Red Bee Media Employee Reviews about "red bee"

Updated May 15, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 of over 181 reviews

2.9
30%
Recommend to a Friend
35%
Approve of CEO
Red Bee Media CEO Steve Nylund  (no image)
Steve Nylund
42 Ratings
Pros
  • "Some of the best people I have ever worked with are at Red Bee Media(in 11 reviews)

  • "There is a fair work life balance(in 9 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Red Bee has a habit of hiring and promoting the wrong people to do the wrong job(in 10 reviews)

  • "Looks like senior management made some bad strategic decisions over the years(in 9 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Reviews about "red bee"

    Return to all Reviews
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Good experience overall

      Jan 7, 2021 - Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Red Bee is one of the most adult companies I’ve worked for, they genuinely foster a grown up workplace where bad behaviours are not tolerated. You feel proud to go to work here. There is a fair work life balance. Pay and benefits are good.

      Cons

      The issues Red Bee face are not, in my opinion, caused by the people. I think they are a very big ship trying to manoeuvre dynamically in an increasingly changing industry. This is a very difficult challenge. Because Red Bee have a lineage of high quality work and a dedication to doing things by the book, this hinders their ability to react quickly. They always have to do a good job, which ironically means that they miss smaller opportunities or become too attentive to detail. This leaves the company vulnerable to others who can swoop in and steal the opportunities from under them. Others, often superficially appear to do an equally good job with less attention to detail.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 1.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Proceed with Caution

      May 15, 2021 - Subtitling Production Manager in Glasgow, Scotland
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The initial novelty of working on TV programmes is enjoyable.

      Cons

      I was a manager in this office years ago and left when I couldn’t tolerate any more. I’ve spent much time in the aftermath reflecting on this departure and have come to, for me at least, a definitive conclusion that made sense of my experience there. If you’re thinking of joining, then please consider my thoughts before applying. The fundamental problem is mistaken identity. Since the early 2000s when I joined, subtitling has become a factory. A word-production plant. But this is never acknowledged and the self-denial gives rise to flawed recruitment. Red Bee has a habit of hiring and promoting the wrong people to do the wrong job – myself included. Subtitling is relentless and monotonous. It’s all about productivity and accuracy, with everything accounted for. This isn’t a criticism of the role: it’s a fair description of its nature. It suits a specific type of person; the vast majority of people I worked with did not match the ideal model, because management held a different one in their imagination. The candidates who sailed through interviews were intelligent, expressive, highly educated and creative. This leads to an inevitable workforce disaster: these individuals – and they are individuals – begin to view themselves as automatic word-churning machines. One of a huge number on the factory line (hello, ‘sick’ days). It’s a relentless, monotonous job that’s been aggressively corporatised through the years. There is no room for freedom, let alone creativity. Of course, applicants should be bright and, yes, it’s hard to seek lovers of language who aren’t creative. But think about the job function: subtitlers support all that exciting stuff that goes on in TV land. Big shows, fast-shifting schedules, round-the-clock action, crazy deadlines. Except subtitlers aren’t the creatives in a BBC studio – they are providing an auxiliary service. They experience the long unsocial hours associated with television without any of the prime-time glamour. The ideal candidate therefore needs to enjoy repetitive work spread over long, variable hours, while coolly handling any mini emergencies. A cross between a data entry clerk and a security guard. Don’t picture it to be an office: ‘on the floor’ would be a better term. If this sounds like your idea of a great job – something ceaselessly high volume and meticulous – then go for it because the department needs you. But if you’re in any way dynamic, then you would find the role something of a professional stranglehold. Forget it if you have a big personality. Doubly forget it if you have a big social life! My error was to assume that I would be able to express myself when I got into management. Not so. Essentially, my job was to ensure that all work got covered. But a more accurate description would be: my relentless and monotonous job was to ensure that all relentless and monotonous work got covered by staff who were fed up with the relentless and monotonous nature of their jobs. The cognitive dissonance was unbearable. I apologise if this comes across caustic; as I said before, I was simply not suitable for the world of subtitling. It was my own mistake to believe otherwise (I now work in the creative industries). Reading contemporary reviews, it seems the issues have persisted. I am not surprised. For the unhappiness to fully dissipate, it'll take (a) many, many more waves of the right recruits (b) a comprehensive replacement of management as they wither away (c) new-generation management to keep hiring and promoting staff in their image. At the end of the day, there is nothing wrong with the job, much like there is nothing wrong with being a plumber, a seamstress, or a snooker referee. It suits a certain type of character, and that needs to be properly underlined in the job description. Stop hiring candidates with flair and earmarking them for progression, since cracking senior management (the point at which it becomes non-relentless) is ultra-rare. And accept that the job is a slog, instead of taking offence when this is fed back. When you’re job hunting and the Red Bee Media Subtitler advert pops up, it’s all too tempting to buy into the promise. The pay’s good, the novelty's twinkling, it’s sort of like working in TV. I mean, it’s even got ‘Media’ in the title. That’s pretty cool, right? Proceed with caution. There’s a good reason why this office suffers a bitter legacy. It’s a niche job for niche workers. To source them, I have thought of an apt question they should ask at interview – it may come across as sarcastic but I do feel it’s an insightful query, given my significant history with the organisation. Have you had any call centre experience before… and did you enjoy it?

