoming, warm, friendly environment and a very professional team in branch

    Cons

    Sending emails to often. Can be annoying

    Continue reading
    REED2020-03-06

    REED Response

    March 18, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Sounds like you've been a candidate of ours rather than an Co-Member. Great to still read we've had a positive impact on you being placed in your new role. Congrats and will pass on your feedback.

    Continue reading
  6. "Best Recruitment business in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Executive Business Manager in Wolverhampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Listen, incentives, pay, stable, challenging

    Cons

    Size, process, systems, technology, resource

    REED2020-03-06

    REED Response

    March 18, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review.

    Continue reading
  7. "reed.co.uk is great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonus Opportunities, Incentives, Work Life Balance, Team Building, Progression Opportunities

    Cons

    External factors can have an impact on hitting targets

    Continue reading
    REED2020-03-05

    REED Response

    March 6, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your positive review about working at reed.co.uk

    Continue reading
  8. "Moving in to my fourth year and still loving it!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Executive Consultant in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Excellent training - I’ve completed the full essential recruitment skills training and am now moving on to Management Academy, it’s great to work for a company that invests so much into consultants personal development. Investing in digitalisation, I have a Microsoft surface go, the ability to work anywhere at anytime (necessary if you want to be a top billing consultant!) access to emails on my mobile, access to Microsoft teams on go enabling me to work seamlessly at all times. We all have two screens and good systems too. State of the art recruitment systems with access to a huge pool of candidates. Reeds back office is second to none, we have a screening team, payroll team, credit control team, legal team, marketing team, product team, IT team etc. I work with great people. I have made friends for life. We have regular fun social events across our offices. We have access to good benefits. I’ve recently qualified for a new scheme which gives senior consultants access to work remotely one day per week, or gives them access to advanced sales training to coaching training. We have sabbaticals for long service too! We have a clear progression plan and clear routes into management if you want it. Reed is a family run business with ethical values. We have a purpose and I genuinely believe we do improve people’s lives through work!

    Cons

    Relax the dress code - It would be nice to wear more colourful clothes to work occasionally

    Continue reading
    REED2020-03-04

    REED Response

    March 6, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your great review and we're excited to see the benefits unfold from the investment into our Digital Workplace programme!

    Continue reading
  9. "A nice end and start to the year"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Keeper in Barnard Castle, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at REED full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had a great time at GSK, I pretty much finished at Babcock then Reed got in touch. Rep was Dawn Herriot who was great.

    Cons

    None up here, never hit it off when I lived in Coventry after Student Finance employed me directly. That's the best (or worst) I can think of really.

    Continue reading
    REED2020-03-02

    REED Response

    March 6, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for your positive review of working through REED

    Continue reading
  10. "Depends on which team you work in"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Recruiter in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at REED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Large organisation, internal promotions or moves available

    Cons

    Management some good some horrible

    REED2020-03-13

    REED Response

    March 18, 2020Head of Employer Brand

    Thank you for taking the time to leave a review.

    Continue reading
Found 420 reviews
</>Embed