Rackspace Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rackspace Reviews

Updated 20 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1536 reviews

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
79%
Approve of CEO
Rackspace CEO Kevin Jones
Kevin Jones
38 Ratings
Pros
  • "Frontline Rackers are like family(in 127 reviews)

  • "Relevant offerings and great culture(in 120 reviews)

Cons
  • "Now, almost every single one of the SLT members are an external hire which sends signals to all current Rackers to leave if you want to move up(in 110 reviews)

  • "Too many middle management tiers(in 68 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "It is a great company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Windows Engineer in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    It is a great company to work for.

    Cons

    culture is not the same

    Advice to Management

    Please raise your game

    Rackspace2019-08-05
  2. "Great place, great people, misguided management."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Linux Administrator in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people Great value adds (on-site gym, regular time for professional development)

    Cons

    Depending on the team, managers can be very poor and downright ruin teams. Recent expansion feels like it's taking away roles from already established offices.

    Advice to Management

    Ask and listen to individual rackers about their thoughts on team managers.

    Rackspace2019-09-16
  3. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Solutions Architect in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great team! Solution Architecture leadership genuinely care about individuals and developing their careers and providing career development opportunities. Pay and benefits are good. Campus, canteen, parking and facilities are of a high standard, which more than makes up for the location. Free breakfast and ad-hoc free lunches. Racker culture!

    Cons

    Quality of leadership varies across the organisation. Some challenges with silos, but most Rackers genuinely want to help each other. No different in these respects to any large organisation.

    Advice to Management

    Accelerate product development to meet the continually changing needs of customers.

    Rackspace2019-09-05
  4. "Changing and evolving with the markets"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Lead Engineer in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    still a great place to work, evolving and adapting

    Cons

    ppl dont appreciate changes are part of the industry, get on with it

    Rackspace2019-09-03
  5. "Needs to get up to speed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great culture and amazing benefits

    Cons

    Behind the times in moving from Managed services to cloud and now hugely under pressure

    Advice to Management

    Changes to the products and services needs to be done quicker to support the growth of the cloud market

    Rackspace2019-09-11
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Big company with lots of opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ops Manager in Cardiff, Wales

    I worked at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Big company with lots of opportunity

    Cons

    I was with Datapipe before they were bought by Rackspace. I hope Rackspace resolved the morale and workload issues that plagued Datapipe.

    Rackspace2019-08-19
  7. "My thinking was too blue sky"

    StarStarStarStarStar
     

    I worked at Rackspace

    Pros

    Great company with great people, and a genuine opportunity to cross sell a huge portfolio.

    Cons

    Unfortunately I couldn’t quite grasp sales as a skill set. I’m one of these guys who thinks they’re brilliant and wants to talk strategy, but I was selling with a very SMB product pitching style. I didn’t actually hit target a single time, for no other reason than I kept trying to have too much of a strategic high level conversation. I can from telecoms / networking and have now gone to AWS to con the for a year... or so.

    Show More
    Rackspace2019-08-04
  8. Helpful (4)

    "A big company still trying to find what it is"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Hayes, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Rack gives back, free lunches , free breakfast , staff fun budget. Clever people doing clever things

    Cons

    No clarity on mission or goals. Wants to be an MSSP, but middle management only know managed hosting. The permafrost of this middle management frustrates technical SME’s and confuses the top tier.

    Advice to Management

    Agree who what Rackspace is and drive through the barriers. Replace tier two and three management with experts to drive the mission , before they drive Racspace into the ground

    Rackspace2019-08-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Not a bad company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cloud Engineer in Hayes, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    People in the business are mostly friendly. They are willing to go above and beyond to help. Can be quite flexible with personal life, but partly depends on team / manager. If you're in a growing part of the business, fringe benefit could be good.

    Cons

    You need to keep moving teams to stay in the growing part of the business, that's where the resources are. HR tried to undercut me when I switched team, with an arbitrary capping on percentage bump. Only real way to get a salary increase is by keep changing position, which can be exhausting. Employee turnaround can be quite high. Training budget has been cut quite a bit recently.

    Advice to Management

    Retain people. Remove the policy where HR decides on all pay increase, give the power back to the floor, let managers decide, only intervene when necessary. Remove arbitrary salary increase cap.

    Rackspace2019-07-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Flexibility to Work from Home"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rackspace full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance. Handsome Inhand Salary

    Cons

    Not enough Technical work to showcase your skills

    Rackspace2019-08-06
Found 1536 reviews