Reddit Reviews in San Francisco, CA | Glassdoor.co.uk

Reddit San Francisco Reviews

Updated 2 Feb 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
69%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
Reddit Founder/CEO Steve Huffman
Steve Huffman
30 Ratings
  1. "Very promising place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Staff Software Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reddit for less than a year

    Pros

    - General humanistic and idealistic attitude across the org - Great product which actually helps people - Great benefits

    Cons

    - Some bureaucracy is apparently still left from the old times; probably also related to the company size - The food in the SF office is too good. Getting fat -( - A lot of legacy code

    Continue reading
    Reddit2020-02-03
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Great product, proud to work on it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - User Experience Design Manager in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Reddit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great product, involved and caring CEO, fantastic benefits (ask and they will probably help you with whatever).

    Cons

    Lots of reorgs, growing pains overall that will probably work themselves out in time.

    Reddit2020-01-02
  3. Helpful (16)

    "Negative reviews are right. Leadership is bad."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No Opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Reddit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent perks. Some nice people. Flexible WFH.

    Cons

    Other reviews have it right: leadership here is clique-y, incompetent and frustratingly bad. The way to get ahead seems to be by being friends with someone already in charge. Management seems to prefer self-important people who puff themselves up with pseudo-intellectual jargon. So, you get people in management roles who don’t know how to manage. Like the other reviews said, when a manager doesn’t know how to manage, that’s your fault. Try going to HR or other leaders, they tell you to work it out for yourself and probably get branded a troublemaker just for bringing it up. Most people seem to share the same complaints but don’t want to risk speaking up. It just sucks a lot. Smart, talented people are leaving because this place doesn’t value them. Really sad.

    Continue reading
    Reddit2019-09-14
  4. Helpful (10)

    "There's Always Money In The Banana Stand: Opportunity At Reddit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reddit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Reddit is solving hard problems peer companies like Facebook, Twitter, and YouTube are solving with only a fraction of the resources. The fact it is not only surviving but thriving is a testament to its unique model of community. There continues to be a buzz in the building on what Reddit can achieve but the rapid growth has put a strain on what old and new employees alike believe to be the path of connecting the world with authenticity at its center. I feel that strain can be a positive one if you're lucky enough to be on the right team but totally destructive if you have the misfortune of being on the wrong one. Chaos and opportunity are two sides of the same coin. If you're looking for certainty this might not be the best place for you but if you're open to some risk I honestly have a hard time imagining a company with a higher ceiling when it comes to social impact and business in Silicon Valley and beyond. 5 Pros to Consider: 1)Many smart and nice people from usual suspects (companies like Google, Facebook, and Twitter, and universities such as Stanford, Harvard, and Berkeley) and brilliant people who forged their own path without the social signals those institutions engender. 2) Massive scale and growing (330 million MAU). 3) Open field for many lines of business. 4) Free breakfast and lunch. 5) Amazing benefit package [best in my career] that covers health, wellness, and professional growth.

    Cons

    Sometimes it can feel a bit much. Like everyone has too much of a voice but getting rid of that breaks the culture of community, ownership, and shared purpose. Be prepared to speak up here or you may be stuck in no man/woman's land.

    Continue reading
    Reddit2019-07-29
  5. Helpful (23)

    "Great place for people with low expectations"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - People Operations in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend

    I have been working at Reddit full-time

    Pros

    - Used to really enjoy the development program, but the lead left and it hasn't been the same. - Used to really enjoy working with some amazing people on my team but they all left. - Used to really enjoy the autonomy I had on projects and now everything I do is monitored and often not approved of. - Used to really enjoy working in our office, but the months of construction and mandatory WFH has taken it's toll.

    Cons

    - It's clear that the People team is barely managed by individuals who are consistently absent and who take credit for other people's work. - It's clear that the CEO is either blind or ignoring the systemic issues that arise from the leaders of that org. - It's clear that I'm no longer happy here and it is time for me to go, but I fear retribution for the Head of HR for being honest. So I'm saying it here.

