Rackspace Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rackspace Reviews

Updated 19 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.4
59%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
89 Ratings
Pros
  • "One of the core values here is to treat Rackers (coworkers) like Friends and Family and it shows in our office(in 136 reviews)

  • "Great culture easy going but work hard play hard(in 130 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other(in 123 reviews)

  • "Too many middle management tiers(in 69 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (7)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team! Solution Architecture leadership genuinely care about individuals and developing their careers and providing career development opportunities. Pay and benefits are good. Campus, canteen, parking and facilities are of a high standard, which more than makes up for the location. Free breakfast and ad-hoc free lunches. Racker culture!

    Cons

    Quality of leadership varies across the organisation. Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other. No different in these respects to any large organisation.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2019-09-05
  2. "Great Team - Great Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Technical Support Specialist in Cardiff, Wales
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues, many benefits, team outings/activities every 3 months, reasonable wages. Managers are understanding and very professional. One of the best places I have ever worked for. Breakfast available everyday, paid lunch for everyone on Thursdays, and drinks on Friday evenings. (may vary on location) Relaxed atmosphere. Potential promotions within first and second year. Wage increase on personal performance. Yearly bonus when we meet our objectives.

    Cons

    I have had no negative experience in the last 14 months at this company.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2019-12-02
  3. "Rackspace is an awesome place to work, I highly recommend it."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Systems Analyst 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I am working with Rackspace for almost 4 years now. Great work-life balance. The management and co-workers here are awesome. We get the opportunity to work on multiple clients and the projects I get to work on are always challenging and fulfilling. Happy to be here.

    Cons

    No cons, all positive so far

    Rackspace2020-02-12

    Rackspace Response

    February 13, 2020Racker Experience Team

    Thank you for your positive feedback and comments, Racker!

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Enjoy what I do and the people I do it with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Associate in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, clear career path progression, goals and objectives clearly well defined.

    Cons

    Company culture is changing slightly and losing the love I once had at the beginning. Management is going through a major change right now and feels most of the benefits are going.

    Rackspace2020-01-30
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Used to be a good place to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace

    Pros

    The people and what's left of the culture.

    Cons

    Focus on revenue and drive to sell the business rather than customer outcomes and employees. Lack of processes hinder sales and delivery.

    Rackspace2020-02-05

    Rackspace Response

    February 13, 2020Racker Experience Team

    Racker, we appreciate your feedback. We would like to better understand your experience. Please reach out to your HR contact or email rackerexperience@rackspace.com. We’d be happy to chat more about your perspective.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Finance Person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Commercial Salesman in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Toys to play with Fun days Team bonding

    Cons

    Cliquey lads club Lack of direction from management

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-01-30
  7. "Rackers are good people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Windows Systems Administrator in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people working at Rackspace make it a good place to work

    Cons

    Career progression can be slow

    Rackspace2020-01-18
  8. "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Operations in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great culture and environment, amazing ethnic diversity

    Cons

    Promotions and pay rises were extremely slow.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2019-12-31
  9. Helpful (4)

    "KEVIN JONES IS TEARING RACKSPACE’S HEART OUT"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace

    Pros

    None anymore. It’s all dying.

    Cons

    Kevin Jones and team have completely torn Rackspace apart. Cuts everywhere and no investment. His team utterly destroyed DXC (go and look at their share prices over the last few years when he was done with them). Now they’re doing the same to Rackspace. The old Rackspace is dead. He just doesn’t care about the culture or the people. Just his massive bonus at the end.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2020-01-06
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Relationships and perception matters more than talent or skill"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Systems Administrator in Hayes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Rackspace for some reason managed to employ some of the most talented and impactful people I have had the pleasure to work with. It is worthy to not many of these left prior to my departure

    Cons

    Rackspace is an environment that suggests equality, fairness and more when the reality is that your friendships, relationship and perception matters vastly more than your ability to do any job. This is a company that you can easily fail upwards. Rackspace fails to invest in its own infrastructure yet continues to preach to the customer that they can assist with embracing the cloud while their own 'Core' and 'Encore' systems from before 2005 still lack unification of a single ticketing system or the ability to offer online chat across all platforms. The technical debt for a supposedly technical company is incredible and it is costing the customer and company alike.

    Continue reading
    Rackspace2019-12-30

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 1626 reviews