REED "flexible working" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

REED Employee Reviews about "flexible working"

Updated 27 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .
4.2
85%
Recommend to a Friend
93%
Approve of CEO
Pros
  • "They have a great training approach and loads of progression opportunities(in 30 reviews)

  • "Loads of good training and support for new starters(in 29 reviews)

Cons
  • "There is still a uniform dress code which is a little out dated, this has been modernised over the years but still old fashioned for 2020(in 62 reviews)

  • "Need more flexible working needed across the board and silly arguments about splits need to be resolved better(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flexible working"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Real Family Vibes - Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Recruiter in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at REED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You really become part of the family and they are very for the people. Clear progression route and training.

    Cons

    Need more flexible working needed across the board and silly arguments about splits need to be resolved better.

    REED2020-02-21

    REED Response

    February 24, 2020

    Thank you for taking the time to leave such a positive review. Its much appreciated.

    Continue reading
  2. "I've enjoyed my time, but I think there is a lot they could do better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Graduate in Manchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New Office People - lots of friendly people in the office, and across the company Discount club Health benefits - Dental/optical and more! Good advancement for actual Recruiters I like how James Reed keeps an internal blog, it's a nice touch. It would be nice to hear off other senior staff like this.

    Cons

    I think the company is trailing behind other companies which is a shame. They are getting there, but everything is a bit slow. Long working hours (40+ a week) with fixed start and finish time, flexibility is only there on adhoc and down to your manager. Working from home is so bizarrely restricted as it's just not in the REED Culture, so only a handful of people have this ability. Still has a dress code, set colours etc. The company advertises great training...but this does not include support staff. I would of loved to have been offered the chance to do more courses and learned new things that would support my role, travel and meet people across the company, but there isn't a structure in place for this. There is a great structure for advancement for actual recruiters, CDF levels and targets and salary increases ect.... but for the support departments, they don't have the same benefits no bonus schemes, no obvious advancement routes, no training. And if any advancement does exist, it's based all in London/Northampton which is such a narrow view for a UK wide company, and recruitment of Graduates UK wide, especially giving technology these days. A digital workplace project is coming, with tablets etc, which is a good thing, but I don't think this will come with the flexible working and working from home people are hoping for, which is a shame and again behind a lot of companies these day. I'm slightly worried it will be encouraged to do more work in out of office hours, now you've been provided the tools to do so, as they did with the recruiter app, and having work emails on personal phones. I've always though it bizzare that REED doesn't provide their employees with work mobiles, considering the job, and the amount of out of office recruiters do. REED is not a bad company, I've learned a lot here, met some great people and enjoyed my time here. But I personally feel like I want to work for a company that's a front leader for Work/Life flexibility and technology, where staff are a bit more trusted and given the tools to manage their own time and work. Which is why after completing my Grad scheme I've decided to try somewhere else. REED is a good fit for some, but I think I'll thrive more somewhere else.

    Continue reading
    REED2020-02-27

    REED Response

    March 6, 2020Director of Talent Acquisition

    Thanks for taking the time to detail your experience of working for REED and I'm sorry you don't feel that you can recommend it. We do appreciate you sharing your thoughts and I will share internally. Technology is a great enabler for all sorts of activities and, as you point out, it's a good thing that REED are investing in our Digital Workplace programme. All Co-Members do have access to personal development and apply for professional development funding as well as access to other training and development tools.

    Continue reading
  3. "Excellent Career Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Temporary Recruitment Consultant in Chelmsford, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Not only is the office full of recruiting talent, everyone is friendly and ambitious! Reed have offered me a number of training courses which have helped me develop and progress through the company, they also recognise when you work to your best ability and reward you with prizes and bonuses. I enjoy working for Reed as I feel that there is many different career paths and they full invest in you individually and also as an office and encourage working together.

    Cons

    The only thing would be flexible working but I know that this is something that is being introduced!

    Continue reading
    REED2020-02-05

    REED Response

    February 17, 2020HR Director

    Thank you for taking time to complete this review. It is great to hear that you are enjoying working with REED.

    Continue reading
  4. "4* Rating"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Area Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Investment in Technology and adapting to change. Experienced and inspirational leadership team. Great brand recognition. Good opportunities for progression. Family owned with the owners having a strong presence and being in touch with the operational staff. Highly charitable. Lots of tools available to be able to do the job effectively at all levels.

    Cons

    No flexible working and poor benefits/compensation compared to competitors. People who progress internally are not rewarded as well as people who are recruited externally.

