Realtor.com "work life balance" Reviews | Glassdoor.co.uk

Realtor.com Employee Reviews about "work life balance"

Updated 22 Nov 2019

To filter reviews, or .
3.0
49%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
Realtor.com Chief Executive Officer David Doctorow
David Doctorow
1 Rating
Pros
Cons
  • " realtor.com (in 18 reviews)

  • "The upper management makes blunders and penalizes the employees lower int he hierarchy for their mess ups(in 15 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "work life balance"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Staff Software Engineer in Vancouver, BC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    work-life balance team members are open-minded

    Cons

    no enough vacations , too many meetings

    Realtor.com2019-11-23
  2. Helpful (3)

    "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analytics 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    work life balance is good

    Cons

    Culture is that there is no culture

    Realtor.com2019-09-16

    Realtor.com Response

    September 19, 2019EVP, People

    Thank you for sharing your thoughts. I'd be very interested in spending some time with you to better understand your concerns around culture. If you are open to it, I invite you to reach out to me directly to discuss.

    Continue reading
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work life balance, friendly environment

    Cons

    Sometimes the company lacks direction and doesn't always has set processes to follow

    Realtor.com2019-07-25
  4. Helpful (6)

    "In one word - NO"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Sunnyvale, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent work-life balance and comp. Interesting space with business opportunities.

    Cons

    Only politics matters, constant territory battles across functions, many leadership changes. Heavily me vs we environment. Worst culture I’ve seen when it comes to collaboration, no real strategy, dated technology and super weak leadership. There are SO many better opportunities in the bay, and I wouldn’t recommend getting into this mess.

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2019-07-12
  5. Helpful (13)

    "Weakness in the middle level management/ play lots of politics to servive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Realtor.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance, Nice and knowledgeable software engineers but they are leaving,

    Cons

    Considering the size of the company, there are Lots of politics in middle level management, there is no mechanism to review them.

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2019-06-02

    Realtor.com Response

    June 3, 2019EVP, People

    Thank you for taking some time to provide us with your feedback. We definitely value hearing from current and former employees. I'd welcome you to reach out to me directly if you'd be open to discuss further your comments about politics at the mid level management level.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (4)

    "Good place to start your career and move on. Talented work force. Weak and clueless leadership."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time

    Pros

    Small Good quality work Talented workforce Good work life balance

    Cons

    Leadership weak and poor at execution. Obsessed with Zillow. Poor maternity/paternity leave policies. No stock plan and hardly any cash bonus.

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2019-05-27

    Realtor.com Response

    May 31, 2019EVP, People

    Thanks for your review. As head of people, your comments concern me. Leadership’s goal to go from a good place to a great place to work is one of the biggest reasons I was attracted to realtor.com. Raising the bar when it comes to our culture, benefits and workplace environment is something we are committed to. I would love to hear more from you. Please feel free to reach out to me via email or stop by my office.

    Continue reading
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Senior Software Engineer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Software Engineer in Richmond, BC
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Realtor.com full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Work life balance Good pay as per Vancouver standard.

    Cons

    Instability Frequent layoffs No job insecurity Want to copy structure of companies like Amazon/Microsoft blindly. Dont fall in the trap of good salary offered by this company, you dont know how long you will get it :)

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2019-05-27

    Realtor.com Response

    May 31, 2019EVP, People

    Thank you for your review. I’m sorry to hear about your experience at realtor.com. Vancouver is one of our key technology hubs. We have a strong local presence with nearly 300 employees, and many team members in our technology team who have been with the company for six years.

    Continue reading
  8. Helpful (6)

    "Great work life balance, but lacking in many other areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Marketing Manager in Santa Clara, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The work life balance here is great. You can have a life, or spend time with family, which is a huge plus and I don't want that to change at all. The people are great and you can easily consider them friends.

    Cons

    The company is known for underpaying its employees compared to market rate, even when shown data from Glassdoor/indeed/salary etc. The CEO has also mentioned that we're a tech company, but when you compare our benefits to other tech companies in the bay area, let alone our chief competitor Zillow they don't even come close. To name a few things, you can't work from home (company policy), no paternity leave, no provided lunches, and no adoption/foster assistance. The vacation time is 3 weeks to start, but good luck getting any more until you are there for 10 years. Basically, the company says it's focused on people but doesn't put its money where its mouth is, so we are not able to retain top talent.

    Continue reading
    Realtor.com2019-04-22

    Realtor.com Response

    May 31, 2019EVP, People

    Thank you so much for providing us with your feedback. I'm sorry to hear that your perception is that the company doesn't invest in its people. The reality is that we invest quite significantly in our employees through a compensation and benefit plans. With that said, we continually look at where we sit from a competitive perspective and we do make adjustments every year.

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Good place to learn and flat management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good Work Life Balance and have tremendous opportunity to learn new everyday

    Cons

    Benefits could be better since some were very basic for a silicon valley company

    Realtor.com2019-02-22

    Realtor.com Response

    April 1, 2019EVP, People

    Thank you for your feedback. I am glad to hear that you feel that you have had an opportunity to learn something new every day - in my opinion, that is success. I'd love to better understand the concerns that you have that would keep you from recommending the company to others. I'm very open to talking with you further if you're open to it. Thank you!

    Continue reading
  10. "Been here for 7 years and have no plans to leave"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Westlake Village, Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Realtor.com full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great work life balance, lots of opportunity for upward movement, amazing manager, great marketing team culture, always something fun going on in the office - Fantasy Football, V-day cupcakes

    Cons

    I have a long commute.

    Realtor.com2019-02-07

    Realtor.com Response

    February 11, 2019EVP, People

    Thank you so much for sharing your thoughts! I'm so happy to hear that your seven years at realtor.com have been great! Please keep the feedback coming!

    Continue reading
Found 34 reviews