      Continue reading
      9 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 8 years

      Great people but lack of senior leadership

      Jan 27, 2021 - Head Of Operations in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Some of the best people I have ever worked with are at Red Bee Media.

      Cons

      A culture of repeating the same behaviours but expecting different outcomes in respect of projects.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful
    4. 3.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great people but the company has no coherent culture or strategy, and a terrible structure

      Jan 20, 2020 - Senior Member of Technical Staff in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Red Bee is an exciting business full of wonderfully talented people in offices all over the world. You get to work on major TV channels and with some cutting edge technologies.

      Cons

      Red Bee operates as a rag-tag bunch of former acquisitions and business units that have little in common, other than being related to TV. There's no coherent strategy or culture about the place as a whole because many of the different departments operate with different priorities and budgets. The centralised technology function is as a result - through no fault of the people that try to deliver it - starved of funds and resources, but yet is required to be at the centre of everything. So everyone else has to spend hours, days and weeks waiting for them to do something, making every project run late and every other department frustrated. The user IT function is atrocious - like, shockingly bad - with about 2 people available to support a staff of a thousand, a different password for every system that came from a different acquisition or historical phase, and prehistoric PCs on every desk.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    5. 2.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      It's OK if you're happy in your job.

      Aug 7, 2019 - Media Management Operator in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The team I work with are fab. I know my job inside out and it's nice to be part time so I have a good work life balance for family time.

      Cons

      Lack of pay rises. Company's aim is to 'break even' - that's not exactly a winning attitude. Feels like Ericsson just want to make Red Bee as cheap as possible in order to entice a buyer. Much like happened when we were owned by Mcquarie. Appraisals for techincal staff like me seem so pointless when there is no incentive, no bonuses and no chance of a pay rise. Communication emails from Ericsson are way too detailed about areas that have nothing to do with us. Yet we here nothing about the local contract wins and losses that directly affect our team or colleagues that we communicate with. This affects morale. Time and time again over the last 15 years of service I have witnessed the same stories about how staff are important and yet ultimately, as with any business, it's rubbish - money talks and sadly for Red Bee, they aren't making any. Or at least that's what we are told when they don't want to give a pay rise.

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Red Bee Media Response

      HR Generalist

      Many thanks for your review. I am sorry to hear you feel this way. We are part of Ericsson and, therefore, we receive all Company related updates and communication. We also send Red Bee Media only related newsletters and hold local all employee update meetings (including news on wins and losses). We have a great new platform as well called Red Bee Media TV where we share news and achievements. I am disappointed to read that you don’t see the value in appraisals, this is something that should be happening regularly – two-way feedback on performance, people’s impact and regularly discussing career plans, ambitions and development requirements. We see this as critical to ensure our employees and leaders know what is important and what should be focused on and to share how things are going. Steve Nylund, CEO

    6. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      A place to work to be involved

      May 3, 2019 - IT Engineer in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Have been at Red Bee for nearly 1 year now full time. What I have enjoyed is being empowered and encouraged to own issues and have a voice to able to suggest change and make a difference. In other companies this is not always possible or welcomed. Being involved in a team where you can contribute to the progression for improvement and are encouraged to do so is important to me personally. This is a good place to work for people with an outgoing personality and are up for a challenge to make a difference. There are lots of knowledgeable people who are willing to impart knowledge and encourage you to learn more skills. Flexibility with working from home 1 day a week is good and always being able to dress down and wear jeans is great. The working environment is generally relaxed.

