Rathbone Brothers Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Rathbone Brothers Reviews

Updated Oct 27, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.6
62%
Recommend to a Friend
77%
Approve of CEO
Rathbone Brothers CEO Philip Howell
Philip Howell
31 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "No cons - temporary assignment only(in 4 reviews)

  • "Lack of support for new starters as the pace of learning is very fast(in 2 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern 

    I have been working at Rathbone Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience and intro into investment management

    Cons

    Occasionally quite monotonous tasks but also some very interesting ones

    Advice to Management

    None

    Rathbone Brothers2019-05-05
  2. "Amazing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - N/A in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rathbone Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Amazing people you can trust, loyalty, and a working culture that retains good staff

    Cons

    Aggressive growth plans. But that has muted and slowed a bit now

    Rathbone Brothers2019-10-14
  3. "Compliance Analyst"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Compliance Analyst in London, England
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Rathbone Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice people, calm, work place

    Cons

    Slight divide between older and younger workers

    Rathbone Brothers2019-10-14
  4. "Unprofessional management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Liverpool, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rathbone Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job for social life, which was perfect for my first job straight from uni. Loads of sound people, made some good friends. Work partys were always a laugh. Great building and part of the city to work in. Relatively easy work.

    Cons

    Management ridiculously unprofessional in certain departments. Worked in 3 departments which were fine bar the last one. All going well until I was informed 2 weeks before my contract was up that it would not be getting extended (despite being told you would have 4 weeks notice). Frantically had to look for another job somewhere and ended up being close to a month without a job which was a nightmare trying to pay... rent. Pathetic excuses as to why it would not be getting extended ie: something to do with HR. No backbone to tell the truth. Once I finished working there I was informed by an ex colleague who i'm still friends with that my ex boss was going through my emails with ex colleagues who i didnt even speak to in work?! Extremely odd and weird behaviour so avoid if you actually value your privacy. Extremely boring work and if you are on a temp contract you will be brought in to do a specific job so if you want a bit of variety/challenge in day to day work, dont bother. Literally no room for progression from an admin point of view, unless you want to spend years doing the same thing for a shot at a team leader position. If you like office work then its probably a good place to work (if you're in the right team), however if you are looking for something a bit more challenging in life then look for something else.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Stop going through ex employees emails with colleagues, what is the point?

    Rathbone Brothers2019-10-28
  5. Helpful (1)

    "1 year in - mixed bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Client Service Executive in Winchester, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rathbone Brothers full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The salary is competitive and the staff benefits are very appealing. They are also good at encouraging personal development.

    Cons

    Toxic work cultures, particularly in bullying and discrimination. Total lack of diversity. Very old fashioned. Lack of support from HR. Top-heavy company. Most employee investment is given to the top earners. Very little support for junior members of staff. Job description not like actual job role. Interview and company website made job and company sound very appealing but this was a pretence of sorts. Seemed like a... good move to start with but rapidly declined. Lack of understanding around disabilities.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Invest more time and resources in your more junior members of staff. Take staff concerns around bullying and discrimination seriously.

    Rathbone Brothers2019-10-01
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Dodgy Company - Keep away"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Financial Planning Analyst in London, England
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Rathbone Brothers full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The salary is only slightly below market level

    Cons

    This company is exceptionally dodgy and doesn't employ a diverse workforce. There is an old fashioned way of working at this company and this extends to areas of the business especially the terrible out dated IT systems. This is also the kind of company that people have been working there for either donkeys years or less than a year so this creates a cliquey atmosphere where new employees are treated with distain... and contempt. If you are unfortunate enough to start working for this company don't expect any training. You should expect to be scapegoated by bitter, miserable old men who have been hanging on to a role for over 20 years but still don't understand it. This behaviour is especially prevalent within the finance and HR departments.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    You are part of the problem

    Rathbone Brothers2019-06-05
  7. "Admin assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Rathbone Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Good support structure for each wider team

    Cons

    Low pay and training should be more streamlined. Low bonuses

    Rathbone Brothers2019-03-20
  8. "Generally a good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Rathbone Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Good work/life balance for the industry. Very nice central London office and good social events. Opportunity to develop professional skills and gain qualifications is second to none - there is a really generous L&D policy for training. Autonomy in carrying out role was good. There are initiatives in place to encourage diversity but change is too slow (also a con...). Great benefits - holiday purchase scheme..., pension, healthcare after 1 year, death in service, annual medical. Some great people who are very passionate about what they do.

    Show More

    Cons

    Salaries for operational staff are not competitive. Communication from the top needs to improve. Change is too slow.

    Advice to Management

    The lack of diversity in middle to senior management posts needs to be addressed. There is a pool of very intelligent, devoted and engaged staff that need to be entrusted to drive the change that is needed.

    Rathbone Brothers2019-03-04
  9. Helpful (1)

    "2 Years at Rathbones"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Rathbone Brothers full-time

    Pros

    1) Lots of intelligent and friendly coworkers. Most teams have a good social aspect, and are very welcoming to new hires. 2) Rathbones will push you to grow you career. You get out of it what you put in. This is the single best thing about the firm if you are starting out. 3) The firm has a strong pedigree and there is pride in the business. 4) Many stay for the long haul. Little staff turnover which says a lot

    Cons

    1) IT systems need more investment. Feels like we've taken a step back a few times. 2) There has been a lot of wasted time, scrapping ideas late into the process and backtracking. Stronger leadership needed at the top. 3) Much of the 'old guard' will fight against any change, even when it is in the firm's best interest. 4) Although career opportunities and growth are good, salaries are average. Money flows to the... top.

    Show More
    Rathbone Brothers2018-11-16
  10. "Fund manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at Rathbone Brothers full-time

    Pros

    Flat corporate structure, strong culture

    Cons

    Smaller than peers, but can be a positive too

    Rathbone Brothers2018-11-12
Found 53 reviews