Rackspace Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rackspace Reviews

Updated 7 Dec 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
62 Ratings
Pros
  • "Frontline Rackers are like family(in 135 reviews)

  • "Great Culture and perks and interesting work(in 127 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other(in 121 reviews)

  • "Too many middle management tiers(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team! Solution Architecture leadership genuinely care about individuals and developing their careers and providing career development opportunities. Pay and benefits are good. Campus, canteen, parking and facilities are of a high standard, which more than makes up for the location. Free breakfast and ad-hoc free lunches. Racker culture!

    Cons

    Quality of leadership varies across the organisation. Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other. No different in these respects to any large organisation.

    Advice to Management

    Accelerate product development to meet the continually changing needs of customers.

    Rackspace2019-09-05
  2. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Consultant in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, fantastic people, great office and good employee benefits

    Cons

    I have to work in Hayes

    Advice to Management

    An inspiring environment to work in with a great culture

    Rackspace2019-12-05
  3. "Solid mission, great place to work, challenging but progressive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AWS Lead Infrastructure Engineer in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Company mission is sound, office is a fun and lively place to work, lots of autonomy to work how we want, focusing on improving the customer experience and personally training up on new technologies

    Cons

    Starting to lag behind when supporting latest and greatest services (especially on Public Cloud). Frequent management changes at the top which leaves a disconnected feeling with the troops on the ground. Some of the unique culture has given way to a more mature approach, but we're still settling into that with lots of "start-up gremlins" in the cupboard!

    Advice to Management

    Keep a clear direction front of our minds, and how each of are able to and are tracking against this. Don't lose the magic of Rackspace as that's when the employee's give their best!

    Rackspace2019-12-04
  4. "Specialist Solutions Architecture - Graduate Programme"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Specialist Solutions Architect - Graduate Programmer in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Rackspace is an organisation that really pushes your professional and personal development. Since joining Rackspace I have had the chance to work with an get an understanding of the business as a whole (First Line Response, AWS Support, Azure Support, and GCP support teams) Onboarding, Professional Services, Solutions Architecture. Prior to joining Rackspace, we spent 3 months in Manchester training with QA... Consulting learning cloud technologies. I have spent hours on non-technical training and technical training (Sessions every Friday dedicated to technical training from internal colleagues and external partners). I have been with Rackspace for a year now and with their support, I have achieved 2 GCP certifications and looking to obtain my third certification (AWS Solutions Architect - Associate) before the end of the year. Moving away from training an development this was this first graduate scheme Rackspace put ran in this space (Solutions Architecture and Global Technical Support). It has been an invaluable experience working on solutions for SMB customers all the way up to Enterprise customers. I have been exposed to working on AWS and GCP so far with future prospects on spending some time in Azure, before choosing where I would like to take my career. Even though the Grad Scheme was focused on 2 main job roles, directors and managers have been open and transparent in helping us get into a job role we enjoy even if that means moving into different departments and teams. We have weekly catch ups with mentors and managers which help keep us on track and give us advice and guidance. I have felt no micromanagement since being here I have goals for the year and it is up to me to meet them with mid and end of year reviews. As a Muslim, we are catered for at all events and fun budgets, as are all other faiths and beliefs If you want to join a company that makes you feel like you are really part of it and works with great customers then Rackspace is the place for you.

    Show More

    Cons

    I would like to see the graduate scheme change a bit for the next one exposing those going into solutions architecture to more hands-on training first before moving into creating customer solutions. Management has made it clear they want us heavily involved in any future graduate schemes. Sometimes to go from graduate to solutions architect can be a struggle but you have endless support around you. Rackspace... is always changing, which for some can be Con, but in this industry, I can only see that as a Pro. You will need great restraint to stay away from all the food that is always around.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work

    Rackspace2019-12-04
  5. "Indeed a Great Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great working environment, talent nurturing, diversity ridden culture. Lots of volunteering opportunities and career progression. Training/Getting Certified is not only encouraged/sponsored, it's also part of most technical people's KPI's.

    Cons

    Like any other great company, money shouldn't be your sole motivator, it's not exactly a "con" for me since it means people who are here are for the right reasons, but fair enough to say that salary is average or below. Lots of other benefits, though.

    Advice to Management

    Keep the culture alive, don't be tempted by quick profits or any other short-term gains.

    Rackspace2019-12-04
  6. "Good"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Network Security Engineer 

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Culture Good Management You will get to work with lot of great people and great customer interactions

    Cons

    Benefits not as before Company performing relatively slow compared to past

    Rackspace2019-12-04
  7. "Great Team - Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Cardiff, Wales
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, many benefits, team outings/activities every 3 months, reasonable wages. Managers are understanding and very professional. One of the best places I have ever worked for. Breakfast available everyday, paid lunch for everyone on Thursdays, and drinks on Friday evenings. (may vary on location) Relaxed atmosphere. Potential promotions within first and second year. Wage increase on personal... performance. Yearly bonus when we meet our objectives.

    Show More

    Cons

    I have had no negative experience in the last 14 months at this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the amazing work, anyone that has the chance to work with you is fortunate.

    Rackspace2019-12-02
  8. "Upbeat Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Windows Systems Administrator in Cardiff, Wales
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good company to work for, lots of positive hard working people who care and are very knowledgeable.

    Cons

    Being on call, rota, working (Windows patching) can really eat into the family time.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Rackspace2019-11-27
  9. "Awesome"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Solutions Architect in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The people make it magic

    Cons

    Of late, short term financial planning Windows

    Rackspace2019-11-23
  10. "Great Experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Storage Engineer in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I have been with Rackspace for 4 years. Rackspace has a great and diverse culture, everyone is friendly and approachable right up to senior management and board level and they care about their people's progression. Every year I received a pay rise and training and development.

    Cons

    Nothing to write all is good.

    Advice to Management

    Keep being great and do what you do.

    Rackspace2019-11-19
Found 1584 reviews