Rank Group Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rank Group Reviews

Updated 2 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
35%
Recommend to a Friend
32%
Approve of CEO
Rank Group CEO John  O’ Reilly
John O’ Reilly
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Excellent work life balance (best i have had in any company)(in 16 reviews)

  • "The senior management knows everyone's names and it feels much more like a family than any other gaming company I have every worked in(in 11 reviews)

Cons
  • "Some senior management in particular Grosvenor leaders do not live the new values resulting in people leaving(in 13 reviews)

  • "Work life balance can be improved by consciously facilitating working from home(in 7 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (5)

    "Middle Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    Huge opportunity to drive change given previous relaxed culture around delivery. Friendly environment and people showing they want to deliver even though partners hold us back

    Cons

    Senior leadership team do not appear aligned or even fail to understand the need for change given the honestly crap ability to deliver anything in the past, from projects to financials. They are causing the toxic environment and need to buck up

    Advice to Management

    Believe in your people, sort out your partners and motivate people to succeed ...

    Rank Group2019-03-08
  2. "Used to be a good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Cashier 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rank Group full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friends, experiences and that's about it

    Cons

    Management, hours, work/life balance, lack of incentives and generally a terrible business to be in

    Advice to Management

    .....

    Rank Group2019-10-02
  3. "Sales and events manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales and Events Manager 

    I have been working at Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    Great team to work with

    Cons

    Working extra hours with no extra pay

    Rank Group2019-08-23

    Rank Group Response

    September 4, 2019Communications Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback, great to hear you enjoy the team you work with. When it comes to shift patterns, we do try to be flexible with our teams, and work hard to ensure we’re getting the right work/life balance for everyone. If you feel this isn’t the case, then do raise it with your manager.

    Show Less
  4. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rank Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly Environment, Flexible hours

    Cons

    Can't think of something

    Rank Group2019-07-14

    Rank Group Response

    July 16, 2019Communications Executive

    Thanks for your feedback, as a current employee it’s good to hear you’ve been unable to highlight any negative experiences… long may that continue. We try hard to ensure we’re getting the right work/life balance for everyone, so we’re glad to hear that it’s something you feel we’re doing well. Remember, you can further have your say about working for Rank with our Employee Engagement Survey which is live until 28th July and we hope you’ll get involved.

    Show Less
  5. "EXPERIENCE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager in Bristol, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rank Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    large company & opportunity to progress

    Cons

    long hours & unsociaL HOURS

    Rank Group2019-07-02

    Rank Group Response

    July 4, 2019Communications Executive

    Thanks for your feedback, as a current employee it’s great to hear what you think. We’re pleased you find career progression a positive with us; across the company, we strive to help our employees reach their full potential, it’s why we’ve a comprehensive appraisal process in place. Remember, you can further have your say about working with us when our Employee Engagement Survey launches on 8th July.

    Show Less
  6. "Would not work again"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Duty Manager in Leeds, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rank Group full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Friendly Management, Flexible Hours, Good Team

    Cons

    Don't always get paid correctly, not listened to by corporate

    Rank Group2019-07-10

    Rank Group Response

    July 12, 2019Communications Executive

    Thanks for taking the time to review working for us, we always appreciate feedback in order to hear what we’re doing well, or what’s not so great. It’s important that our teams enjoy working together and they’re engaged with our management, so it’s great to hear your positive feedback on this. We’re of course sorry to hear that you feel this isn’t the case with the Corporate side of the business, which is a shame as we like everyone to feel valued and listened to, and why we have our engagement survey and an open door policy that allows everyone to give us their opinion.

    Show Less
  7. "Work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 

    I worked at Rank Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Career progression nice working environment

    Cons

    Had no negative experience

    Rank Group2019-05-30

    Rank Group Response

    June 5, 2019Communications Executive

    Thanks for leaving us a positive review. We’re so pleased to hear you didn’t have any negative experiences with us; our Talent Acquisition team will be happy! We value our employees and pride ourselves in recognising talent to ensure we help you make the most of your career opportunities with us… your review reaffirms this, so thank you and we look forward to maybe seeing you again in the future.

    Show Less
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Fraud"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at Rank Group full-time

    Pros

    good place to work for

    Cons

    no career progression available. look elshewhere

    Rank Group2019-05-13

    Rank Group Response

    May 14, 2019Communications Executive

    Hi, I'm really sorry to hear this, would it be possible to speak to you directly and find out what your thoughts are on career progression at Rank and how this could be improved? If so, please let me know your preferred method of communication, and I will arrange this. Kind regards

    Show Less
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Put your staff first"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing Executive in Maidenhead, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rank Group full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great colleagues from various departments Good facilities

    Cons

    Unclear career progression Fear amongst managers Directors seem out of touch with what goes on behind the scenes

    Advice to Management

    Slow down with the endless restructures, cuts and redundancies. Ask less senior staff members for input on restructures at an early stage. Don’t just leave it in the hands of directors who are not involved with the day to day obstacles then turn to your less senior employees when it all falls through. Value your loyal long term employees don’t treat them as just another cost

    Rank Group2019-06-19

    Rank Group Response

    June 20, 2019Communications Executive

    Oh no, we’re sorry to see you felt you didn’t have the best experience with us - this makes us even more grateful that you took the time to leave us some feedback. As you’re aware, we’re currently going through a transformation programme in order to drive our business forward. This means we need to make changes, which unavoidably affects our employees at times... we’ve tried hard to keep this minimal, but we’re only human and we may not always get it right first time. As an integral part of our company, we want our employees to feel listened to and valued. We’re sorry if you feel this wasn’t the case for you and we’ll be sure to pass on your comments to our management team. We wish you all the best for the future, and look forward to maybe working with you again in the future.

    Show Less
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Head office"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Rank Group full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There is flexible working policy but unfortunately not everyone is given this flexibility

    Cons

    Male nominated company that doesn't care about their employees. They are going through a Transformation program which means there is no budget for personal training/development.

    Rank Group2019-04-02
Found 177 reviews