    REED2019-09-23

    REED Response

    September 30, 2019Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for leaving your positive review. There are lots of great things mentioned about working for REED, which can be seen here and on blogs, company pages and social media. We continually review and add to our rewards and benefits and I would argue that REED offers a vast range of rewards compared to many others. The investment REED are making in new technology and reward schemes will support more flexible ways of working in the future.

    Continue reading
  5. "Lots of progression, lots of benefits!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There's lots of progression within the business in terms of CDF promotions, or other areas of the business to explore. The benefits are great, both in work and outside of work. Lots of focus on health and well being. Lots of support from Management, and colleagues.

    Cons

    It would be great if there was more option or opportunity for flexible working/ work from home.

    REED2019-07-17

    REED Response

    July 22, 2019Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your great review and I'm pleased that you have been able to take advantage of a number of the benefits offered at REED .

    Continue reading
  6. "Great place to work..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing in Northampton, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The company offers great progression opportunities with qualifications, mentoring, graduate schemes and more. They highly encourage entrepreneurialism and are always willing to listen to employees business ideas through their "Reed Think" scheme, with employees able to win financial rewards if their ideas are selected.

    Cons

    No flexible working Slightly restrictive dress code

    REED2019-07-11

    REED Response

    July 16, 2019Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your great review and I will share your comments internally. The Reed Think scheme rewards Co-Members for their ideas and has been the channel for a number of great business ideas and improvements.

    Continue reading
  7. "Needs serious improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - on the job and consistent training

    Cons

    - offices are really run down - dress code is out dated - micro management environment - staff turnover at an all time high - lack of management training and knowledge to pass onto employers - different management styles do not suit different divisions - poor bonus structure - lack of incentives - does not look after staff with benefits or office perks. - non existent benefits - no flexible working hours

    Continue reading
    REED2019-05-28

    REED Response

    June 4, 2019Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for leaving your review. Without meaning to sound too glib, it seems like you are not enjoying your time with us! Obviously, there are a lot of reviews that offer an alternative viewpoint and so I wonder whether your particular desk/office is not suited to you. I would welcome for you to get in touch with me (matt.heather@reedglobal.com) or your HR contact so that we can support you to address some of these issues.

    Continue reading
  8. "In my opinion..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in London, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    REED is of course a huge company, so naturally everyone who leaves a review on here, will have had very different experiences. For me some of the Pros have been: - Good progression - Good work/life balance - Okay salary and bonus - Great colleagues

    Cons

    In my experience: - Managers not always listening and taking too long with making decisions. - Outdated policies - particularly with the dress code / homeworking and flexible working - IT systems in need of an update - Terrible benefits - Don't be fooled. Everything on offer is statutory (REED discount club aside). REED is a huge company and clearly makes a lot of money. REED really need to start investing in their staff and the future by offering them more. Particularly with things such as Maternity/Paternity pay. Its honestly a little embarrassing how bad it is

    Continue reading
    REED2019-04-16

    REED Response

    May 3, 2019Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks for your review and comments. I will share these internally. I wonder whether you fully understand the benefits that are available to you, as I'm conscious that some Co-Members do not make the most of them. I would encourage you to talk to your manager and/or HR or the Reward team - we make a lot of information available on the intranet to explain what is available. and details are available on Reward Hub .

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Excellent training and leadership, LOVE my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Consultant in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Superb support and continual development with an Academy to regularly attend. Great commission structure so if you put the work in you will be rewarded. My Manager/Area manager are the best, always looking to improve and genuinely care about teams.

    Cons

    Dress code a little dated and would love music in branches. Offer more flexible working for Parents to have work/life balance (maybe work from home 1 day)

    Continue reading
    REED2018-12-06

    REED Response

    December 18, 2018Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thanks so much for the lovely review and I'm delighted you are well supported and enjoying the team you work with/for.

    Continue reading
  10. "Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Sales Executive in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at REED full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I can't fault the training received at REED: from day one, they will make sure that you are prepared for the task ahead, giving you the best tools to make sure you succeed. The new Sales Academy is a great example how training working with already half of the team hitting their first few targets. Since I've been at REED I feel like my ideas were listened to, and I've had transparency on what I needed to achieve to progress. The best thing about this company are the people, and that is what makes it so easy to achieve your goals.

    Cons

    Flexible working should be considered - I believe this might be one of the reasons why people chose to work in any given company now.

    Continue reading
    REED2018-12-05

    REED Response

    December 6, 2018Head of Talent Acquistion

    Thank you for your great review. It's great that you've benefitted from our training and the 'ReedThink' platform aims to encourage Co-Members to submit ideas which are rewarded if they are adopted or implemented.

    Continue reading
Found 13 reviews
</>Embed