      Cons

      It did take time to get used to hot desking, not my preferred arrangement, but like anything you have to give it time and you get used to it. The office area can be a little too subdued at times and quite focused and concentrated on work, though there are times of having a laugh. There is a drive to improve the social side of things within the department which is encouraging.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Red Bee Media Response

      HR Generalist

      Thank you for your review and feedback. I am pleased to read your comments about empowerment and ownership as we have put a lot of effort in our culture over that past few years. I understand that hotdesking is not to everyone’s liking. I’m happy to hear that the office area is getting more social, we have been encouraging and looking into different initiatives to increase the social side. Good to hear it’s improving! Steve Nylund, CEO

    7. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Enjoyable

      Dec 15, 2017 - Subtitler in London, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I don't find heavily corporate places much fun to work, and the bigger the company the worse this can be. I never got that vibe at Red Bee.

      Cons

      None that I can remember. if you're comfortable in big companies, you'll be all right there.

      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Red Bee Media Response

      People Business Partner

      Hello and thank you for your review. Many apologies for the lateness in replying. If you would like to share any further comments or feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us on HR@redbeemedia.com Claire Allen, Head of People

    8. 1.0
      Current Employee

      Poor company under big umbrella

      Aug 23, 2016 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Most of the people as nice and it is a good place to get your foot in the door if you have had little to no previous media tech experience.

      Cons

      No internal training No internal promotion opportunities - often employ from outside, the company and also hire in a lot of freelancers to cover what should be contract/ fixed term positions. Red bee management is poor, especially in what little there is in the way of editing department - often breaking employment law. Wages are low Equipment is mostly outdated

      Continue reading
      2 people found this review helpful

      Red Bee Media Response

      HR Generalist

      Hello and thank you for your review. Many apologies for the lateness in replying. If you would like to share any further comments or feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us on HR@redbeemedia.com Claire Allen, Head of People

    9. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Now part of Ericsson, but there are still a lot of growing pains and negativity

      Aug 17, 2015 - Project Manager in Ealing, England
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Lots of very nice people, some who are very talented and hardworking. I've had some significant projects to work on, and learnt a lot. The company likes people who take initiative and get stuck in. Red Bee Media has been bought by Ericsson which should open up a larger world of opportunities. A lot of investment in new platforms and software is underway. New customers are coming in quickly, and this will hopefully lead to more new and talented people.

      Cons

      There is a general cloud of negativity in the department. Initially, this was due to who owned the us (Macquarie Group - an investment company). They loaded us with debt and cut investment to the bone. Being bought by Ericsson has changed the investment situation, and I can imagine things will eventually change, but the financial compensation is worse for certain people (i.e. Ericsson do not offer bonuses). This removes some of the incentive to work hard and go the extra mile. It's too soon to comment if being part of Ericsson offers good job opportunities, but they were limited when it was just Red Bee Media.

      Continue reading
      1 person found this review helpful

      Red Bee Media Response

      HR Generalist

      Hello and thank you for your review. Many apologies for the lateness in replying. If you would like to share any further comments or feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us on HR@redbeemedia.com Claire Allen, Head of People

    10. 1.0
      Former Employee

      If you're looking for new opportunities, look elsewhere!!!!!

      Jan 16, 2015 -  
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      in general the people there are friendly which is only positive thing about this place

      Cons

      For a company its size and as established as they are, they are shockingly lacking processes in a vast amount of areas even when basic. Any processes they do have are ancient and just an annoyance. You may be wondering what I mean but there's way too much to mention. Basically just think about anything that may require a process, Red Bee will more than likely be lacking as advice for it and if they do then it will probably be months before anything is actioned

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful

      Red Bee Media Response

      HR Generalist

      Hello and thank you for your review. Many apologies for the lateness in replying. If you would like to share any further comments or feedback, please do not hesitate to contact us on HR@redbeemedia.com Claire Allen, Head of People

    Viewing 1 - 10 of 16 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Red Bee Media Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Red Bee Media? Share Your Experiences

    Red Bee Media logo
    or