Realtor.com "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Realtor.com Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated 7 Jan 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.0
48%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
Realtor.com Chief Executive Officer Tracey Fellows
Tracey Fellows
17 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "(in 17 reviews)

  • "The upper management makes blunders and penalizes the employees lower int he hierarchy for their mess ups(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Helpful (2)

    "what survey?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Midtown location, good benefits, very nice co-workers,

    Cons

    There was a blind survey a couple of months ago and nothing to improve the situation has occurred since very senior management at the corporate level had a chance to review it. It was shared with us that people who responded clearly laid out that management at the company needs work and morale was at a low. After the survey, shared with us was from the top: "we owe it to you to make this better". Well, nothing has been done and morale is at rock bottom, an all time low. Nothing has happened to make it any better and there are no signs that improvements will be made with management, not a word from upper management, not a word from HR and not a word from the new CEO who pledged to hear us and execute, nothing. One would think that since the new interim CEO took over and has read the results that a shake-up of management would occur since that is where the beef is. This management continues to make unrealistic sales goals that cannot be met. One person on the sales team continues to get a pass and has access to product prior to other salespeople and the accounts they cover. This particular person has continued to make goal Q over Q over the past few years at the expense of the rest of the team. People are in sales to make money, not be defeated right out of the gate, let alone have to make up for the deficits of a particular salesperson who has made goal for years. When you try to bring the subject up you are told it is off-limits. I would advise potential sales folks who are interested to stay away. The goal is what you get, end of discussion. That one person mentioned earlier always gets a reasonable goal that can be met, quite a good gig if you can it. It is a biased position that management takes and executes on. The interim CEO should take a deeper look at this scenario let alone why it is allowed to happen. Good salespeople are hard to come by and it is expensive to hire.

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2020-01-08
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Worst Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Executive 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Realtor.com full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits in terms of medical and dental

    Cons

    The boiler room environment is awful, upper management is by far the worst I’ve ever seen. Do not work here, the culture is beyond horrible and the people are worse.

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2019-08-07

    Realtor.com Response

    August 8, 2019EVP, People

    Thank you for taking time to provide us with your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that you didn't have a great experience with realtor.com. Your experience is not in line with the culture we are trying to build. I'd like to invite you to reach out to me directly so that I can better understand the concerns you've raised.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (15)

    "Why not to join RDC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Data Analyst in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    RDC has some of the smartest minds I have had the opportunity to work with. Most people are nice and very helpful. Lot of interesting problems to solve in the business.

    Cons

    The upper management makes blunders and penalizes the employees lower int he hierarchy for their mess ups. The leaders do not think for the overall good of the company, but almost always try to project their importance in the company. Pro-actively coming up with scientific solutions for solving business issues is absolutely not encouraged. If you're not in good terms with the upper management you might lose your job.

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2019-06-10
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Digital Sales Consultant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Digital Sales Consultant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time

    Pros

    The sales training provided from a certain Director was the most valuable thing that I got from the company. Once mastered, it's a skill that can be transferable to any sales related positions in any company. Many companies would pay a large premium for this type of training. The company, in terms of products and services, is heading in a good direction since the solutions that we sell have proven tangible results to many real estate agents and brokers across the country. Free snacks, coffee, and merchanise is a plus.

    Cons

    The compensation plan changes every single month. Quotas increase while payout percentages decrease month over month. So basically, more effort is required while being rewarded less for such efforts. The compensation plan is structured in a way where you must meet a certain threshold of your quota in order to start making any livable amount of commission. If one doesn't hit that threshold, then their whole month's worth of efforts would have gone to waste. As mentioned above, since quotas increase every month, the likelihood of a sales rep making any commission gets slimmer and slimmer as each month goes by. And even if the rep miraculously hits the minimum threshold, they still have to account for previous month's clawbacks, so most of the time, reps are either breaking even for their efforts or just making an insignificant amount of commission. Many reps will give up by the middle or third week of the month if they're nowhere near the minimum threshold, thus creating an environment where negativity spreads and motivation is lacking. That brings me to my next point. Although the sales reps heavily enforce that our solutions are 12 month agreements/commitments, the customer is still able to cancel with ease. This causes the clawback in commission that I mentioned above. Although I mentioned that the products and services are heading in a good direction, the prices of said services are very expensive and will not yield good results unless the client is prepared to invest over $1000.00/month with realtor.com The work environment is very hostile since everything is micromanaged. From who to call, when to call, what to say, how many calls to make, everything is under a fine microscope and examined with scrutiny from upper management. Any deviation from the rules will result in a write up and after three write ups, the rep would be fearing for the security of his/her job. Almost anything could be an offence for a write up. These issues have been brought up multiple times and no improvements have been made in the benefit of the employee. After all that's said and done, it feels like upper management likes to lead by fear and that their goal is to squeeze as much revenue out per sales rep as possible while keeping costs to a minimum (not paying reps for the revenue that they've generated if they haven't hit the threshold).

