Randstad US "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Randstad US Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 10 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
71%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
Randstad US CEO, Randstad North America Karen Fichuk (no image)
Karen Fichuk
91 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "There are no cons that come to mind(in 89 reviews)

  • "Sometimes, work/life balance can be difficult during busy times but you are always rewarded financially for the extra time invested(in 84 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to call home!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager/Sales Director in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Randstad US full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I love working at Randstad!!!! Great support for sales and recruiting teams. Lot of awesome innovate tools available to help fill client's requests quickly and seamlessly. Unlimited growth and income opportunity for go-getters. The sky is the limit at Randstad!

    Cons

    As with any sales or recruiting job, the more hours you put into your clients, the more money you make. Sometimes, work/life balance can be difficult during busy times but you are always rewarded financially for the extra time invested.

    Randstad US2020-01-10
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Very good company to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Randstad US full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Professional staff and Good work life balance.

    Cons

    High Insurance premium and low pay salary.

    Randstad US2019-12-10
  3. Helpful (1)

    "A company that believes in giving their people the best to be the best version of themselves!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President of Market Sales in North Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Randstad US full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Career growth, training, fast paced, helping the community through your everyday efforts at work! Great benefits and work life balance!

    Cons

    There are a lot of variables in staffing. I love the pace and the problem solving, but it's not for everyone. If you love to be challenged, stretched and greatly rewarded this career could be for you!

    Randstad US2019-11-27
  4. "Great starter company with growth potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Manager in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Randstad US full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I started as an entry level recruiter and grew very quickly with this organization. They truly care for their employees and invest in them. I had awesome coworkers as well.

    Cons

    I ended up leaving the organization due to a poor work life balance. I would like to note though, that this was due to the business I provided onsite management for.

    Continue reading
    Randstad US2019-09-26
  5. "Just putting in some info"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Contractor - Manufacturing Operator 

    I have been working at Randstad US

    Pros

    Decent wage for the area. Good work life balance the training is actually tailored to your job description

    Cons

    None at the moment

    Randstad US2019-07-02
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Terrible Company with Terrible Business Practices"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Recruiter in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Randstad US full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Average benefits Decent employee stock purchase plan Okay Work-Life Balance (depending on your individual director/supervisor) As a salesperson/Account manager you have an opportunity to make money without having to hone your craft or really know anything about IT, especially if you are on a NSO account

    Cons

    Recruiters, don’t join, your job will be outsourced to India within a couple of years. Randstad more and more is hiring Indian Recruiters paying them significantly less than American Recruiters (and treating them with little respect, listen to how VPs talk about them), and having them work the same “quality” business as you. Due to Randstad continually acquiring various companies including small staffing firms such as TechniSource, there is frequent mixed messaging from management and all have different ideas of what everyone should and should not do. In addition they have promoted many previous top individual producers who were successful 10-15 years ago, or coming from these companies like Technisource where from their management position all they do is offer fundamental advice such as “Are we calling that candidate to prep them” or “What is the buyer want to really see on a resume” where no one cares at all about internal employees or consultants’ lives but more so “how many commits do we have for the week” Terrible Infrastructure for Onboarding-despite behind the world’s largest HR employer, Randstad’s HR and onboarding staff are understaffed which in turn leaves no room for quality customer service for new and current consultants. They provide no communication throughout the process to recruiters, account managers or the consultant only if you involve a high level manager. This COMPANY DOES NOT CARE ABOUT THEIR INTERNAL EMPLOYEES OR THEIR CONSULTANTS Constant turbulence, mixed messages and change of strategy. -Micromanagement to the max. Every job for a Recruiter is assigned and monitored via a "dashboard" tracking system. -Recruiters can no longer source candidates for all of their clients at a local level because the recruiting structure is segmented into a "retail" or a "national strategic organization" market, so you are sourcing local candidates but cut out from half of the local business. Less opportunity. The new recruitment model does not encourage recruiters to form relationships with their Account Managers. Each recruiting team has an Area Recruiting Manager that dictates which jobs Recruiters work and Account Managers have been specifically asked not to "sell" their jobs to their recruitment teams anymore. Account managers are simply responsible for farming reqs coming out of VMS systems. Heavy cut-throat politics come into play, and that is a direct consequence of particular individuals in upper-management. -Management will hold Recruiters super accountable on their dashboard micromanagement system but provide minimal recruiting tools. They unsubscribed to Careerbuilder and Dice and it's very rare to get a LinkedIn recruiter account. Decision makers often have no real recruiting experience, plays too many politics and chose to manipulate and analyze spread sheets from an intern instead of listening to his high level producers. What kind of IT staffing company eliminates Dice? -Very low base salary for those who started more than 2 years ago. Management will low ball their internal employees who are loyal and consistently producing but bring in brand new Recruiters at higher salaries. -The compensation structure for Recruiting Managers and above is still very based on individual performance and they are compensated very little for team production. They will trap you into a "Lead" role and negotiate hard with you once you have invested your time before giving the Manager title. -Management will choose to promote average producers and cheerleaders who will always agree with them and will cut people out who offer alternative ideas -Internal candidate database management is led by a team of mediocre former recruiters. The database is widely disliked and considered overcomplicated. When you interview ask the people you meet with if they like their candidate database. -Management has found a way to switch existing placements you have into another "solutions" line of business that is paid out at a lower percentage. Corrupt and immoral practices and their thought process is "if you don't like it then leave." This place is a constant revolving door hence they will hire anymore, one of my co workers has a felony on his record. This place is truly garbage

    Continue reading
    Randstad US2019-07-11

    Randstad US Response

    July 16, 2019

    We truly regret hearing this. Please don't hesitate to share your specific experiences with wehearyou@randstadusa.com so they can be investigated thoroughly. Thank you. -KS

    Continue reading
  7. "Good Work life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Oracle Database Administrator in Frisco, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Randstad US for more than a year

    Pros

    Remote Work Work life balance Pre tax insurance Decent Payscale

    Cons

    No full time benefits Contract basis No paid time of or Paternity leaves No vacation or public holidays Expensive Insuu

    Randstad US2019-05-10
  8. "A good company if you work for the right team"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Applications Developer in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Randstad US full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Their benefits package is pretty good and there is good work-life balance.

    Cons

    Too much internal politics result in sub optimal solutions being developed. Top level management are not invested in real technological advances, would rather spend time with a useless agenda

    Randstad US2019-04-04

    Randstad US Response

    April 18, 2019

    We are very grateful for your insightful feedback, however we truly regret you experienced this. If you email us details at wehearyou@randstadusa.com we can thoroughly investigate what is going on. We value you and want to give you the optimal workplace experience. -KS

    Continue reading
  9. "Recruiter Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Site Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Randstad US full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Management was supportive and encouraged growth.

    Cons

    There was no work-life balance.

    Continue reading
    Randstad US2019-03-14

    Randstad US Response

    March 28, 2019

    Thank you for this valuable feedback. We appreciate you and truly strive to offer valuable work/life balance. We will share your insight with our management team, so they are aware there is room for improvement. Thank you. -KS

    Continue reading
  10. "Really awesome company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Recruiter 
    Recommends

    I have been working at Randstad US

    Pros

    Work-life balance Support from management Competitive salary Educational components

    Cons

    The health insurance, etc offered isn’t super great and is expensive.

    Randstad US2019-02-13
Found 153 reviews