    Continue reading
    Reddit2019-08-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Lots to build"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Machine Learning Engineer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reddit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    - there's an insane amount of greenfield ML work to be done here - people seem to be genuinely excited about the future of reddit - ability to have a ton of impact as an individual contributor - perks and stuff are good - lots of potential for equity to be meaningful

    Cons

    - there's definitely some growing pains ie old timers leaving and new people joining - i've heard there's been some reorgs but it seems to be pretty clear now

    Continue reading
    Reddit2019-06-19
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Very happy"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reddit full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great employee energy and collaboration

    Cons

    Business growth difficult to keep up with

    Continue reading
    Reddit2019-06-17
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great people, Good Products, okay leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior User Experience Designer in San Francisco, CA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Reddit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    work life balance, people, projects

    Cons

    office is loud, execs dont agree leaving IC's twiddling their thumbs

    Reddit2019-06-04
  9. Helpful (13)

    "not good i miss the old reddit"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Engineering in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reddit full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    cool tech and ideas with good potential to be a beacon of hope

    Cons

    has become very toxic and single minded very ads focused and going IPO

    Reddit2019-03-26
  10. Helpful (36)

    "TOXIC Beware"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in San Francisco, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Reddit full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Some good benefits things like pet care.

    Cons

    There is no accountability with the exec team or leadership team. It seems every time it's time to do reviews it's also time for a re-org making it nearly impossible for anyone to give an honest assessment of their manager. Re-orgs are also a way for the exec team to push people out of the company who challenge them with thought provoking ideas. Worst thing of my 2 years at Reddit was watching how the women engineers & product managers were treated. The People team might talk at conferences about how much they support women, parents, diversity....but behind the door at Reddit it's a whole different reality. Moms & dads are 're-orged' right out of the company after they return from Pat / Mat leave. Diversity? Just take a look at the Board of Directors and then talk about Diversity and the power of being a white man who is willing to not make any suggestions that don't align with the CEO. This company is EXACTLY what the "tech bro" stereotype is all about.

    Continue reading
    Reddit2019-03-30

    Reddit Response

    April 15, 2019VP of People & Culture

    Hi, I'm Katelin, the VP of People & Culture. This is not representative of Reddit's culture in any of our offices, the example set by our execs, or our values as a company. While we have reorganized a few teams recently (and I am sorry that you clearly had a negative experience with that), this review is simply not a fair or honest assessment of the company that would line up with the experience of the overwhelming majority of other employees over the past few years. First, we absolutely support our Snoos with kids and have consistently *extended* our parental leave year after year (and encouraged people to take more of it), our family expansion benefits (like fertility treatments and adoption stipends), and other work across the org to make sure every parent who works at Reddit has the support they need above and beyond what other companies offer. It's a shame to see all of those benefits reduced to one throwaway pro of "pet care." In terms of diversity & inclusion (particularly for women on our product and engineering teams), we've worked to ensure that our compensation is fair, that we're tracking data on how equitably employees are compensated and promoted after they join across teams, that we have women leaders especially on the product and eng side of our org, and that every person has a voice at the company—through employee resource groups (for Snoos who are women, LGBTQIA+, people of color, and/or belonging to other underrepresented groups) and making sure our CEO and other executives (40% of whom are women) are easily accessible and open to regular feedback, good and bad. The idea that we're afraid of "thought-provoking ideas" doesn't line up with our actual culture either—like our regular Snoo's Week tradition, where we explicitly invite employees to take a week to focus on a new project that's completely different from their day-to-day work. (Many of these projects, created entirely from individual employees' ideas, have been built into fully fledged features that are now a part of the official site/app.) Seeking out thought-provoking ideas is part of our value, Evolve, and it'd be pretty ironic if a platform built on supporting thoughtful discussions didn't welcome them in our own office. I don't expect to change your mind, but I hope that prospective applicants know that at Reddit, we are all about having transparency, encouraging honest assessments at every level of the company, and remembering the human (whether that's parents, women engineers, people on teams that have been re-organized, et al). —Katelin Holloway, VP of People & Culture

    Continue reading

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 38 reviews