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2018-09-18
  5. "Great to a point...."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun, Friendly, Stable (As far as job security).

    Cons

    Bottle Necked Upper Management. Bad placement of people in leadership roles.

    Realtor.com2017-10-26

    Realtor.com Response

    February 11, 2018EVP, People

    Thank you for your feedback. I would like to learn more and encourage you to email me at marcy.greenberg@move.com

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Realtor.com full-time

    Pros

    Close to home is the best thing.....

    Cons

    Upper Management is always changing

    Realtor.com2017-10-17
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Roller Coaster"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Executive in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Realtor.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Can be financially beneficial if you put in the work

    Cons

    Management, too corporate, commission cuts, good luck lasting 6+ months. Upper management also plays favorites to a select few employees. The commission structures change consistently setting up unrealistic expectations and one of the processors is dating an AE who is terrible at sales but a top producer due to being spoonfed. Management knows about corruption in this workplace and chooses to sweep it under the rug.

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2017-09-18

    Realtor.com Response

    February 11, 2018EVP, People

    Thank you for your feedback. Your claims are serious, and I would like to learn more. Please feel free to email me at marcy.greenberg@move.com.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (3)

    "Great work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Principal Software Engineer in Richmond, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Friendly casual work environment. We get a lot done and have lots of freedom in our CI pipeline and what tools we use. The company uses AWS for hosting and you have full access to spin up and configure any servers/tools you want. Salaries are very competitive for the Vancouver area, and hard work is recognized with raises.

    Cons

    Upper management has an agenda and is not open to debate. They have a vision, for better or worse. While the company has a dedicated Systems team to handle DevOps stuff like tools and servers; they are utterly useless and you will end up deploying new tools yourself. Although the company will recognize hard workers with appropriate salaries, everyone is a "Senior" developer so there isn't much title recognition.

    Realtor.com2017-05-23

    Realtor.com Response

    February 11, 2018EVP, People

    Thank you for your review. I’m happy you recognize our work environment and the opportunities we provide. These are very important to us. I would like to hear more about your concerns. Please reach out to me directly at marcy.greenberg@move.com.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Think Twice Before Working Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westlake Village, Los Angeles, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I worked at Realtor.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I had a short commute, that's about it. Had a good holiday party one year at the Reagan Library.

    Cons

    I've been working for 20+ years now and can honestly say that my time at Move was the worst professional experience of my career, by far. The office is half empty with open cubicles everywhere making for a depressing work space. In my experience, upper management had no interest in setting employees up for success and providing support when needed. My direct manager had poor people management skills and was a bad hire to begin with, an opinion shared by most people that had to work with her. Unfortunately the finance hiring manager had a different opinion so everyone else had to tolerate her. And they continue to fall behind the main operators in the space (Zillow and Trulia) and are struggling to remain relevant in the industry.

    Realtor.com2016-01-12

    Realtor.com Response

    January 19, 2016EVP, People

    Based on your comments, it sounds as though you may have worked at our company more than a year ago and a lot has changed within the last year. Within the last year, realtor.com, our flagship website, has become the fastest growing online real estate destination, taking market share from our competitors. We have a new parent company (News Corp) and a new leadership team that is committed to creating a high performance culture. As EVP of People and the person who is ultimately responsible for ensuring our employees have the tools they need to succeed, your feedback is extremely valuable. Specifically at our Westlake location, a redesign of our office is underway – we are reconfiguring the office to take better advantage of the space and creating a more collaborative and engaging work space. It is a very exciting time at Move!

    Continue reading
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Terrible work environment!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - National Account Manager in Scottsdale, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Ruthless execution. I thought it was going to be a great experience working at Move. Not one positive thing I can say.

    Cons

    Very poor upper management . I was an IT manager and every since I got a new boss, who brought in another best friend of his as my middle boss, life in IT went downhill. I found another job and moved on. No clear vision of where the company is going No follow through from management on promotions No communications from management/executives Not great pay

    Realtor.com2015-12-19

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 15 reviews